19 Reviews

Great recipe. Similar to another that I have made which also has a can of water chestnuts in it. Adds a little extra crunch. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom February 10, 2009

Excellent - worthy of 5 stars - but I doubled and used 2 cans green beans and 2 cans of corn. Looked way too soupy until I did. Flavor was superb! Had it at a church dinner and loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcbridekaren040 December 01, 2015

OMG MAKE THIS!! Everyone raved over this dish! One thing needs to be altered though: Saute the onion before you mix it in....the diced raw onion was too crunchy (and too strong) because the bake time is only 35 minutes. The sliced almonds make this a really pretty dish (much prettier than the picture attached to this recipe). I used Club crackers instead of Ritz. It was DELICIOUS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernCookinChef November 28, 2014

Wonderful. the only green bean casserole I ever make now. only change...my family MUST have their fried onion rings instead of Ritz. thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nykat2004 November 19, 2009

Originally 5 stars; demoted to 4 because the family didn't love it. However, I didn't technically make it as directed... It's hard to get kosher cream soups, so I made my own "condensed" cream of celery soup with celery, onions, mushrooms, flour and milk... tasted exactly like the real thing. Then mixed in the beans, corn, sour cream, etc. Then I didn't have the right kind of crackers, so I used corn-flake crumbs, with ground pecans in place of the almonds. But you know what? Even with all the changes (or maybe because of the "homemade" touch), it was nice. I originally said fabulous, but the family didn't love it all that much. Excellent non-meat main dish, I served it with barley pilaf on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer October 12, 2008

I add a lb or so of diced cooked chicken breast, and my kids eat it all up! I use low fat soup, and sour cream, and spray the cracker crumbs with a little cooking spray. It's pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanmarieok September 26, 2008

This is the best in it's class!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Old Crow February 22, 2007

This was good. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC February 11, 2007

I made a few changes to the recipe and it didn't last at the table. We are not a big celery family, so I changed out cream of celery for low-fat cream of mushroom soup. I eliminated the chopped celery and onions too (kids can't stand them!). Leaving everything else the same, this was a big hit. A nice refreshing change from the standard green bean casserole. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherilh-kc December 02, 2006

This was good, but not great. I tasted a little later on Thanksgiving night and thought it tasted better. I'm thinking this might improve with reheating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUSANNASUS November 24, 2006
Something Different Green Bean and Corn Casserole