Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Pretzels (For Bread Machines) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Pretzels (For Bread Machines)

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2002

      These pretzels are wonderful and fairly easy to make. The hardest part for me was trying to form the pretzel into shape. I absolutely loved them and will be using the recipe frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Made these the first time on Saturday. Made another batch today to freeze. Very good. I only used the dough setting on my bread machine and i dipped each pretzel 3 times in the baking soda water mixture. I found they freeze very well also. Just pull them out of the freezer and microwave for 30 seconds and you have a hot soft pretzel. My kids loved them and so did my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      YUM!!! I had never made pretzels before, and these were easy to do! I made nuggets, instead of the traditional shape. I made 60 nuggets (split them into the 12 as directed, and then cut each of those into five). I baked them for five minutes, turned the pan and baked for five more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I love this recipe. My husband and I wrap the dough around hot dogs cut into thirds before the rising process,then follow the recipe as normal. We take them to picnics and family get-togethers.
      Everyone loves the pretzel dogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      These are delicious and soooo easy (though I did have a little problem making the pretzel shape). I used 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour with 1.5 of all purpose flour, and threw in a little bit of wheat germ. The texture is fantastic. I will make a double recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Oh my goodness these are SO GOOD! I was worried they wouldn't turn out, or would be tough because I've never made anything like them, but they were PERFECT! Thank you so much!!! I did leave them to rise for almost 2 hours on the bare counter because I got caught up in making dinner and tending to my children, but they rose up nice and puffy just like that pretzel place at malls. Be sure not to add the egg white to your bread dough, I was a little confused at first. And don't forget that you'll need 1/3 cup of baking soda (it's not in the ingredients list). I had to bake one sheet of them 2.5 minutes longer but they were outstanding. My DH said I should make a double batch next time :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2011

      For a first time pretzel maker, these we terrific - easy to make and really delicous. Unlike most reviewers, I had no issues rolling the dough and making the shapes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2011

      The first time I made these I tried to make the shape... umm... I failed. Then I made pretzel nubbins. Those turned out fantastic and were easy to share and freeze. I made these again last weekend and split the dough into 8 pcs and made some very large pretzel buns. I think I can split them even further and get 16 normal sized buns. Soooooo good. I could eat these for every meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      WOW!!! made these with my daughter and we love them. It was quite the production too, as we stopped at Sams Club and bought nacho cheese and marinara...she wanted the whole experience. Compared to the Pretzelmaker at the Mall these are just as good! The soda/water is a necessary step if you want your pretzels to be BEAUTIFUL and look professional! Plus there is that last added depth of flavor that put these over the top!!! Thank you, Kimmie, and all the other reviewers who gave me the confidence to try something new!!! I love food.com!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was amazing! I made them into nuggets to dip into fondue (Rachel Ray's Cheddar Beer Fondue) and they were wonderful! The only thing I did different was to add an extra 2 minutes to the baking time so they would brown a little more. I would also suggest spraying the cookie sheet again after the soda water step - I didn't and they stuck a little. Nice Recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      I have not tried this recipe yet. I will do it tomorrow but I was going to say that I would take the dough out and wrap it around some all beef franks and then water bath and bake. Just like the pretzel dogs at the pretzel shop at the mall. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      KimmieOH If i could 10 star this recipe i would....made these this afternoon and i have already been asked to make another batch! I dipped mine in cinnamon and sugar and then made a sweet glaze with Cream, vanilla and icing sugar to drizzle on them SO GOOD

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      These are awesome! I grew up just outside of Philly and have some really good soft pretzels. These rate up with them and you can make them for so cheap..when you buy them you could pay up to $10 for as many as this makes. Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I joined today just to leave a review. These pretzels deserve all 5 stars plus! I do agree with another poster that the dough was a bit stiff and seemed to slow down the bread machine. I poured in 1/4 cup more water and that solved the problem. Although it made a mess in the bread machine! I wasn't sure if the egg white in the ingredient list was supposed to go in the bread machine or was used as the glaze. That might explain the missing moisture in the dough. These are absolutely great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Well done. Rock salt a must, timing is perfect at 4 minutes, rotate, 4 minutes, then out. Just like being at the ball game...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This recipe made great pretzels...after I had made some serious adjustments to the recipe. First, I had no idea what the "manual" setting was for my Breadman Plus machine... I ran it on dough cycle. But this didn't work because the dough was so stiff that my motor was burning up. After adding 1/4 cup more of water it worked a little better. Also, the twisting instructions were royally confusing..."cross ends, twist twice and connect to other side" is much simpler. I used olive oil instead of an egg wash, which was equally good. Like I said, great result, but necessitated major adjustments.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      These pretzels are SOOOO good. They really do rival the ones you can get at the mall, which really suprised me. I need to work on the presentation a little bit (looked more like a twisted circle than a pretzel), but the taste more than made up for it. The only thing that I had to change was the egg wash. I had just run out of eggs, so instead I used a little "I can't believe it's not butter" spray on top right before putting it in the oven and they came out fabulous. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

      Well - I just reviewed this recipe about two weeks ago but I realised that my review wasn't really helpful to anyone that hasn't got a bread machine or done a great deal of breadmaking. This produces the most lovely pretzels...I have made the recipe 5 times in two weeks!!! I mixed the sugar and yeast with just-warm water (one part hot to three parts cold) and let it sit for ten minutes until the yeast was really foamy.I put the flour, salt and oil in my benchmixer (could easily be mixed in a bowl and then kneaded for ten minutes)then I added the yeast mixture to the flour.I mixed it on low speed for five minutes then left the dough for 40-50 minutes until it was doubled in size. I continued then from step 4. My whole family loves this recipe...they are wonderfully soft and sort of chewy....the dough,when cooked, is awesome.I'm getting to be quite an expert at rolling them and don't need to wet my hands anymore. Totally love the recipe and can see myself making these pretzels forever.lol. Thanks KimmieOH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2005

      These are really, really great pretzels! The dough was a little dry when I was trying to roll it out, so I took a little bowl of water and dipped my fingers i it and brushed a little water on the rolling surface. That made handeling the dough much easier. I followed the recipe exactly, but let me warn you.. a little course salt goes a very long way!I won't put nearly as much salt on mine next time. Also, on a few of them I added some parmesan, mozzarella and pepperoni (trying to duplicate Wetzels Pretzels pepperoni pretzel). It was delicious! I also made some of the dough into pretzel bites, which was a hit with my kids. Thanks for sharing this easy and fun recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      I'm making my second batch, but don't know what I'm doing wrong. They raise great and look awesome? until I dip them into the boiling soda water. I wait 10 sec, flip for 10 more and when I gently scoop them out (strainer scoop) they flatten! They look like deflated balls. I put a pan of water in the oven while I bake them to help raise them again and it helps, but I don't think they're supposed to flatten that way. Anyone else have this problem?? I have 4 stars because they still taste great! We made a criss cross cut on top and stuffed cheese into them and toasted to melt? so, so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Pretzels (For Bread Machines)

    Serving Size: 1 (713 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 211.8
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    16%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 154.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites