Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Molasses Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Molasses Cookies

    Average Rating:

    277 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 277

    Sort by:

    • on May 15, 2010

      BEST MOLASSES COOKIES EVER!!! Yes, I am that excited about these. I didn't have allspice and nutmeg, so I just added cinnamon and ginger. I subbed 3/4 cup vegetable oil for the shortening, and they turned out great! Everyone loved them, even my brother, who hates molasses. :) Will definitely make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      Yum!! These are fantastic...my 2.5yr old twins LOVED the dough! I have one rack of cookies left..still warm..& I'm sure they'll be gone before bedtime. I'm going to start another batch right away. I followed the recipe exactly..I love a spicy cookie & this as a to-die-for combo. I wouldn't call these super spicy--my girls don't like anything too spicy & they loved these. THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2003

      These barely made it into the cookie tin - they just flew off the cooling racks! I toned down all the spices by 1/2 tsp., and used just 1 tsp. baking soda. And I didn't roll them in sugar. They are just right - soft, spicy, with crisp edges. And going, going, gone! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      These cookies are amazing. My husband is a great baker and followed the recipe exactly except for using butter in lieu of shortening. We can't stop eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Wonderful cookies! Just what I was looking for. Soft with the PERFECT amount of spice. I made one change and that's to coat the cookies with Sugar In The Raw. This gives the cookies a nice crunchy texture vs. plain white sugar. Additional tips and photos for this recipe can be found on my cooking blog: http://redlab27.alissahebert.com/2012/08/molasses-spice-cookies.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      One word: Killer...Killer Killer KILLER! These cookies are fantastic. Easy to make, soft, chewy, and exquisitely spiced. I have used both Brer Rabbit Full Flavor and Mild Flavor Molasses, and prefer results with the Mild Flavor. For my palate, Mild Flavor produces the perfect flavor ratio of bitter to sweet, and also the color is more appealing. I rolled in 1" balls and baked for 9 minutes (at sea level). I never grease cookie sheets, as there's enough butter, margarine, oil, or shortening in any cookie recipe that the dough pretty much self-seasons the pan. Shirl(J)831, thank you for sharing this outstanding recipe. This is one I will use again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      These cookies were amazing! At first bite, I felt like I was 8 years old sitting on the folding step-stool in my Grandmother's kitchen. :) Sooooo Yummy!
      I used 3/4c of coconut oil instead of the shortening and used ground cloves instead of allspice (since I didn't have any). I also used unsulfured, blackstrap molasses, so they came out nice & dark! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      We have a winner! These cookies passed my litmus test with flying colors. Most cookies are good straight out of the oven. However, the really great ones are still tasty after they have been frozen. After 25 to 30 seconds in the microwave, these cookies were still full of spicy goodness. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      So yummy! They are barely cool enough to touch and already each of my children has eaten three. I got 49 cookies from this recipe.

      I did make a few slight changes: butter instead of shortening, and I added finely chopped crystalized ginger to the dough. Skipped the rolling in sugar part altogether, though next time I might pulverize the crystalized ginger and roll the cookies in them rather than adding it to the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I lost my original soft molasses cookies recipe and came across this one. Just made a double batch of these and they are yummmmo!! Only thing that I did differently was add more flour. The first batch came out really flat and the second was a lil better and the third even better, again after adding more flour. Will definitely make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Made these tonight and have to say they turned out wonderful. The cooking directions were right on!!! Love these with milk and they are nice and moist on the inside. I tried to remove the first batch as soon as the timer went off and realized supposed to wait a minute. They were perfect as were the cooking instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      Really good! I only made half the recipe. We're gluten free so i had to sub GF flour and I also subbed egg with applesauce. The cookies thinned out but it's still crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside. My dd loved them! I love them this way. thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      These are a great cookie and remind me of a "grandma" type cookie (though neither of my grandmothers made molasses cookies that I remember)! I used the full tsp of salt and went a little light on the spices (about 3/4 tsp each) and didn't roll them in sugar. I don't think they missed anything! I was actually looking for a slightly different cookie--but I've already eaten half a dozen of these! As a note, I chilled my dough for about 3 hours and it never did get what I would call firm, though it was easy to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      This is a fantastic molasses cookie recipe! The only substitution I made was butter for the solid shortening since my husband and I aren't fond of it. It wasn't necessary for me to refrigerate the dough because it was firm enough to roll into balls but this may have not been the case had it been a warmer day. I also used parchment paper to bake these on so no sticking and easy clean-up. This cookie is definitely one I will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      Wow, these are great! This joyously replaces my great-grandmother's recipe, which calls for a five-pound bag of flour and seven eggs and takes all freakin' day. I used a little cookie scoop to make them all the same size; I just dropped several at a time into a dish of sugar, rolled them around, and put them on the cookie sheet. I use the kind of sheet that has a layer of air between the metal layers; it is almost impossible to burn cookies that way. This is mentioned because I forgot the last sheet of cookies, having turned off the oven to let them finish cooking on stored heat. They became hard crunchy gingersnap-like DUNKING cookies! Wow! A mistake became wonderful, so now I make half soft and half crispy and please everyone. And the amount of salt was perfect. Yum, yum, thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      These cookies are DELICIOUS! I had never made or had molasses cookies before, but had a whole jar of molasses left over from a school project, so I thought I would try them. They are so easy to make and, unlike other cookies, are still soft and chewy the next day. I also substituted 3/4 cup canola oil for shortening and they seemed perfect. I liked them so much that my mom is going to make them using gluten-free flour! You definitely have to try these.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Delicious! The perfect cookie-soft and chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside. Yummy with a cup of tea!. 1/2 tsp salt was the right amount.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      First time making molasses cookies. I LOVED them! Great and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      These are very good cookies. I followed the recipe exactly and got beautiful looking cookies. I used a regular molasses and got the dark color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Just fantastic! Barely had them on the cooling rack before they were grabbed. Everyone loved them. Used fresh nutmeg, and everything else was the exact recipe. These are the old fashioned ones I grew up on. These are made at least 1 a week for friends and neighbors.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Molasses Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (24 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 42

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.6
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    34%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 4.4 mg
    1%
    Sodium 92.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes