53 Reviews

Fantastic! I have never made polenta, just bought it in tubes. I have also never eaten it soft out of the oven, I usually fry it. This was easy, and I ate it soft and loved it that way.
I didn't have chicken stock, so I added a bouillion cube to some water, and it turned out great. An excellent side dish!
Update- this has gone into our regular rotation as a side dish. I have made it many many times. The consistency can be adjusted according to how much liquid is added, and if you make it firm, you can slice it and fry it the next day. YUM. I also add sharp cheddar or another strongly flavored cheese and it makes it better.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali August 22, 2011

Fantastic polenta. A little on the salty side, but I did use a full strength vegetable broth - I will cut with water, as suggested by others, next time. I also spiced it up a bit with garlic, basil, pepper, and a dash of cayenne pepper. Added in an italian blend of cheese and I'm done. Delicious - thanks for the staple recipe!! I'm looking forward to letting it firm up and grilling etc.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie_Girl December 28, 2009

This turned out great! I used half chicken broth, half water and just added a sprinkling of seasoned salt. Also used colby jack cheese and added half can of green chilies. Cooked for about 45 minutes. Perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas July 02, 2013

This was my first time making polenta...pretty good! I took the advice of others and only used 1/2 the broth but next time I will use the full amount and probably more seasoning too. Thanks for posting. This was a nice change from the usual grain.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama April 28, 2010

I will never make polenta on the stovetop again! This is sooo much easier. I followed the recipe exactly, and my only comment is that after 40 min., the polenta was still very runny. I put it back in for another 15, and presto chango it was perfect. We sauteed some bell peppers and onions, nuked some breakfast sausage, and tossed it all on top. Thanks for posting this one! UPDATE: Made this a 2nd time, and it definitely needs a full hour in the oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish December 01, 2009

The Polenta was creamy and the perfect texture, but never ever would I have added that much cheese again!!! I wish I would have read the other reviews where they added less cheese, or added it to taste at the table. I used homemade chicken broth and very good and expensive parmesan cheese and I felt like I wasted two good ingredients because the cheese was just way too much. I will try to salvage it by cubing it and adding it to other dishes. If I were to follow this receipt again, I would use 1/4 cup of cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
belasea February 15, 2015

Had never made polenta at home but had it at a restaurant recently and it was delicious so I wanted to try. This was a great, easy recipe and with the other reviewer tips came out very well. I used a 32oz low sodium veg broth to save the trouble mixing with water. (Not hard I know but just as easy to purchase so...). I also only grated in about 1/4-1/2 cup of pecorino Romano and even that was a bit too much. One of the great things about polenta is its blandness to go with a more flavorful counterpart. I used hodgeson mills course cornmeal and cooked for 45 min then added the cheese, stirred, and cooked another 5 min as instructed. Very good and scary easy. A little less cheese next time and it was e perfect match to "Kelly's crock pot "smoked" beef roast" (for which I subbed worstechire for liquid smoke and halved the salt). Dinner was almost no effort at all. Great weeknight meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
healthyrecipenut August 12, 2014

I am a newbie at polenta. Never eaten it and never made it. I was looking for polenta at my local market and they didn't have any and I needed polenta for Creamy Mexican Bake that I had tagged in PRMR, so when I did a search for polenta and found your quick and simple recipe it was a no brainer. Man, am I glad that I tagged that recipe, because I found new family favorite. I used sharp cheddar, as that is what was called for, but believe this would be excellent with any good quality cheese. I needed to make this recipe quickly, so I didn't read any of the other reviews, but agree that the broth flavor was very pronounced and in the future, I will also dilute it with water. Besides that, no changes will be made. I'm certainly glad that I found this recipe before I slaved over a pot, stirring unril my arm fell off. Thanks so much ClareVH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElizabethKnicely March 09, 2014

I made this using exact stated amounts of liquids and polenta. I did use half chicken stock and half water. The only thing I did differently was to bring the mixture to a boil on the stove before placing in the oven. It was perfectly done in 45 minutes. I added 3/4 cup of Parmesan. It was delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauratarlo February 03, 2014

Delicious. I fried my leftover polenta and served it with leftover spaghetti sauce and meatballs. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey Bear Clare January 31, 2014
Soft Oven Polenta