Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2003

      I thought this recipe was really good, I omitted the chilling time and used a cookie press to make the cookies instead of rolling them out. I would decrease the oven temp though 400 was much to high and I shortened the baking time to 6 min. maybe my oven gets to hot. nice tasting cookie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This was an excellent recipe. I had been searching for a sugar cookie that the little ones enjoyed: they're unusually picky about the taste of their cookies. They really enjoyed this one though, even though we just made frosted drop cookies instead of chilling and cutting them.

      The only reason it gets 4/5 is because I had to adjust the oven temp (thanks for the warning) and baked them for 9 minutes. The consistency was very gooey but perfect for drop cookies. Overall they were awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      I had a taste for some soft sugar cookies, so I went straight to RecipeZaar! This recipe was very basic and easy. I loved it! My cookies were very tasty, soft near the middle, but crunchy around the edges. Excellent for my taste! My only recommendation would be to chill them a bit longer than 30 minutes. You will find that they form better and are easier to handle when you drop them on the cookie sheet. Thanks Dayla!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Nice flavor...however they turned out much more crispy than I expected. I think the recipe needs more flour and perhaps a little baking soda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I made 1/2 the recipe to mail to our nephew. So I didn't exactly taste them, but they were SO easy to make & smelled wonderful. I almost didn't make the frosting, but I thought it would be fun to try it. THAT tasted great & frosted the cokies nicely! I didn't chill the dough or roll it out--just made normal cookies. I used Splenda for sugar since that's all I use. The frosting hardened nicely on the cookies so I feel safe mailing them. I took a suggestion & baked them at 375 for about 8 min. I hope to make these for more folks. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      So amazing!!! The best flavor I've come across! Next time I'm going to roll them to about 1/2" thick instead of 1/4", they will be so 'melt in your mouth'. Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

    • on February 17, 2009

      Looooved these cookies. My son loved the batter, too, LOL! I'm not a sugar cookie fan, my son is so I made these for him. I ate MOST of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I made a double batch, substituting Splenda Granular for the sugar in both the cookie and frosting recipes. I also cut the baking temperature down to 350°. They came out great! Looked just like the sugar cookies that Mom used to make. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I'm going to go against the grain here and say I was not happy with this recipe. The taste was excellent, but the recipe needs too much modification to be rated a 5 star. It needed a LOT more flour to be rollable, and the time of 8 minutes at 400 degrees only got me a tray of burnt cookies. In the end, I spent a lot more time than I expected to to get 2 dozen cookies. I'll try a different recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      These were simply delightful! Nice buttery taste. This was my 1st sugar cookie from scratch the family and I just couldn't stop eating them. The helpful tip from KC_Cooker helped out alot. (grease your cookie sheet and I cooked my cookies about 8 mins on 375 and they came out great) Thanks for the recipe! We will be making these over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I loved the flavor of this cookie! I made mine without the frosting and thought they were perfect (I'm not big on the sugar). They are soft and chewy, and melt in your mouth! The dough is very soft, even after refrigeration, though I made these like a drop cookie so that wasn't a problem. I will make these again--and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      these were awsome cookies! they were soft and chewy just like she said they would be! i couldn't stop eating them.the only thing was they weren't sugary enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      This recipe makes delicious soft sugar cookies! Everyone at work raved. At the stage where you're ready to roll the dough out and cut shapes, make sure you have PLENTY of flour. The dough is very soft and very sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2005

      My hubby and I thought these were pretty good. I did not roll them out and use cutters, instead I rolled them into balls, dipped them into some cinnamon sugar, and then squished them flat with the bottom of a drinking glass. They came out very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2005

      These sugar cookies were just like I love them... soft and buttery sugar flavored! A few tips not listed in the recipe for those people who haven't made sugar cookies... Spray your pan before baking or else they'll stick and make sure to roll the dough out onto a floured surface or you'll have a big sticky mess! This dough was especially soft, so flour is a must! I will be making this recipe again and again. Thanks so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      This recipe is great if you are looking for a soft sugar cookie. They are delicious frosted or served plain with a hot cup of coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      These cookies have a yummy buttery sweet taste. Easy to make. The frosting recipe accents the taste of the cookie. This recipe is good if you prefer a soft sugar cookie over a crunch one. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      These are very easy to make and they taste incredible with the frosting. I am not a real sweets fan but these keep you coming back for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      These are the best cookies. So soft and delicious. My husband says they are the best sugar cookies he has ever had. The frosting makes the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (657 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2756.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1179
    42%
    Total Fat 131.0 g
    201%
    Saturated Fat 80.3 g
    401%
    Cholesterol 541.3 mg
    180%
    Sodium 1815.3 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 369.8 g
    123%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 201.1 g
    804%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites