Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Oven Polenta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Oven Polenta

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2011

      Fantastic! I have never made polenta, just bought it in tubes. I have also never eaten it soft out of the oven, I usually fry it. This was easy, and I ate it soft and loved it that way.
      I didn't have chicken stock, so I added a bouillion cube to some water, and it turned out great. An excellent side dish!
      Update- this has gone into our regular rotation as a side dish. I have made it many many times. The consistency can be adjusted according to how much liquid is added, and if you make it firm, you can slice it and fry it the next day. YUM. I also add sharp cheddar or another strongly flavored cheese and it makes it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      Fantastic polenta. A little on the salty side, but I did use a full strength vegetable broth - I will cut with water, as suggested by others, next time. I also spiced it up a bit with garlic, basil, pepper, and a dash of cayenne pepper. Added in an italian blend of cheese and I'm done. Delicious - thanks for the staple recipe!! I'm looking forward to letting it firm up and grilling etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2013

      This turned out great! I used half chicken broth, half water and just added a sprinkling of seasoned salt. Also used colby jack cheese and added half can of green chilies. Cooked for about 45 minutes. Perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This was my first time making polenta...pretty good! I took the advice of others and only used 1/2 the broth but next time I will use the full amount and probably more seasoning too. Thanks for posting. This was a nice change from the usual grain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I will never make polenta on the stovetop again! This is sooo much easier. I followed the recipe exactly, and my only comment is that after 40 min., the polenta was still very runny. I put it back in for another 15, and presto chango it was perfect. We sauteed some bell peppers and onions, nuked some breakfast sausage, and tossed it all on top. Thanks for posting this one! UPDATE: Made this a 2nd time, and it definitely needs a full hour in the oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      Had never made polenta at home but had it at a restaurant recently and it was delicious so I wanted to try. This was a great, easy recipe and with the other reviewer tips came out very well. I used a 32oz low sodium veg broth to save the trouble mixing with water. (Not hard I know but just as easy to purchase so...). I also only grated in about 1/4-1/2 cup of pecorino Romano and even that was a bit too much. One of the great things about polenta is its blandness to go with a more flavorful counterpart. I used hodgeson mills course cornmeal and cooked for 45 min then added the cheese, stirred, and cooked another 5 min as instructed. Very good and scary easy. A little less cheese next time and it was e perfect match to "Kelly's crock pot "smoked" beef roast" (for which I subbed worstechire for liquid smoke and halved the salt). Dinner was almost no effort at all. Great weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I am a newbie at polenta. Never eaten it and never made it. I was looking for polenta at my local market and they didn't have any and I needed polenta for Creamy Mexican Bake that I had tagged in PRMR, so when I did a search for polenta and found your quick and simple recipe it was a no brainer. Man, am I glad that I tagged that recipe, because I found new family favorite. I used sharp cheddar, as that is what was called for, but believe this would be excellent with any good quality cheese. I needed to make this recipe quickly, so I didn't read any of the other reviews, but agree that the broth flavor was very pronounced and in the future, I will also dilute it with water. Besides that, no changes will be made. I'm certainly glad that I found this recipe before I slaved over a pot, stirring unril my arm fell off. Thanks so much ClareVH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2014

      I made this using exact stated amounts of liquids and polenta. I did use half chicken stock and half water. The only thing I did differently was to bring the mixture to a boil on the stove before placing in the oven. It was perfectly done in 45 minutes. I added 3/4 cup of Parmesan. It was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Delicious. I fried my leftover polenta and served it with leftover spaghetti sauce and meatballs. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      Love polenta made this way.The texture is smoother.My family adds muenster cheese.Makes it nice and creamy.Serve with red sauce.Deliciosa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

    • on October 14, 2012

      made it with a whole carton of chicken broth but tasted waaaay too brothy. would probably cut it down a little bit with water or use less broth. otherwise it's very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Wow. Who knew you could make delicious polenta in the oven?? This recipe is a winner in all ways. It was sooo incredibly easy and sooo tasty. I used coarse stone ground cornmeal for a heartier, earthier taste. Then I used 3 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of heavy cream. It took a full hour in the oven to get the perfect consistency. Towards the end of baking, I added 3 Tablespoons of marina sauce for an extra kick. I also added black pepper. The cheese I stirred in at the end was parmesan. It was sinfully rich and went beautifully with my bbq shrimp!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      This is way too easy to be so good! Effortless and stunning. Creamy and perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      Followed directions exactly as written, polenta was very liquidy returned it to the oven for another 25 minutes and it was nice and soft, not watery. Did not like the bleu cheese flavor, will stick to parmesan or romano in the future. Really liked the oven idea and will use again, but change the cook time and type of cheese used the next time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      I used water instead of broth and omitted the cheese to use this recipe for multiple purposes. I served it hot as a side dish with ribs and greens. Later, I heated leftovers up with a little brown sugar and milk to make tasty porridge. This recipe is so easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      Great recipe! Thanks. I love polenta, but hate all the stirring and splattering of the stove top version.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      Well, I have never made polenta before. I have witnessed my Dad making it stove top, and yes, it does look like a lot of work, continuous stirring. Well, I can say this was definitely easy, mix and bake. My Dad always used parmesan or pecorino romano cheese, so that is what I used, I guess because that is what I am used to. I did not use a cup of cheese, much less (just trying to cut calories). I made this polenta and served topped with pasta sauce. Not difficult at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      Delicious! Have never made polenta this way, and I'm glad I tried this recipe. I used seasoned salt, just because I prefer the flavor, and two cans of chicken broth for the liquid. I cooked some green beans and stewed tomatoes to go over the top of this. Lovely. Next time I'll just mix it in my casserole dish, as I mistakenly thought this needed to be mixed in a bowl first. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Oven Polenta

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.3
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    42%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 890.2 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes