Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Scrub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Scrub

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2012

      I had all but given up trying to find an effective product to clean the bathtubs until I found this recipe. I used ever faithful 20 Mule Team Borax, Mrs. Meyer's dish soap with lavender scent and about 6 drops of Aura Cacia Sweet Orange Essential oil. This worked very well for the bathtubs, sinks, chrome fixtures, shower caddy and toilets. It's easy, cheap and quick to make up a batch and cost mere pennies. My lungs were grateful, too. These are also ingredients I always have on hand especially the borax because I use it to make homemade laundry detergent. THANK YOU for posting the recipe and I'll be sure to forward it to family members and friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      I used 20 Mule Team Borax and Murphy's Oil Soap without the essential oil and it worked great on my white kitchen sink and stove. Also put a dab or two on a damp cloth to wipe down my can opener, toaster, etc. and everything is shiny and clean. Cant wait to take this upstairs and give it a try in the bathroom. Made and reviewed for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I used Dr Bronners Peppermint soap, and it did a terrific job on the hard water stains in my tub without having to resort to lung-roasting chemicals. Thanks very much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      I have been making my own soft scrub with this recipes for some time and forgot to review it. I love this! Since your recipe is essentially two parts borax to one part liquid soap, I often just mix-up what I need for the task. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      After making some laundry soap today I decided to give this recipe a try. While I will never be someone who dances around the house cleaning this did make me smile. I used Murphy's oil soap and didn't bother with essential oils - it smells just fine the way it is. So far I used it on the kitchen sink and counters and I'm tickled pink. It works as well or better than the commercial scrubs yet is non toxic and costs pennies. I'm really impressed - thanks for posting this gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This is wonderful, very easy and most importantly, it's GREEN! With Murphy's, which I used this time, no additional scent is needed. I think I'll try Dr. Bronner's liquid (unscented) next time and experiment with different oils. Thanks so much for this great recipe, Sully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      My bathroom was screaming for this, so I made it. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

    • on October 28, 2009

      Excellent recipe. It works great for one cleaning of kitchen, bathroom sink plus the shower. I put in orange oil and it smells great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Wow it worked great on the sinks and stuff....didn't think it was much of a stove top cleaner but maybe my stove top is dirty than most LOL...will definately keep using this stuff...I used Dr.Bonners peppermermint as another person did sine I had it on hand and love the smell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Forget 5 stars...this recipe has gone well beyond that!!! I will never buy commercial toilet bowl cleaners again, after using this!!! I tried them all and they just didn't work!!! So...out came the "heavy duty" rubber gloves, an Magic Eraser...a little elbow grease and this wiped out tough stubborn stains that was forever present. This is not just for bathrooms, but can be used elsewhere in the house! It is pretty bad when you can get excited about really clean toilets...but here I am!!! Thank you for making life just a little simpler!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      OMG Thank You!!! I had a spot of melted plastic wrap on my ceramic stovetop and this took it off...whoosh and it was gone! :) AND my cooktop hasn't looked this good since I bought it. Your Soft Scrub works 100% better than the store bought products. I'll be trying this on everything, but I was so excited about my cooktop I had to sit down and write a review immediately.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      wow it sure work effectively ... love it.... but dries out rather fast... i wish i could figure out on how to fix it so it would not dry out

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I made this for my BF to really get the grime off his hands when he has been working on his various "fix it up" jobs around the house. Really does get the grime off his hands without excess scrubbing or using some kind of solvent based cleaner. I like to add in orange EO as this really does help to dissolve grease... Thanks for sharing...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Fantastic!!! I used Lemon scented liquid dish soap and it smelled good...I felt no need for essential oils! Thanks for making cleaning (everything!) easier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Wow. It really does work. My sink is shining, my stove top is shining, my pots and pans are shining. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Thanks Sully! This works great! I just moved into a home with a white Moenstone...(or something like that...I think it's a composite of some kind) and it marks up so easily from pans, and stains just as easily from tea and coffee...seems I've had to clean it about every day since I've been here...ugh. This worked really well on getting it sparkling clean. The silver marks from the pans took just a little elbow grease, but..that's ok, so would anything else and I love that it's non-abrasive. I was really puzzled at what to use and now I have the perfect thing! Works great in the bathrooms too. The other great thing about this cleanser is it doesn't stink to high heaven like those you buy so your hands won't smell like cleanser for the rest of the day :-) I didn't use the essential oil, but I may try that in the future. I think the Murphy's smells good...so the scent without the essential oil didn't bother me at all. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      Worked great. I used lemon essential oil and it smells wonderfully clean in my kitchen now. Even got the icky crud out from around the drain! Yeah! Thanks Sully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      Wow! I just cleaned my whole kitchen and anything that can inspire me to do that is a winner! LOL! I used prepared as directed by the recipe, using a liquid soap for hands. It did great! For future preparations of this mix, I will try Dawn or Murphy's Oil soap and also plan on trying some essential oils! Great stuff and now I have borax on hand to use in many different ways, as Sully pointed out to me! Read the box! DH was even impressed as he "watched" me clean! LOL! I don't plan on buying any more Soft Scrub type products, will just make my own! Easy and cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      This stuff is fantastic. I'm actually looking for things to clean now. So much cheaper and so much better than stour bought

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Scrub

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid soap

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites