24 Reviews

I had all but given up trying to find an effective product to clean the bathtubs until I found this recipe. I used ever faithful 20 Mule Team Borax, Mrs. Meyer's dish soap with lavender scent and about 6 drops of Aura Cacia Sweet Orange Essential oil. This worked very well for the bathtubs, sinks, chrome fixtures, shower caddy and toilets. It's easy, cheap and quick to make up a batch and cost mere pennies. My lungs were grateful, too. These are also ingredients I always have on hand especially the borax because I use it to make homemade laundry detergent. THANK YOU for posting the recipe and I'll be sure to forward it to family members and friends.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 03, 2012

I used 20 Mule Team Borax and Murphy's Oil Soap without the essential oil and it worked great on my white kitchen sink and stove. Also put a dab or two on a damp cloth to wipe down my can opener, toaster, etc. and everything is shiny and clean. Cant wait to take this upstairs and give it a try in the bathroom. Made and reviewed for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 22, 2012

I used Dr Bronners Peppermint soap, and it did a terrific job on the hard water stains in my tub without having to resort to lung-roasting chemicals. Thanks very much for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti599 February 06, 2009

I have been making my own soft scrub with this recipes for some time and forgot to review it. I love this! Since your recipe is essentially two parts borax to one part liquid soap, I often just mix-up what I need for the task. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phat & Sassy April 24, 2013

After making some laundry soap today I decided to give this recipe a try. While I will never be someone who dances around the house cleaning this did make me smile. I used Murphy's oil soap and didn't bother with essential oils - it smells just fine the way it is. So far I used it on the kitchen sink and counters and I'm tickled pink. It works as well or better than the commercial scrubs yet is non toxic and costs pennies. I'm really impressed - thanks for posting this gem!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned May 30, 2012

This is wonderful, very easy and most importantly, it's GREEN! With Murphy's, which I used this time, no additional scent is needed. I think I'll try Dr. Bronner's liquid (unscented) next time and experiment with different oils. Thanks so much for this great recipe, Sully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poodle-icious! December 15, 2009

My bathroom was screaming for this, so I made it. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng November 28, 2009

Excellent recipe. It works great for one cleaning of kitchen, bathroom sink plus the shower. I put in orange oil and it smells great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 28, 2009

Wow it worked great on the sinks and stuff....didn't think it was much of a stove top cleaner but maybe my stove top is dirty than most LOL...will definately keep using this stuff...I used Dr.Bonners peppermermint as another person did sine I had it on hand and love the smell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HatesTooCook March 08, 2009
Soft Scrub