42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is now our favorite cookie. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M July 20, 2003

good cookies!!! they weren't as soft as I wanted but that was my fault. I made what I thought were 1 inch balls but I ended up with 52 cookies. My DH says there were great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel July 18, 2003

LOVED these cookies!!! I don't like hard snaps but love soft ginger cookies...Perfect recipe! I will be making this one alot...thanks so much for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lazy Chef 2 December 17, 2012

SO good! I choose another ginger cookie recipe to make first and they didn't turn out well at all. I tried again with this recipe and they are amazing! My boyfriend's first comments.. "These are the best ginger cookies I've ever had" and "If I was Santa, I would want these!" Definitely worth trying:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SushiBeans December 16, 2012

I add about a teaspoon and a half of fresh grated ginger (grate over the bowl to get all the juices) and then baked the batter in a 9 x 12 inch baking dish for about 25 minutes (until toothpick comes clean). My sons request it weekly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stellaluna6 February 21, 2011

Awesome! Soft and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry December 30, 2012

Great recipe for those who like soft, fluffy cookies. The dough was a little dry for me so I had to add about a tbsp of water towards the very end of mixing. I sifted my flour. I didn't have molasses so I substituted in some maple syrup. Very light with lovely taste. These will definitely be in my holiday cookie assortment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmm_gin October 14, 2012

Delicious! I was in a pinch and needed something to bring for a potluck. I had most of the ingredients so I went for it...but I cheated and use margarine despite the warning. I'm happy to say these were still excellent and got excellent potluck reviews! I added about 1/2 c. of chopped crystallized ginger. I'd like to try again with grated fresh ginger. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksparker February 03, 2010

A GREAT MOLASSES COOKIE! NOT A GINGER BREAD COOKIE. Great texture, and flavor just not gingerbread!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grfox33 December 21, 2009

These are great. I used a mild tasting molasses, added some minced candied ginger, an extra 1/4 tsp of cloves, an extra 1/2 tsp. of ginger and an extra 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. All in all, the taste was still fairly mild (I don't like them too strong).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay December 02, 2009
Soft Ginger Cookies