12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Initially made this because I needed it for another recipe, but will make this again. Thnx for posting, Marie. Made for KcK's Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter October 10, 2010

Another wonderful bread recipe! We added 1tsp caraway seed and replaced rye with wheat flour. Excellent slightly sweet bread. Not quite a true pumpernickel but you could add cocoa powder and more molasses if you wanted to get closer to pumpernickel. This one is excellent as-is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Dad April 10, 2010

Yummy! My husband recently informed me that pumpernickel bread was missing from his life, so the recipe browsing began. I liked that this one was fairly simple and also low fat, so away I went. I did double the molasses to make it darker and more pumpernickelly, and it came out wonderfully. I let it rise overnight in the fridge, then baked for 30 minutes in a glass loaf pan. Mmm. Thanks, Marie. It's a keeper. **Update: I have made this a half dozen times in the past couple of months, and it makes really excellent dinner rolls. One thing to be careful of is the baking time. This bread is incredibly dense, and I really recommend using a digital thermometer to test for doneness. I have had good luck baking it to 206-209 degrees, which usually takes between 30 and 40 minutes. **Bonus: I used this dough to make a ham/swiss/sauerkraut stromboli for dinner last night and it was so good IT IS KILLING ME. I can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. September 14, 2009

Awesome bread recipe. My dad raved about it. He even gave his brother and wife a little taste. I say little cause he wanted the rest for himself. Will be making again and again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimmy Kay April 25, 2009

Wonderful bread. My husband and I sat down and ate almost the entire loaf as soon as it came out of the oven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shandywyatt2 April 05, 2009

Very good! Reminds me of the bread you often get at steak restaurants. Similar to Outback Steahouse, but lighter in color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez February 04, 2008

Loved it! I can eat the entire loaf by myself fresh out of the oven. As other reviewers have stated, I let mine rise longer than the recipe states since I like lighter bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mindasu October 06, 2006

This was good, but I prefer the darker colored pumpernickle...so, the light color was a factor for me. The flavor was mild ...not quite as intense as the purchased varieties. I also found this to be a little more dense than I like. I should've read the previous review which mentioned letting it rise a bit longer. I love the fact this is so low fat. Thanks :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate September 08, 2006

Loved this. I couldn't find rye flour, so used whole wheat instead, and it was still delicious. Thanks~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin June 14, 2005

I made as directed and the bread still came out a little "heavy" as Denise in da Kitchen mentioned. It had a very good flavor though. Next time I'll try to let it rise a little longer than the 30 minutes. I think I'll add some sunflower seeds, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge October 23, 2004
Soft Pumpernickel Bread (abm)