9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids loved these cookies! The only suggestion I would have is to put the dough in the frig for about 15 minutes to make it easier to form balls. It's a definite keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newbeginningva August 18, 2009

Delicious! I made these after seeing your photo on the home page. I love these types of cookies. I added no extra flour , just what the recipe called for. I also didn't roll them with my hands though. I used my cookie scoop , dropped the scoop into a bowl of "Sugar In The Raw" (personal preference, I like the larger grains for the cookies) and rolled it around like that. Baked each pan for 9 minutes. Heaven!!! Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marlene. August 19, 2007

I love this recipe - and it makes the house smell soooo good. Refrigerating the dough for a short time helps with the rolling. I'll be making this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TyroneJJ October 28, 2012

This cookie proved to be too "needy" -- tried different temps & times, still to end up with underbaked cookies every time. They never did "crackle" on top. Can't tell when the cookie is done because of it's dark color. Flavor is delicious though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B June 07, 2010

Wow these are great! I made them in about 15 minutes, very easy. Added about 1/4 cup of crystallized ginger. SO good. Fun for the kids to roll the dough balls in sugar! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kinafish July 05, 2009

Very nice cookie. Looks great with the cracked top and sugar coating. I used an unprocessed organic sugar I had on hand for more crunch and texture on the outside. Make sure you don't overbake ( 10 minutes was a little too long) or the cookie will get dry. 8 to 9 minutes tops worked great for me. Thank you for the great recipe Cookin-jo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl October 09, 2007

GREAT recipe! This recipe turned out perfect for me. I added the dash of red pepper too, and that worked well. I served these cookies with icecream and the Mexican Chocolate syrup. Fantastico!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Living la vida a belleza August 22, 2007

these were great! the first time i made them the flour worked out perfect.. almost too much since i had to flatten the cookies but the second time i had to add quite a bit (i think it was the humidity in the air) and i used whole wheat flour and added some vanilla and put a full tsp of cinnamon in it. i always add a dash of red pepper to my ginger cookies to give them a kick. these were gone in a flash! thanks for a keeper that i will make a gain for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sprue July 12, 2007

I chose this recipe make because I cannot seem to locate my mother-in-law's recipe for soft Swedish ginger cookies. I am so thankful I found this recipe because I think they are identical. I know they are very soft and flavorful! My family loves them. I made a double batch; some for my family and the rest to take to a spaghetti dinner tomorrow at my church! Thanks for posting, Cookin-jo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 27, 2007
Soft Ginger Cookies