Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Molasses Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Molasses Cookies

    Average Rating:

    273 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 273

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2005

      These are so good! I love a soft cookie and this cookie has the "perfect" texture. I made a full recipe of cookies and baked half and froze half. I didn't chill the cookies at all before scooping them out on the baking stone and they came out just fine and look exactly like the pictures posted. BTW, they freeze beautifully! I didn't roll the ones I froze in sugar until right before baking. They baked frozen at 350F for about 12 minutes in my oven. Thanks Shirl for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      Great but made awesome by adding chocolate chips. This will become our families fall cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I normally fail at baking, but these are fool proof. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      I didn't have allspice on hand so that was the one ingredient I was missing. These were ok, but I wasn't super excited about them. I don't know if was the lack of allspice or if it was just the recipe in general, but I don't get a super strong molasses flavor while I was eating them, it came as more of an aftertaste. To me they came out more like ginger snaps. I'll try them again sometime and make sure I have allspice and see if they turn out better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Great recipe. I doubled the recipe and made a few substitutions, but still amazing! The doubled recipe called for 1 1/2 cup of shortening. I used one stick of butter and one cup of applesauce. I also used half white flour and half wheat flour. These are so good! I will definitely be making these again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      These really are addictive! I agree with the suggestion to cut the salt, there is just a bit too much for me with the full teaspoon. Be sure cool the dough so it won't be sticky when you roll. Then get your kids to scrub up and roll up!<br/><br/>We started out with munchkin size, but settled on large gum ball size. It was super easy for the kids to roll and they liked to roll the balls in the sugar. The balls do not spread too much, so you can fit more on a tray than other cookies.<br/><br/>I imagine these would do well in the freezer if they even make to the plate. Ours seemed to disappear on the way from the cooling rack to the Tupperware. The rest went to the church coffee hour so I wouldn't gobble them up and they were gone in a flash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Everyone loved these - they were the most popular item on my cookie tray! I used butter rather than shortening and it worked great. I also added a bit more cinnamon and rolled the balls in cinnamon sugar. I baked for 9 minutes and let them cool a bit before removing from the cookie sheet so they wouldn't break. The dough freezes well too, no difference between the cookies made from fresh and those made from thawed dough. This is definitely on my make again list, thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      These were AWESOME!!!! My husband and son couldn't stop eating them. I'm making a new batch today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      I made these as listed, but did not refrigerate before baking and they were still yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Wow, just what I was looking for, the comments say it all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      Excellent! Perfect spice and LOVE the texture. They are good out of the oven, but are great after a little time. Thanks for this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      This was the first time I had ever made molasses cookies. The recipe sounded easy enough so I gave it a try. WOW was I impressed! Absolutely love these. My husband said it was a "magical little cookie" and my kids love them as well. Total winner! Will be a permanent favorite recipe in our house from now on. I followed the recipe exactly and the only problem I had was discovering my oven was hotter on one side (I had two pans on the same rack). Other than that, the cookies were perfectly chewy on the outside and soft in the center. Can't wait to share these with other family! Wait...there is one other problem with these--it's hard to stop eating them and walk away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      well, I suppose I shouldn't be surprised these are so good after all the great reviews, but I am not a great baker and these turned out perfectly! Made them exactly as the recipe is written by request of my mom who wanted me to use the molasses she had in her cabinet. I'll be making these again to be sure! Thanks Shirl (J) for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Not that you really need another 5 star review LOL...however, this recipe deserves it! These will really good and I would make them in a heartbeat! I followed the directions...sugar and all lol...used only 1/2 tsp of salt as we are watching sodium intake...FANTASTIC!!! Thanks for posting this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

      Cookies turned out flat and didn't seemed cooked all the way through. Put in the exact measurements for all the ingredients. I believe that 1/2 cup is WAY too much molasses as other recipes call for about 2 teaspoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I make these cookies every fall/winter. They are easy fast and SO GOOD. Perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      YUMMM! this one's going in my permanent file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Made these today, using butter instead of shortening. Family loved it! Ate them for dessert and they are gone! BTW, family is adult children in their 30s!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      This is a winner. I baked this for a youth group and they were gone almost instantly. I substituted butter for the shortening, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and they came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I made these completely as written. I did use half dark brown sugar and half light brown sugar since it didn't specify and I couldn't decide :P They came out perfectly. I cannot stay out of them. The dough was easy to work with. I managed to get 39 decent sized cookies. Pretty close. One of the easiest, most delicious cookies I've made. Haven't had much success with molasses cookies, so I'm a really happy camper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Molasses Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 42

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    34%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 92.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites