Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2008

      Made these last night... huge hit! Instead of molasses I used "Baker's honey" (a darker almost molasses-like honey) and omitted the raisins. After refrigerating for 20 minutes, I flattend them before dipping in sugar... and in 10 minutes, they were perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      These were a fantastic ginger cookie. I used a heaping tablespoon of fresh grated ginger, omitted the raisins and stuck it in the fridge. A half hour later they were still too gooey to work with so I added some more flour and put them in the fridge for another half hour. I could finally work with them although I had to put them in the fridge again between batches to keep the dough workable. I will definitely make these again - thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      The best gingerbread cookies I have ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      These cookies were excellent! So soft and chewy, and the perfect amount of ginger/molasses flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      these tasted great and had good texture, despite my inability to figure out how to adjust for high altitude - they came out flat instead of big and puffy. I did adjust the amount of water down to 1/4 of a cup, to make it less sticky and it worked great - make a crumbly dough that i just mashed together. also added some spice mix to the sugar for rolling the cookies in, as well as used crystallised ginger instead of fresh ginger. i also used butter instead of margarine, and probably will use a little less sugar next time. for altitude, they came out pretty well, just had to cook them a few minutes longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      A delicious cookie. I used butter rather than margarine and I omitted the raisins. I also had some crystallized ginger so I chopped up 1 tablespoon of that and added it in. I had to refrigerate the dough before I could really handle it. These remained really fresh for days. great with a cup of coffee. Thanks, Pollen- great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      Wonderful! The batter was rather sticky but after 30 minutes in the fridge, no problem. Dipped in red, white and green sugar for a festive look. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      A delicious cookie. Since I am on a diet, I have managed to resist these (failing only 3 times), and will be taking the tub to my Dad this morning. He loves ginger and I know he will enjoy these. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      These are soooooooo good! I replaced the margarine with butter, and forgot the fresh ginger and still they were amazing! My 92 year old grandmother who doesn't even like ginger loved them! Thank you guys soooo much! It cured my craving and now i have requests to make them for the holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      WOW!!! I thought I would be clever and replace the water with lemon juice (from the bottle) and these were AMAZING!! I mean really wonderful. The addition of the fresh ginger really sets these apart. I didn't use raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I've made these dozens of times now and everyone (omni's too!) LOVES them. I find they are not spicy enough though so I always double all the spices and they are so scrumptious! You must make these for the holidays guys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Loved these. I'm keeping them in the fridge so they'll last longer, and if you heat them in the microwave for 20 or 30 seconds, they're almost as good as when they first came out of the oven. Like another reviewer, I used honey instead of molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      The title said it all soft, spicy and heavenly ginger cookies basically it's really yummy! I made these for a Christmas break up party which is on tomorrow. I used treacle (Australian version of molasses) and didn't use the optional raisins. Little Miss (DD) kept coming back for more and I had to stop her because we wouldn't have enough for tomorrow. Thank you pollen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      The best ginger cookies ever. They are soft and the spice is ust right. I made a double batch and they were gone in days. They sure are soft, spicy and very heavenly. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Delicious! Like some of the others I used butter (unsalted) instead of margarine. I will be making these again and again. My batch yielded 20 cookies, but they were big. Next time I'll make them a touch smaller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Really good cookies, and I love that they're vegan to begin with! I omitted the raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. The molasses absolutely makes a difference - they tasted dark and rich and lovely. I might add more ginger next time, because I love ginger, but these were quite good as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      these were soooo good! i substituted honey for the molasses, ended up using a considerable amount of flour to make the dough manageable, and baked them only for about 9 minutes until they seemed crispy golden (luckily i was keeping an eye on them)... but simply marvelous! a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      I passed these around to friends and I had DEMANDS (not requests) that I immediately make some more. DH doesn't usually eat many cookies and has never been a big fan of spice cookies in general but he loved these! Thanks, pollen; I will be making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      These were great! My son and I made these on a Saturday evening because we were all craving something sweet. I omitted the raisins. I did find however, that they required a few extra minutes in the oven (closer to 15).Thanks for sharing Pollen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Another happy reviewer--these were excellent and made the house smell great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1002 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 102.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes