133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow- these are really good!! I followed your recipe, except I did leave out the raisins. The combination of spices and soft texture made them really delicious...also they look pretty with the sugar on top!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunnydays April 09, 2009

"Heavenly" is certainly the right adjective. These cookies are literally to die for -- and end up in heaven with endless bowlfuls of them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeKay18 March 25, 2009

I'm in love - with a cookie! I used butter instead of margarine and didn't have nutmeg, so used allspice, but otherwise, the recipe was intact. These are moist, and perfectly spiced. I made these bigger than recommended and only had to add a minute or so to the bake time. Delicious and way better than store-bought!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetchocolate February 10, 2009

Thanks for a great recipe! Heavenly indeed, and very easy to make. +1 as for being careful not to overbake them, so I took them out of the oven when they still seemed a bit soft on the outside. I used muscovado sugar instead of white, and chopped dried cherries (I'm sure cranberries would go just as well with the fresh ginger bits) instead of raisins, and the flavors were just great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quinoa January 06, 2009

I don't like gingerbread, but these cookies were delicious and "heavenly" as the name says! I followed the recipe except for using unsalted butter instead of margarine, and omitted the raisins. Everyone that tasted them loved them too. They are very easy to make and your house will smell wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
49flavours December 30, 2008

wonderful cookies! these came out perfect, soft, spicy and thick! I used 3 tsp of ground ginger as I didn't have any fresh, skipped the raisins, and next time I may add a little more sugar. Also be careful not to overbake these! I think 10-11 mins. is plenty, going over that makes them a touch on the dry side. I scooped mine out into balls with a small cooking scoop and dipped the tops into a bowl of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena December 26, 2008

I made these the other day and we all loved them. Also love all the spices in them. I took some to work too and they were gone in no time at all, and I was asked for the recipe. I substuted butter for the margarine and I didn't add the raisins. Next time I make them I'll add the raisins. I'm sure they'll make the cookie even more chewy. I love chewy cookies and if you do too, don't let them cook for more than 10 minutes. My first batch was in for 12 minutes and the edges came out a bit crisp so the rest I cooked for 10 min. and they were perfect. Also, mine spread so much while baking they came out really flat - not like the picture by Chef flower. They really do need the 2" inbetween. Maybe I should add more flour when I'm shaping them so they'll keep their shape. Overall, this will be my favorite gingerbread recipe. Thanks for a great one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee December 23, 2008

I love these! I used butter instead of margarine left out the raisons, used raw cane sugar instead of white sugar and doubled the recipe. Once they are done I cool them and stick them in the freezer. they last for ages and taste great still frozen or thawed out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kay eleven December 21, 2008

Delicious and easy to make! Thanks for the recipe Pollen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_princess_suzy December 16, 2008

Not much of of a cookie maker or lover but these are the best. Wish I could give you more than five stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjd4 December 15, 2008
Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies