Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2011

      I made these cookies to use up some fresh ginger I had in the house, and I'm so glad I did! They were delicious--great amount of flavor but not overpowering. I baked them for 10 minutes and they were nice and soft. I also used butter in place of the margarine, and an egg in place of the water. Also, I accidentally used 2 tbsp of fresh ginger, and they were still delicious. Not too ginger-y at all. My batch made closer to 70 cookies, so I'm not sure if I made them too small, but they were decent sized. I'm sure I won't have a problem using up extra ginger anymore :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      The taste is very good; spicy but not overbearing. I did not use fresh ginger OR any nutmeg. I wanted soft cookies so I took them out of the oven when barely browned on the edges; but when cooled they ended up sticking together. I bake with real butter, and I had to post a photo because my cookies looked nothing like the ones in the pic previously posted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      My husband was asking for soft ginger cookies last night. These were the best ever! Thank you for posting. Already transferred to my recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Made this to use up extra molasses...they come out a good consistentcy and the raisins were a good addition. I don't taste the fresh Ginger much at all and they don't come off as "spicy". They DO have a persistent aftertaste for some reason. I can't stand aftertastes. I still gave it 3stars because I figured perhaps something was wrong w the quality of ingredients I used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      OMG! So freakin' good! I made these because my husband's cholesterol is higher than I'd like and I decided to cook vegan exclusively at home (I've always cooked vegetarian). He happily eats vegan entrees, but is very wary of vegan desserts, due to an unfortunate attempt at black forest cake containing baby food prunes. He gobbled these up! So did I, my stepdaughter, two of my nieces, my brother-in-law, etc. They were really easy to make, too. I foresee many, many batches of these in my future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      These are wonderful cookies that are simple and easy to make and keep very well. A favorite with ALL the people I've made them for (if I don't eat them all first)--and many of them, like myself, or not even vegan. To change it up a little, I like rolling the dough balls in coarse sugar to add a little extra crunch on the outside and make them extra sparkly.

      These are also especially lovely for the colder months and the holidays! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Absolutely perfect ginger cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Though I'm not a fan of ginger, I wanted to try and see what ginger cookies tasted like. The texture is very nice...a light shell on the outside and soft and cakey in the middle. And I imagine that if you like ginger, this would be very tasty. I won't make it again, but I'm sure DH's coworkers will enjoy these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      These are soooo good! I made my second batch tonight! The first time I did not have molasses, so I substituted honey. I also used Smart Balance for the margarine, left out the raisins and used 2 1/2 t. of the ground ginger and skipped the other(I have young kids and didn't want them too spicy!) I could barely keep from eating these in one sitting! I did have to bake for 16 minutes to get the desired slightly crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside (could just be my oven!) Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      An amazing and easy cookie recipe. I added a tablespoon of grated fresh ginger in addition to the chopped ginger, and it makes the cookies more intensely ginger. Everyone loves these cookies. Originally we made them for a vegan friend, but ended up eating them all. We've made three batches in the past week!! Thank you for this wonderful treat. Great with a cup of tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Wonderful, wonderful. I love these! I grated the giner instead of chopping it. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Absolutely delightful! My kids loved them, and even I, with a complete lack of a sweet-tooth, couldn't stay away from them. I put the dough on the pan in small Tablespoon scoops, and then gently flattened them slightly with a fork. Sprinkled a little vegan sugar on top and baked, and they came out beautifully. Will definitely make them again!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      I'm not a vegetarian, and this is still my go-to recipe for ginger cookies. They are SO good! Soft, spicy, and downright dangerous. My only change is using butter instead of margarine (because that's what we use at our house) and decreasing the water to 1/4 cup. Thanks for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Warning: Don't make these if you are 9 months pregnant and home alone for the night! I think I am in love! I didn't notice these were modified to be vegan until the dough was made. My first thought was: Oh crap! But I was pleasantly surprised when the first batch came out of the oven soft and chewy. I liked the result of the cookie best when I didn't flatten it before hand. I didn't have margarine so I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup vegetable shortening. This recipe is cookie perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Excellent! Very Excellent!! After I mixed everything up, I read the top comments and wondered as chef 463299 did, if the recipe needed an egg or if they would be too health foody. No worries! This is a fantastic cookie. I got 53...I guess mine were a little smaller, but I like to have several cookies, and if they are a little on the small side then I can do that with less calories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! The only change I made was to omit the nutmeg (personal preference) . They are now on my cookie tray for the holidays. Thanks for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Excellent recipe! This will be the one we will make from now on. Loved the taste and texture. Thanks Pollen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      Wow! A delicious, soft and chewy cookie! I had no fresh ginger so I put in 3 tsp of ground. I also substituted allspice for cloves and canola oil for margarine. With all o the substitutions, they were still amazing! Thanks so much for a great cookie to go on my Christmas treat plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      These came out quite thin and flat but they tasted good. I did add extra fresh ginger after tasting the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I loved these cookies, kept eating one after another.. The whole family devoured it.. It was chewy and perfect for a cold cozy winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1002 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 102.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes