52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These pretzels are wonderful and fairly easy to make. The hardest part for me was trying to form the pretzel into shape. I absolutely loved them and will be using the recipe frequently.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rather Be Cookin' November 27, 2002

Made these the first time on Saturday. Made another batch today to freeze. Very good. I only used the dough setting on my bread machine and i dipped each pretzel 3 times in the baking soda water mixture. I found they freeze very well also. Just pull them out of the freezer and microwave for 30 seconds and you have a hot soft pretzel. My kids loved them and so did my husband.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heathermaeg March 14, 2011

YUM!!! I had never made pretzels before, and these were easy to do! I made nuggets, instead of the traditional shape. I made 60 nuggets (split them into the 12 as directed, and then cut each of those into five). I baked them for five minutes, turned the pan and baked for five more.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sisty Gin February 02, 2011

These are delicious and soooo easy (though I did have a little problem making the pretzel shape). I used 1.5 cups of whole wheat flour with 1.5 of all purpose flour, and threw in a little bit of wheat germ. The texture is fantastic. I will make a double recipe next time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty #3 May 14, 2009

I love this recipe. My husband and I wrap the dough around hot dogs cut into thirds before the rising process,then follow the recipe as normal. We take them to picnics and family get-togethers.
Everyone loves the pretzel dogs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qnmary October 10, 2011

Recipe turned out nicely (though the household agreed, they were good, but they were 'missing something', we just couldn't figure out what!). However, the instructions were a little confusing and could use a brief rewrite! However, the pretzels were a success and there are none left!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatCaptJim April 23, 2012

Oh my goodness these are SO GOOD! I was worried they wouldn't turn out, or would be tough because I've never made anything like them, but they were PERFECT! Thank you so much!!! I did leave them to rise for almost 2 hours on the bare counter because I got caught up in making dinner and tending to my children, but they rose up nice and puffy just like that pretzel place at malls. Be sure not to add the egg white to your bread dough, I was a little confused at first. And don't forget that you'll need 1/3 cup of baking soda (it's not in the ingredients list). I had to bake one sheet of them 2.5 minutes longer but they were outstanding. My DH said I should make a double batch next time :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 01, 2012

For a first time pretzel maker, these we terrific - easy to make and really delicous. Unlike most reviewers, I had no issues rolling the dough and making the shapes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaisedByCats September 18, 2011

The first time I made these I tried to make the shape... umm... I failed. Then I made pretzel nubbins. Those turned out fantastic and were easy to share and freeze. I made these again last weekend and split the dough into 8 pcs and made some very large pretzel buns. I think I can split them even further and get 16 normal sized buns. Soooooo good. I could eat these for every meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 09, 2011

WOW!!! made these with my daughter and we love them. It was quite the production too, as we stopped at Sams Club and bought nacho cheese and marinara...she wanted the whole experience. Compared to the Pretzelmaker at the Mall these are just as good! The soda/water is a necessary step if you want your pretzels to be BEAUTIFUL and look professional! Plus there is that last added depth of flavor that put these over the top!!! Thank you, Kimmie, and all the other reviewers who gave me the confidence to try something new!!! I love food.com!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 January 09, 2011
Soft Pretzels (For Bread Machines)