Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      awesome! really satisfied my craving for a spicy holiday cookie. i used chopped crystallized ginger in place of the fresh ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

    • on November 13, 2009

      These were I hit. I used white whole wheat for flour and brown sugar instead of white, although I think they made the cookies have a bit too much molasses, so next time I'll try agave nectar. I had to add extra water because the dough was much too dry for some reason. I added 1 teaspoon vanilla, twice as much cinnamon, 1 teaspoon extra ground ginger and almost twice as much fresh ginger but they still definitely weren't "spicy."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      One of the best cookies ever! I also tried a non-vegan version of this recipe that I found on allrecipes. My family prefers this one. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      These are so delicious.. perfect taste, perfect texture

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      They turned out pretty good. I made mine exactly the same as the posted recipe. They turned out a lot like ginger snaps you would by at the store but softer and no preservatives. I would have to agree with the other posts on adding more ginger. Maybe double what the recipe calls for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Nice texture. Not quite enough ginger flavor for us though I used 3.5 tsp of ground ginger . . . maybe the fresh ginger makes all the difference. Ok, I had to up the rating to 5 stars because these cookies stay incredibly soft day after day. I think this is my hubby's new favorite cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Great cookie! Loved the soft texture and the crunchy edges. Mine didn't crack like the picture, but that's OK, they are delicious anyway! Left out the cloves as I am not a fan, but otherwise followed the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Hate to be the one to rain on this recipe. These were far more molasses cookies than ginger. Mine looked nothing like the picture. Maybe it was me, but even with out the looks, didn't care for the flavor. Won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Fabulous cookies. I used all butter in mine and was out of cloves, which I don't particularly like, anyhow. I do like spice and so I added ground black pepper and cayenne pepper instead. Wonderful flavor. Thanks for a terrific cookie recipe which I will have to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Wow- these are really good!! I followed your recipe, except I did leave out the raisins. The combination of spices and soft texture made them really delicious...also they look pretty with the sugar on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      "Heavenly" is certainly the right adjective. These cookies are literally to die for -- and end up in heaven with endless bowlfuls of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I'm in love - with a cookie! I used butter instead of margarine and didn't have nutmeg, so used allspice, but otherwise, the recipe was intact. These are moist, and perfectly spiced. I made these bigger than recommended and only had to add a minute or so to the bake time. Delicious and way better than store-bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Thanks for a great recipe! Heavenly indeed, and very easy to make. +1 as for being careful not to overbake them, so I took them out of the oven when they still seemed a bit soft on the outside. I used muscovado sugar instead of white, and chopped dried cherries (I'm sure cranberries would go just as well with the fresh ginger bits) instead of raisins, and the flavors were just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I don't like gingerbread, but these cookies were delicious and "heavenly" as the name says! I followed the recipe except for using unsalted butter instead of margarine, and omitted the raisins. Everyone that tasted them loved them too. They are very easy to make and your house will smell wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      wonderful cookies! these came out perfect, soft, spicy and thick! I used 3 tsp of ground ginger as I didn't have any fresh, skipped the raisins, and next time I may add a little more sugar. Also be careful not to overbake these! I think 10-11 mins. is plenty, going over that makes them a touch on the dry side. I scooped mine out into balls with a small cooking scoop and dipped the tops into a bowl of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I made these the other day and we all loved them. Also love all the spices in them. I took some to work too and they were gone in no time at all, and I was asked for the recipe. I substuted butter for the margarine and I didn't add the raisins. Next time I make them I'll add the raisins. I'm sure they'll make the cookie even more chewy. I love chewy cookies and if you do too, don't let them cook for more than 10 minutes. My first batch was in for 12 minutes and the edges came out a bit crisp so the rest I cooked for 10 min. and they were perfect. Also, mine spread so much while baking they came out really flat - not like the picture by Chef flower. They really do need the 2" inbetween. Maybe I should add more flour when I'm shaping them so they'll keep their shape. Overall, this will be my favorite gingerbread recipe. Thanks for a great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I love these! I used butter instead of margarine left out the raisons, used raw cane sugar instead of white sugar and doubled the recipe. Once they are done I cool them and stick them in the freezer. they last for ages and taste great still frozen or thawed out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      Delicious and easy to make! Thanks for the recipe Pollen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Not much of of a cookie maker or lover but these are the best. Wish I could give you more than five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1002 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 102.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes