135 Reviews

Amazing! I used half flax meal so as to make a high fiber cookie and they were delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Jenny February 26, 2012

These cookies are awesome, and true to the title! (soft, spicy, & heavenly!) They were such a hit, that I've had to make them twice in a week. Thanks for the recipe, pollen! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit January 03, 2012

These are indeed soft and heavenly! I used the ginger "paste" left over after making and filtering ginger syrup - about 1/4 cup. Since it was already sweetened, I lowered the sugar to 3/4 cups. I also omitted all the other spices as I wanted the ginger flavour to shine; used blackstrap molasses, subbed the all the water but 1 tbsp with 1 large egg. They puffed up beautifully and I got 30 large cookies. My only complaint was that they weren't gingery enough... next time I'll add more. I would also recommend lining the baking sheets with parchment paper as the one time I didn't, the cookies stuck; the dough was very sticky and I had to flour my hands quite often. Thank you for an amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie December 04, 2011

I made these cookies to use up some fresh ginger I had in the house, and I'm so glad I did! They were delicious--great amount of flavor but not overpowering. I baked them for 10 minutes and they were nice and soft. I also used butter in place of the margarine, and an egg in place of the water. Also, I accidentally used 2 tbsp of fresh ginger, and they were still delicious. Not too ginger-y at all. My batch made closer to 70 cookies, so I'm not sure if I made them too small, but they were decent sized. I'm sure I won't have a problem using up extra ginger anymore :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea G. August 31, 2011

The taste is very good; spicy but not overbearing. I did not use fresh ginger OR any nutmeg. I wanted soft cookies so I took them out of the oven when barely browned on the edges; but when cooled they ended up sticking together. I bake with real butter, and I had to post a photo because my cookies looked nothing like the ones in the pic previously posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 07, 2011

My husband was asking for soft ginger cookies last night. These were the best ever! Thank you for posting. Already transferred to my recipe book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tessa22 January 29, 2011

Made this to use up extra molasses...they come out a good consistentcy and the raisins were a good addition. I don't taste the fresh Ginger much at all and they don't come off as "spicy". They DO have a persistent aftertaste for some reason. I can't stand aftertastes. I still gave it 3stars because I figured perhaps something was wrong w the quality of ingredients I used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amaze-Ing Me January 14, 2011

OMG! So freakin' good! I made these because my husband's cholesterol is higher than I'd like and I decided to cook vegan exclusively at home (I've always cooked vegetarian). He happily eats vegan entrees, but is very wary of vegan desserts, due to an unfortunate attempt at black forest cake containing baby food prunes. He gobbled these up! So did I, my stepdaughter, two of my nieces, my brother-in-law, etc. They were really easy to make, too. I foresee many, many batches of these in my future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muppetcow December 06, 2010

These are wonderful cookies that are simple and easy to make and keep very well. A favorite with ALL the people I've made them for (if I don't eat them all first)--and many of them, like myself, or not even vegan. To change it up a little, I like rolling the dough balls in coarse sugar to add a little extra crunch on the outside and make them extra sparkly.

These are also especially lovely for the colder months and the holidays! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VannyRose November 13, 2010

Absolutely perfect ginger cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
readergirl November 12, 2010
Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies