133 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am a huge ginger-lover, so this may be a little biased, but these are probably the best cookies I have even eaten! I used butter instead of margarine, but other than that I followed the recipe. The fresh ginger is really what makes these cookies so amazing. I would definitely recommend not putting in grated ginger instead of finely chopped ginger because the tiny chunks are phenomenal! Mine cooked for about 10-11 minutes (I made 3 batches) and are so pretty! They're crinkly and sparkly on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside! I love these- I'd give them 5,000 stars if I could!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie March 18, 2003

I'm one of those who "hates" ginger, so I made this for mom and grandma and they completely fell in love with these chewy, ginger-ey cookies, although my mom, who is a ginger fanatic said that she could do with even more ground ginger! I used butter instead of margarine, and honey instead of molasses. I also used the optional raisins, and since I was in a hurry, I added more flour (about 3 or 4 heaped tablespoons extra) to make the dough less sticky and easier to handle, instead of refrigerating. I also needed to use more than 2 tablespoons of sugar to roll them in... it just got sucked right in! :-) The baking time is perfect and in 12 minutes these cookies turned a lovely golden colour. The aroma wafting in my kitchen while these were baking was simply dreamy! Thanks pollen... this was a huge hit!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu December 23, 2002

Heavenly indeed! I made these cookies to give as Xmas gifts, and they were so scrumptious I had to wrap them up very quickly or DH (who "hates" ginger) & I would have eaten them all! I used a mixture of treacle and golden syrup instead of the molasses, and found chilling the mix for an hour before rolling was a very good idea. As Mallina says, the fresh ginger just makes these cookies! Now to make a batch for ourselves...

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catxx December 21, 2002

Made these little beauties over the weekend and they turned out great. Substituted maple syrup for the molasses and they tasted great anyway.(but everything else was by the recipe) Soft while warm and perfectly crunchy after they cooled.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gimpy Morris November 19, 2002

These cookies are in the oven as i'm writing this so i don't know what they taste like yet. I changed the recipe quite a bit though(i tend to to that, by accident usually). What i changed was: -I halved the recipe -used butter, 1 tsp. of pumpkinseed butter, and 1 tbls. of jam instead of only butter -since i don't eat wheat, i substituted soy, brown rice, and buckwheat flour for the all-purpose flour -used baking powder instead of the baking soda (by accident-grabbed the wrong thing) -and did not used white sugar but substituted stevia extract instead (my mother cannot eat not much sugar) The cookies should be ready in a few minutes, just have to let them cool. when i try one, i will rate it!! UPDATE: i also threw in some flaxmeal for a little added fibre!! I just tried a cookie.... scrumptious!! they are soft and have a perfect amount of ginger!! I think the fresh ginger really added to the cookie, do not leave this ingredient out!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mallina Cashew May 28, 2002

These cookies are amazing. People are shocked when I tell them they're vegan! Protip: add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to keep them puffy and raised instead of flat.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat October 05, 2013

Baked these last night, intending them to be for my fiance, since I usually don't care much for ginger cookies (molasses = eww), but I think I have already eaten more of them than he has! These are delicious! I made them non-vegan by using butter and an egg plus about 1 T of water in place of the 1/3C. Also used just slightly less sugar, and 3/4C whole wheat flour. The boy doesn't like raisins, so those were also left out. After mixing up the dough, I let it sit covered in the fridge overnight, and then only baked for about 8 minutes. This recipe will definitely have a permanent spot in my recipe box! Thanks pollen!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 May 06, 2011

Five stars for this recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Also omitted the water and added 1 egg. Did not add raisins. All else the same. The house smelled so wonderful while these were baking. Both the flavor and texture of these cookies are exceptional. I must have made mine big, because I got 29 cookies from the recipe as written. Will definetly make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim February 07, 2011

My husband loved these!!! I also gave the recipe out to a friend after she tried them. They both said they were soft, perfect spice, and very tasty!! I did skip the raisin (DH doesn't like them) and used a bit more fresh ginger. Thanks so much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 02, 2010

I tried to unmodify these back to unvegan... substituted butter, added an egg, less water. I didn't really know what I was doing but they were DELICIOUS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zboekelheide January 27, 2010
Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies