21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was leery of this at first, but I'm so glad I tried it! I followed the suggestions of other members- I only had frozen spinach, so I boiled, drained, and added it to the onions in the pan to dry out a bit too. I didn't have Steak Seasoning, so I put a dash of Cajun Seasoning with the salt and pepper layers. I used Pangasius (a type of catfish). It tasted so wonderful I ate 1 1/2 servings! I think I added a bit more cheese too, but I love cheese.... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LousyChef April 28, 2014

Every bit was gone! Wasn't too sure about this one but it turned out delish. Used penne and extra cheddar, also salt and peppered each layer. A Keeper... Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich April 22, 2011

Another amazing recipe from Derf. I couldn't find sole at the grocery store, substituted flounder, and it was excellent. I also used reduced-fat cheddar and was happy with that ingredient change. Based on other reviews, I added a sprinkling of reduced-sodium Montreal Steak Seasoning in addition to the salt/pepper and was very pleased with the results. Very quick recipe to prepare on a week night, yet it has a very pretty presentation. This recipe would be very easy to scale down for 1-2 people. Thanks for a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( March 31, 2011

My husband said this was okay, but commented that the end result looked like "garbage on a plate." Next time I'll try a better presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockamama January 23, 2015

We liked this and it was certainly easy for a weeknight. Followed the recipe as posted except that we added more cheese because we like cheddar. I used penne for the noodles. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 12, 2011

I made this without onions (because I really don't like those!) and with montreal steak spices as someone suggested before. A little less cheese than mentionned. Everything else was the same. First of all, the steak spices was a GREAT idea, goes very well with the flavours. I loved this casserole, I will definitely be making this again, I almost always have these ingredients. :) If you like sole, tomatoes, spinach... This is a great one. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Areeane December 01, 2010

Yuck. The fish and pasta combination didn't work for us at all. Sorry - won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rgjunck January 10, 2010

Excellent flavor. Made with penne. Will make again, maybe add some good smoked chorizo and more spinach and onions. Did not have a sweet onion, so I caramelized the yellow onion to simulate the sweetness. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K & c June 07, 2009

This is one of my favorite new recipe's! It is so easy, mostly healthy, and delicious I can make it a regular. Thanks for posting it. Keep up the good cooking!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peewee deluxe January 21, 2009

This was amazingly simple and amazingly good! I don't know a thing about sole, even doubted I would like it, but boy, was I wrong. My package contained 5 filets and I worried they wouldn't fit in an 8x8" dish, so I used an 11" dish. It worked perfectly with a huge, juicy tomato that easily covered the whole dish. I forgot the fresh spinach, so cooked a 10 oz. box of frozen spinach and skipped the onion. BTW, I seasoned the filets as Grecorican suggested with Montreal Steak Seasoning and I did prep the dish ahead of baking. You must try this while you can still get ripe summer tomatoes at their peak! They're critical to the recipe! Loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja September 25, 2008
Sole Fish Layered Casserole