126 Reviews

I have noticed on a few recipes that people have said the addition of oil to their recipes has left them with an "off" taste. Please as with an other ingredient make sure that you are not using old oil. Oil will turn rancid under certain conditions or with time. Hope this helps. I will be trying the recipe soon. It sounds wonderful :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silent Rain July 12, 2006

This really was a great soft white bread! It came out so fluffy and soft in the middle. It was delicious! I will use this recipe again for my bread machine. If any others have to set the lb's on their machines like I have to. This make a 1.5 lb loaf. Thanks for the recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* December 15, 2009

I joined the site just to review this recipe - by far the most amazingly soft bread I have ever made! I have tweaked it just a bit by substituting honey for the white sugar, replacing one cup of bread flour with white wheat and using olive oil. Once I started using the olive oil instead of canola, I swear the bread got even softer. I either bake it as a loaf or shape it into sandwich buns. We LOVE this bread, and it is a staple in our pantry. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SubeeJones October 22, 2012

Wow. I very rarely write reviews,.....but just had to here. I've tried multiple recipes in my bread machine,.....all of them turning out tasty, but "heavy" and denser than I'd like. I came across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. Am VERY glad I did. Light bread! Tasty Bread! This has moved to the TOP of my bread machine "go-to" listing. I recommend this recipe! Give it a try to test it out. I'm guessing you'll be glad you did.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3SpringChicks August 11, 2012

@ Silent Rain: Also for oil, I find that canola oil gets a fishy flavor when it is heated. So if anyone thinks something tastes a little "off" and you're using canola oil, you might try the same recipe with another oil.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie hates soy February 26, 2013

Delicious! **Update 6/6/11: I always use 1-1/2 teaspoons of salt.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone June 06, 2011

I bought my breadmaker out of storage on Friday and made a loaf using a Hovis mix designed for bread making machines. It was heavy and the crust was very think. I was very disappointed with the results. I thought that maybe it was the breadmaker, I have a Classic Russell Hobbs, and considered buying a new machine. This morning I had some time to hand and looked on the internet for a recipe to make fluffy breadmaker bread. I can upon this recipe and thought I may as well give it a go before buying a new breadmaker. The result was great. The bread is light and fluffy and the crust is golden and crunchy. It is by far the best loaf I've ever made using a breadmaker. Thank you so much for sharing. :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beci February 05, 2011

I have been making bread from scratch every day for 10 years. I tried this recipe with my bread machine that was collecting dust because I had been using my kitchenaide. I make the dough and then bake in a loaf pan for 30 mins. This bread is guaranteed perfect! My four kids love it for sandwiches, holds together while still being soft as air! I feel like I am cheating using the bread machine to make the dough, but I am happy to do so moving forward! Make bread dough every day. Then its ready when I want to bake it. I have been freezing this dough and have it on hand for bread, rolls whatever! I substitute organic coconut oil for the oil in the recipe, turns out beautiful and a feel good recipe with organic flour and sugar with sea salt! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessMommy in Ontario September 12, 2015

I actually made an account to review this! My bread machine instructions gave me horrible, stodgy bread and this one is so close to the shop-bought one in terms of texture but the flavour is much much better! I've just made a chicken sandwich using it and oh sweet wow. To anybody in the UK I used 410g flour, 240ml water, 50ml of vegetable oil and a Sainsbury's dry yeast sachet.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iggiewig March 24, 2014

Simple recipe! Baked in the oven came out great! Chicken salad sandwiches were very good with the fresh baked soft bread.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lesleaschnake July 28, 2010
Softest Ever Bread Machine Bread