Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sole Fish Layered Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sole Fish Layered Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2014

      I was leery of this at first, but I'm so glad I tried it! I followed the suggestions of other members- I only had frozen spinach, so I boiled, drained, and added it to the onions in the pan to dry out a bit too. I didn't have Steak Seasoning, so I put a dash of Cajun Seasoning with the salt and pepper layers. I used Pangasius (a type of catfish). It tasted so wonderful I ate 1 1/2 servings! I think I added a bit more cheese too, but I love cheese.... :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Every bit was gone! Wasn't too sure about this one but it turned out delish. Used penne and extra cheddar, also salt and peppered each layer. A Keeper... Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Another amazing recipe from Derf. I couldn't find sole at the grocery store, substituted flounder, and it was excellent. I also used reduced-fat cheddar and was happy with that ingredient change. Based on other reviews, I added a sprinkling of reduced-sodium Montreal Steak Seasoning in addition to the salt/pepper and was very pleased with the results. Very quick recipe to prepare on a week night, yet it has a very pretty presentation. This recipe would be very easy to scale down for 1-2 people. Thanks for a winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      We liked this and it was certainly easy for a weeknight. Followed the recipe as posted except that we added more cheese because we like cheddar. I used penne for the noodles. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      I made this without onions (because I really don't like those!) and with montreal steak spices as someone suggested before. A little less cheese than mentionned. Everything else was the same. First of all, the steak spices was a GREAT idea, goes very well with the flavours. I loved this casserole, I will definitely be making this again, I almost always have these ingredients. :) If you like sole, tomatoes, spinach... This is a great one. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Yuck. The fish and pasta combination didn't work for us at all. Sorry - won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Excellent flavor. Made with penne. Will make again, maybe add some good smoked chorizo and more spinach and onions. Did not have a sweet onion, so I caramelized the yellow onion to simulate the sweetness. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is one of my favorite new recipe's! It is so easy, mostly healthy, and delicious I can make it a regular. Thanks for posting it. Keep up the good cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This was amazingly simple and amazingly good! I don't know a thing about sole, even doubted I would like it, but boy, was I wrong. My package contained 5 filets and I worried they wouldn't fit in an 8x8" dish, so I used an 11" dish. It worked perfectly with a huge, juicy tomato that easily covered the whole dish. I forgot the fresh spinach, so cooked a 10 oz. box of frozen spinach and skipped the onion. BTW, I seasoned the filets as Grecorican suggested with Montreal Steak Seasoning and I did prep the dish ahead of baking. You must try this while you can still get ripe summer tomatoes at their peak! They're critical to the recipe! Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Very good and simple to make. We'll be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      This was my first fish casserole and we loved it! My two year old ate tons!! Instead of plain noodles I used leftovers from Kittencal's Parmesan Orzo. The combination of flavors was fantastic! Next time I will probably double the tomatoes and spinach just because they are yummy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Dear Derf: Thank you for this amazing fish dish. My adult son loves fish. I sent this dish back to his apartment with him. He said it was awesome and ate the whole thing himself. My husband and I had it this evening and it is truly terrific. Thank you very much. Elaine Cape Cod

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This recipe is really really good! What a great way to eat fish. My husband and i loved it. I will definately serve this meal again. Since I dod not have all the ingredients, I replaced the spinach with chopped bock chow, added fresh basil leaves, replaced sliced tomatoes with cherry tomatoes and replaced the cheeze with jalapeno havarti and mozzerella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      This was fantastic!!!! I did not have spinach at home so I did not use it, I used elbow macaroni and added Montreal Steak Spice to the sole and it was fantastic, thanks for sharing, I will definitely have this as a keeper....Anne :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      Ok my kids asked for seconds, kids who by the way usually wrinkle their noses and complain when the word sole is mentioned. This was excellent. I didn't have spinach on hand but thought it was excellent anyways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I used tilapia and added some garlic to the onions and spinach. It wasn't all that flavorful and I wished there was more spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2006

      This is an excellent, easy and healthy recipe. Worked perfect as a "make-ahead." I put it together about 2:30 p.m.; my adult son gets home late in the evening from school. So I put it in the frig and left him the baking time and temp instructions. I knew before I asked the next day that he loved it, because he left me only a sliver (which I reheated in the micro.) I did enjoy my sliver! Thanks, Derf

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Loved this recipe! It was so easy to prepare and with items that one usually has on hand. I used egg fettuccine noodles and wow, it was perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      Not bad. I forgot the first layer of cheddar but it turned out pretty good. Nice healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sole Fish Layered Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.9
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    37%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 66.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 439.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 20.5 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes