14 Reviews

I was going to submit this recipe. But, to make sure I didn't double post a recipe I found this one. The only difference in this one and mine, is that mine uses 1 teaspoon of lemon juice as a dough enhancer. This is a very nice, soft, chewy bread with a very nice crust. Perfect for sandwiches. It has a nice flavor to it and although I have only used light colored beers I am sure darker beer would be just as good. The beer flavor is not noticable, if you don't mention it will go un-noticed. The beer adds a certain quality to the bread. It's a very good bread recipe and I highly recomend it. It is the only one I have found on Zaar like mine, thanks a lot Marie....Ha ha, just kidding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo December 21, 2009

Wonderful bread! Soft and delicious. This goes in my "bread" recipe box. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne April 01, 2014

I've made this about 7-8 times in the past couple months. Yeah, about once a week. It's great. My husband loves it. I had some beer in the fridge. I don't like beer. Took the beer out after the first batch so it would be room temp. Went out and bought some beer this past weekend. The bread is light, has a fine crumb, soft crust, really good for sandwiches and toasts beautifully. Does not taste like beer. Doesn't seem to matter what kind/color of beer. I made this exactly as written the first couple times. In the ABM and in the oven. I tried this weekend increasing the ingredients by 1/2 (except the salt and yeast) and it fit perfectly in my large Pullman pan. Came out pretty good! This is my new favorite bread recipe. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheyenneAnn December 17, 2012

This bread was AMAZING! My family doesn't typically drink beer, but we had a bottle in the fridge and I thought I would try this recipe. It was a light german beer. I did the whole thing in the bread machine (didn't transfer to the oven) and upped the yeast to 3 tsp. It turned out beautifully. It was light and chewy and rose perfectly. The perfect sandwich bread. I will definitely be buying more beer so I can do this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aksingingbreeze October 17, 2011

I wish I could give this bread 10 stars!! It is possibly the best bread I've *ever* had! The interior was soft, chewy and tasty, and the crust was perfect. The whole family loved it. I will be making this bread A LOT from now on. I used a light ale this time, but I can't wait to experiment with some darker beers as well. Thank you so very much for posting it! Update: excellent with a dark honey ale/beer as well. I usually use 1 1/4c of wheat flour and 2 c bread flour now. I've baked it in the bread machine and in a loaf pan in the oven. Both are incredible, but I think we like the oven version a little better. This bread makes incredible toast as well. I currently make it at least once a week and sometimes more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) May 09, 2011

Made this with Guiness and it got rave reviews at a Super Bowl party. Used for sandwiches and made in bread machine for the dough then in the oven to finish. The beer flavor went unnoticed but it did have a nice aroma while rising!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki123 February 06, 2011

I've made this bread twice now, and although it is really tasty, it didn't rise very much either time. I'm not sure why as I didn't do anything different from the recipe or my usual way of making bread, but we still enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose August 18, 2010

This is fabulous. Soft so kids and Wonder-lovers love it, not crumbly at all. The flavor is nice - nothing over-bearing about it. Toasts wonderfully. I am not a big beer fan so bought some I wouldn't mind drinking - a "sunset wheat" but as you don't taste it not sure it makes a difference. However I will be keeping beer around now. You can either drink the unused 4oz of beer and let the rest warm or let your pork chops marinate in it so its not wasted. Best in the oven for me..though I have a full size breadmaker, it grew a bit too much for it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance March 30, 2010

Made this bread exactly as listed and baked it in my bread machine. I weigh out my flour so each time I make bread, it's always the same. In this recipe the flour is 423g. It turned out picture perfect and delicious. My husband raved about it with every piece he devoured.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Va. February 25, 2010

This Bread is great ! I made the dough in my Bread Machine, but then baked it in two small loaf pans in a 350 oven for about 25-30 minutes until golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped with finger. This bread has a wonderful texture and the taste, um um good! I will make this again. Thanks Marie for sharing this keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 25, 2009
Soft Golden Crust Beer Yeast Bread (Abm)