Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Something Different Green Bean and Corn Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Something Different Green Bean and Corn Casserole

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2009

      Great recipe. Similar to another that I have made which also has a can of water chestnuts in it. Adds a little extra crunch. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Wonderful. the only green bean casserole I ever make now. only change...my family MUST have their fried onion rings instead of Ritz. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Originally 5 stars; demoted to 4 because the family didn't love it. However, I didn't technically make it as directed... It's hard to get kosher cream soups, so I made my own "condensed" cream of celery soup with celery, onions, mushrooms, flour and milk... tasted exactly like the real thing. Then mixed in the beans, corn, sour cream, etc. Then I didn't have the right kind of crackers, so I used corn-flake crumbs, with ground pecans in place of the almonds. But you know what? Even with all the changes (or maybe because of the "homemade" touch), it was nice. I originally said fabulous, but the family didn't love it all that much. Excellent non-meat main dish, I served it with barley pilaf on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I add a lb or so of diced cooked chicken breast, and my kids eat it all up! I use low fat soup, and sour cream, and spray the cracker crumbs with a little cooking spray. It's pretty tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This is the best in it's class!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      This was good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      I made a few changes to the recipe and it didn't last at the table. We are not a big celery family, so I changed out cream of celery for low-fat cream of mushroom soup. I eliminated the chopped celery and onions too (kids can't stand them!). Leaving everything else the same, this was a big hit. A nice refreshing change from the standard green bean casserole. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This was good, but not great. I tasted a little later on Thanksgiving night and thought it tasted better. I'm thinking this might improve with reheating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      This was good, but the sour cream made it very rich. Next time I'll try using reduced fat sour cream. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      Very yummy for Thanksgiving -- my mom already asked me to bring it for Christmas! I made it with lowfat soup, lowfat sour cream, and left out the butter. I spritzed the top with fake butter spray instead. I think next time I will leave the crackers off totally.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

    • on October 03, 2005

      Enjoyable...the crunch from celery and almonds allows you to savor the flavors with each chew. It's so simple to make, don't let the ingredients scare you off! I recommend the reduced fat soup and sour cream...I used regular and it was very rich! This is a great recipe for holidays, buffets, covered dish dinners and so on. Thanks Heather Feather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      I was looking for a different green bean casserole to take to a church dinner. I followed the directions except that I put it in a crockpot on high for about 2 hours and then on low for another 2. I also waited to put the topping on until just before serving. It turned out great and everyone liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      Whoops- also I would not add extra salt- the soup and canned veggies have plenty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      Would you believe I forgot the sour cream and it still turned out wonderfully? My co-workers tried it and I sent them both to the recipe. One of them said "It's a bit like stuffing, only more fresh" which sounds about right. Thanks again Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      We had a party to go to this evening and I took this for a side dish. I didn't use the almonds because kids were going to be at the party, but I can't wait to try it again with the almond slices! There wasn't a bite left in the dish, or else I would have taken a picture of the inside too :) Thanks Heather! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      I liked this much more than the usual green bean casseroles. A really nice combination of textures, with the celery and almonds. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Something Different Green Bean and Corn Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.3
     
    Calories from Fat 214
    60%
    Total Fat 23.8 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 43.4 mg
    14%
    Sodium 541.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-fat cream of celery soup

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites