Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Average Rating:

    133 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 133

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2003

      I am a huge ginger-lover, so this may be a little biased, but these are probably the best cookies I have even eaten! I used butter instead of margarine, but other than that I followed the recipe. The fresh ginger is really what makes these cookies so amazing. I would definitely recommend not putting in grated ginger instead of finely chopped ginger because the tiny chunks are phenomenal! Mine cooked for about 10-11 minutes (I made 3 batches) and are so pretty! They're crinkly and sparkly on the outside and wonderfully chewy on the inside! I love these- I'd give them 5,000 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      I'm one of those who "hates" ginger, so I made this for mom and grandma and they completely fell in love with these chewy, ginger-ey cookies, although my mom, who is a ginger fanatic said that she could do with even more ground ginger! I used butter instead of margarine, and honey instead of molasses. I also used the optional raisins, and since I was in a hurry, I added more flour (about 3 or 4 heaped tablespoons extra) to make the dough less sticky and easier to handle, instead of refrigerating. I also needed to use more than 2 tablespoons of sugar to roll them in... it just got sucked right in! :-) The baking time is perfect and in 12 minutes these cookies turned a lovely golden colour. The aroma wafting in my kitchen while these were baking was simply dreamy! Thanks pollen... this was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      Heavenly indeed! I made these cookies to give as Xmas gifts, and they were so scrumptious I had to wrap them up very quickly or DH (who "hates" ginger) & I would have eaten them all! I used a mixture of treacle and golden syrup instead of the molasses, and found chilling the mix for an hour before rolling was a very good idea. As Mallina says, the fresh ginger just makes these cookies! Now to make a batch for ourselves...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      Made these little beauties over the weekend and they turned out great. Substituted maple syrup for the molasses and they tasted great anyway.(but everything else was by the recipe) Soft while warm and perfectly crunchy after they cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      These cookies are in the oven as i'm writing this so i don't know what they taste like yet. I changed the recipe quite a bit though(i tend to to that, by accident usually). What i changed was: -I halved the recipe -used butter, 1 tsp. of pumpkinseed butter, and 1 tbls. of jam instead of only butter -since i don't eat wheat, i substituted soy, brown rice, and buckwheat flour for the all-purpose flour -used baking powder instead of the baking soda (by accident-grabbed the wrong thing) -and did not used white sugar but substituted stevia extract instead (my mother cannot eat not much sugar) The cookies should be ready in a few minutes, just have to let them cool. when i try one, i will rate it!! UPDATE: i also threw in some flaxmeal for a little added fibre!! I just tried a cookie.... scrumptious!! they are soft and have a perfect amount of ginger!! I think the fresh ginger really added to the cookie, do not leave this ingredient out!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      These cookies are amazing. People are shocked when I tell them they're vegan! Protip: add an extra 1/2 cup of flour to keep them puffy and raised instead of flat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      My husband loved these!!! I also gave the recipe out to a friend after she tried them. They both said they were soft, perfect spice, and very tasty!! I did skip the raisin (DH doesn't like them) and used a bit more fresh ginger. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      I tried to unmodify these back to unvegan... substituted butter, added an egg, less water. I didn't really know what I was doing but they were DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      These are AWESOME. They are so easy and the aroma fills my kitchen with wonderful holiday scents. Took them to a dessert party and they disappeared before I set tray on the table. They will become a holiday staple. I increased the fresh ginger to 2 tablespoons, as we like the taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Baked these last night, intending them to be for my fiance, since I usually don't care much for ginger cookies (molasses = eww), but I think I have already eaten more of them than he has! These are delicious! I made them non-vegan by using butter and an egg plus about 1 T of water in place of the 1/3C. Also used just slightly less sugar, and 3/4C whole wheat flour. The boy doesn't like raisins, so those were also left out. After mixing up the dough, I let it sit covered in the fridge overnight, and then only baked for about 8 minutes. This recipe will definitely have a permanent spot in my recipe box! Thanks pollen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Five stars for this recipe. I did make a couple of changes. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Also omitted the water and added 1 egg. Did not add raisins. All else the same. The house smelled so wonderful while these were baking. Both the flavor and texture of these cookies are exceptional. I must have made mine big, because I got 29 cookies from the recipe as written. Will definetly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      Extremely delicious! I also substituted butter for the margarine, and 2 eggs and a Tablespoon of water for the 1/3 c. of water, and 1 c. of whole wheat floor instead of all white floor. Made as a Christmas cookie, so I dipped 1/2 of each cookie, after baked and cooled, in melted white chocolate chips (melted for dipping, as said on package of chips). The local coffee shop makes a similar cookie that is dipped in white chocolate, tis where I got the idea. These are better because of the chopped fresh ginger. Soft inside crispy on the outside, sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2013

      Love these cookies. Used butter, didn't have cloves or raisins and used crystalized ginger. Hard to stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Thanks for a great recipe. Everyone in my family enjoyed the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

    • on April 14, 2013

      I made these for my Vegan Thanksgiving dinner in 2012, which was mostly attended by meat-eaters, and everyone raved at how delicious and hearty the vegan food was. They couldn't believe this level of taste could be achieved at home -- even those who had already been to Los Angeles' top vegan restaurant Real Food Daily. The stars of the show, though, were these cookies, which had everyone going ga-ga over them. I printed out the recipe for 3 people. <br/><br/>You need to allocate a little extra time in cooking these cookies, because the dough is so sticky. It's difficult spooning onto the sheet or rolling into balls -- even if you chill the dough first, which I did. It was tedious by the time I was on my final sheet but well worth the time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Wow! Very tasty. I used cane sugar instead of white sugar, and honey instead of molasses. I also added about 1/4 teasp. all-spice. The cookies turned out to be little too sweet for me, so the next time I'll definitely use less sugar. Though with a nice cup of espresso or herbal tee... hmmm... it's simply delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Amazing! I used half flax meal so as to make a high fiber cookie and they were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      These cookies are awesome, and true to the title! (soft, spicy, & heavenly!) They were such a hit, that I've had to make them twice in a week. Thanks for the recipe, pollen! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      These are indeed soft and heavenly! I used the ginger "paste" left over after making and filtering ginger syrup - about 1/4 cup. Since it was already sweetened, I lowered the sugar to 3/4 cups. I also omitted all the other spices as I wanted the ginger flavour to shine; used blackstrap molasses, subbed the all the water but 1 tbsp with 1 large egg. They puffed up beautifully and I got 30 large cookies. My only complaint was that they weren't gingery enough... next time I'll add more. I would also recommend lining the baking sheets with parchment paper as the one time I didn't, the cookies stuck; the dough was very sticky and I had to flour my hands quite often. Thank you for an amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft, Spicy, Heavenly Ginger Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1002 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 102.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes