Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sombrero Pasta Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sombrero Pasta Salad

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      I love pasta salad. This is a delicious one. I liked the taco seasoned meat and the catalina dressing flavors. The veggies gave a little crunch. Thanks for an quick, easy, and tasty meal. Husband and I took leftovers for our lunch the next day. Tasted even, better. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2003

      This tasty pasta salad was different than any other I've tried. The idea of combining taco seasoning and Catalina dressing was a little strange, but it was actually very good! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was to use only one can of black olives. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Pasta Salad is always a favorite meal in this house. This one sure was delicious. Spicy meat, pasta and veggies all mixed up and the best part was the dressing. YUMMY!! The only alteration I made was to use just 1/2 cup of water for the meat. Thanks Nurse Di.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      I made this for tailgating. Everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again. Only thing I did different was use Western Dressing instead of the Catalina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This was just ok for us, not sure why we didn't love it, it has a lot of our favorite ingredients in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This is great cold or hot!! I added garlic and green chilies to the recipe and left out the black olives. Also reduced the amount of Catalina dressing. We'll make it again for ourselves and guests. Thank Di! Since my original review, I've made this numerous times. Another variation is to simply add a can of "ranch style" beans while you're simmmering. If you do, reduce the water to 1/2 cup. We love this recipe and so do our friends!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I thought this was just okay and everyone else in my family did not like it at all. Some had to heat it up in order to eat it. I'm not a big fan on eating cold meat (beef) so I struggled some with that aspect. As far as the Catalina dressing and taco meat go; this is how I eat taco salad and it is a great combo! Unfortunately, this won't be making the rounds at our table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Made this for a potluck and it was raved about by all - it was the first to disappear!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Great salad. Next time I will spice it up with more chili powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This dish is easy an will suit most palates. Reminds me of chop souey a little bit. I didn't even use half the bottle of dressing because it seemed to be getting too wet. I also cooked the onion with the burger so that we wouldn't be eating raw onions. Boyfriend lies anything with burger. Tastes good warm too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This is a great potluck dish! I ommitted the olives due to personal preference. My DH (who says he doesn't like Catalina so I didn't tell him that ingredient) also loved it. Thanks for a great recipe, ratherbeswimmin'

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I made this salad for a meeting and it disappeared in a flash! Everyone just loved it. I substituted Yves Veggie Ground Round for the ground beef and no one noticed. This one will be made again and again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      Terrific Salad Nurse Di. This is a winner in our house. I made it exactly as printed, even after reading all 16 reviews. I wouldn't change a thing! The flavors meld together so well. I found that letting it warm up a little after refrigeration also helped, instead of eating it stone cold. Thanks for sharing. This one will be repeated here. Tweeky

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      Very tasty and different from the usual pasta salads I have tried. This salad is TOPS whether it is served Warm or Cold. Definately a keeper and one that will be made often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      Very good, I will make this again soon. from the brewhead

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      This was really easy to make and tastes great. I enjoyed that it is not mayo-based like many pasta salads are. It does make a lot and would be perfect for taking to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      This is very tasty and makes a ton. I tried to use half of the bottle of Catalina dressing but ended up having to add more after it chilled for awhile. I also needed to add salt and pepper. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2004

      Awesome salad. I was hesitant about the combination of taco seasoning and catalina but I held my breath and mixed them, what a pleasant surprise. I can see where you could add different veggies to this according to individual tastes. Tastes even better on day two(I dare you to stay out of it that long)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      Took this to work for potluck(and of course had to leave some at home for my family!) Everyone loved it. My husband took samples to the neighbors! I used cut up chicken breast instead of ground beef and added a little cilantro. Definately will make this again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Took this to a potluck yesterday and it didn't get touched. I thought the flavor was good but everyone was expecting it to be a hot dish (??). Oh well - I'm sure some people would love it but I don't think I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sombrero Pasta Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 596.1
     
    Calories from Fat 330
    55%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 54.5 mg
    18%
    Sodium 932.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites