Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Molasses Spice Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Molasses Spice Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2009

      Original review Dec07: I hate to give a low review, but I really don't care for these all that much. I usually love molasses cookies, but these were too much spice and not enough sweet for me. The texture was excellent (I rolled them in small balls and then in granulated sugar rather than rolling and cutting out), and they were very easy to make. I just think less molasses and probably more sugar would have been more to my taste. They are definitely not bad, just didn't work out so well for me. Sorry! New: I gave these another chance, and I'm glad I did! Last time I had organic molasses, and this time I had regular processed, and it made all the difference in the world!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I like that this made a nice, chewy cookie without shortening. The spices are great, and I might even add more another time. I like the less-sweet taste; rolled in sugar you taste sweet first, then spicy second. This recipe worked well for me using 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour. I used a smidge of blackstrap molasses (I long ago learned not to substitute the entire amount of molasses with blackstrap!!). Funny, when you need kids to help, they don't seem to mind rolling cookies and coating them in sugar! Just don't feed them baked cookies from the first batch until all cookies have been rolled! **Update** 8 days later, these cookies are still soft (from the cookie jar) and so incredible! The spice combo is perfect, as is the sweetness. Yes, 8 days is a long time for us to keep cookies in our jar, but we have to be self-controlled sometime!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I was craving something sweet the other night and realized I was out of eggs so I went searching. I'm so glad I found this recipe. These little cookies are the perfect combination of sweet, spicy and salty. I also made mine into balls and rolled in sugar and baked them for 12 minutes. I froze half the dough for a sweet snack mid-week. These are going in the favorites folder. Thank you Rinder!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I LOVE these cookies! I picked this recipe because it was the only one that didn't call for shortening (which I didn't have) and it seemed to use less sugar than the others. I made it a little more healthy by subbing whole wheat flour for most of the white flour and by adding wheat germ. I doubled the ginger and also added extra cinammon. Like the other posters, I rolled them in white sugar instead of using cookie cutters. Yum yum, will make this again next time I want something sweet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Sweet, simple and good. What more do you need in a cookie. Like most reviewers I rolled and rolled mine in sugar. I'm not sure if it was the local weather today but I did need a use a bit more flour than called for (maybe sightly less than 1/2 cup total). Next time I make this I will up the ginger, I like mine to be a little spicier. Over all a wonderful cookie. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Absolutely magnificent. They're very, very soft, with good form - they baked so perfectly. A nice balance of sweet and spicy - not too much of either. Thank you so much for this recipe. I rolled them into balls and then in sugar, though. It made six dozen that way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      These cookies were great. I'd never worked w/ molasses before so don't know if they're always so difficult to work with, but look forward to trying again. I dusted the tops with sifted powdered sugar to keep them from sticking to one another when stacked AND to make them look pretty. I made mine vegan with vanilla soy milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      These are great cookies! We had fun cutting these into fall leaf, pumpkin and apple shapes. I served these with Nurse Di's Pumpkin Pie Dip, Pumpkin Pie Dip, and also took some of the extra's to my daughter's preschool for snacktime, where they were gobbled right up, the teacher said they loved them! Made as directed, except I sprinkled a little sugar on the tops before baking. Sissy wants the recipe now, her kids loved them! Betcha there will be some gingerbread men made with this! lol!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      These are the best Cookies! Exactly like the old fashioned ginger cookies from years ago. Nice and spicy with that bite that molasses cookies should have! Thanks for a great cookie recipe and a keeper Rinder ; )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      It was hard to figure out how to rate these cookies... My father-in-law couldn't quit eating them & I won 3rd place in the county fair! However, personally, I thought the molasses overpowered all the spice flavour and didn't think they were sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      When I left home at 18 years old,(in 1970) I took the Robin Hood recipe book with me. These were always a favourite, but I got something sweet stuck to the page, making it unreadable, and couldn't make them any more. So I just found the recipe again, using a search engine, on your site, made them this evening, walking down memory lane and loving those great molasses hands. The very best. Thanks, Robin Hood, thanks food.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      Scrumptious soft ,wonderful spicy cookies.Very easy to make. My family wants them in the cookie jars at all times. Thank you for these great cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Molasses Spice Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1795 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 118.7
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    25%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites