25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love pasta salad. This is a delicious one. I liked the taco seasoned meat and the catalina dressing flavors. The veggies gave a little crunch. Thanks for an quick, easy, and tasty meal. Husband and I took leftovers for our lunch the next day. Tasted even, better. Thanks Nurse Di.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower September 09, 2002

This tasty pasta salad was different than any other I've tried. The idea of combining taco seasoning and Catalina dressing was a little strange, but it was actually very good! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was to use only one can of black olives. This recipe is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. July 18, 2003

Pasta Salad is always a favorite meal in this house. This one sure was delicious. Spicy meat, pasta and veggies all mixed up and the best part was the dressing. YUMMY!! The only alteration I made was to use just 1/2 cup of water for the meat. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop December 06, 2002

I made this for tailgating. Everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again. Only thing I did different was use Western Dressing instead of the Catalina.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klaupan June 15, 2011

This was just ok for us, not sure why we didn't love it, it has a lot of our favorite ingredients in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
armymomx2 April 30, 2011

This is great cold or hot!! I added garlic and green chilies to the recipe and left out the black olives. Also reduced the amount of Catalina dressing. We'll make it again for ourselves and guests. Thank Di! Since my original review, I've made this numerous times. Another variation is to simply add a can of "ranch style" beans while you're simmmering. If you do, reduce the water to 1/2 cup. We love this recipe and so do our friends!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins July 08, 2010

I thought this was just okay and everyone else in my family did not like it at all. Some had to heat it up in order to eat it. I'm not a big fan on eating cold meat (beef) so I struggled some with that aspect. As far as the Catalina dressing and taco meat go; this is how I eat taco salad and it is a great combo! Unfortunately, this won't be making the rounds at our table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids April 08, 2010

Made this for a potluck and it was raved about by all - it was the first to disappear!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seedbeads February 24, 2009

Great salad. Next time I will spice it up with more chili powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dbird July 05, 2008

This dish is easy an will suit most palates. Reminds me of chop souey a little bit. I didn't even use half the bottle of dressing because it seemed to be getting too wet. I also cooked the onion with the burger so that we wouldn't be eating raw onions. Boyfriend lies anything with burger. Tastes good warm too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmilinJenE March 31, 2008
Sombrero Pasta Salad