Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Coconut Macaroons Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Coconut Macaroons

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2002

      Just the texture I was looking for! These are soft and chewy, just like my old recipe (which I can't find). To me, these are traditional macaroons. Other recipes call for beaten egg whites which yield more of a meringue texture. I omitted the almonds and used vanilla instead of almond extract, just personal preference. All family members agreed they were great and they very easy to make. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      These were probably the best macaroons I've ever eaten. I used all vanilla and omitted almond, and we decided they are better if they get slightly browned on the top. I made them 5 hours ago and we're about to mix up my second batch for Easter! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I made the Cook's Illustrated Key Lime Pie and needed a recipe for the leftover egg whites (4). Found this and whipped it up in ten minutes. Didn't even have to change the oven temp! Pie came out and these went in. Now I have a lovely dessert for the grown-ups and yummies for the kiddies. Made exactly as written but drizzled a little semi-sweet chocolate over the top as they cooled. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      These were just perfect! I liked several things about this recipe. I like that it has some flour in it, that it does not have sweetened condensed milk and that it has almond extract. These were nice and chewy and sweet enough. My husband and guests loved them! My friend took a copy of the recipe home with her.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      These are delicious! I just made these this morning. I only had enough coconut to make half of the recipe. I used the almond extract then I divided the mixture in half and put chopped almonds in half and chopped dried cherries in the other half. Could not decide which ones I liked better, So I kept eating and eating them. Now they are all gone and I never did decide which was best. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Delightful cookies! DH especially liked the ones I added chopped, dried cherries to! YUM! Definitely a keeper! I'm wondering how well they freeze. Anyone tried it? Added note: REMEMBER TO GREASE THE PAN!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      These are very good and so simple to make.I omitted the salt and the almonds.But I did add about 1/2 tsp coconut extract.I put the batter into small muffin liners and made them into mini muffins of goodness :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      I'm sorry but I didn't really like these. And I'm usually crazy about macaroons! I think it was the chopped almonds that did it. I like almonds too, and I LOVE coconut, but this recipe had almost no flavour! They were chewy, but not a melt-in-your-mouth kind of chewy, more like a soft-plastic chewy! They were better once they cooled off, but I'm just not a big fan of this one. Sorry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      These are cooling right now...turned out GREAT! I used the almond extract and baked them at 325 for 14 min. (alternating cookie sheets half way through) in a convection oven. I can't wait to play around with different add-ins/dipping in chocolate etc. Thanks for posting...so easy and yummy! :)...update...I dipped them half way in dark chocolate...very pretty and of course delicious! I wrapped them in celophane paper and gave them to a friend this morning along with her Christmas gift, she thought they were purchased at an expensive bakery!!! Now that's my kind of Christmas cookie...SO, SO EASY AND SO, SO PRETTY! :) (oh, and super yummy too! )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      Whenever I ask my friends or family if there is anything that I can bring when going to any event we're having where food is concerned, they ALWAYs ask for me to make these macaroons. I love how easy they are to make and how much everyone just loves them. I've made them with the almonds and almond extract as well as with vanilla extract only. Thank you, Missy Wright, for this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      Yummy! I have never made macaroons and decided to give this recipe a try. What an easy great recipe. I didn't have almonds so I left them out and I put 1/2 tsp. more of almond extract because I love almond. I read in a review that the person used a mini muffin pan, so I decided to use my mini muffin pan on some and the cookie sheet on the res. The mini muffin pan, in my opinion, worked out better than the cookie sheet. They were a little sweet next time I will probably cut a little back on the sugar, although my hubby thought they were perfect. Thank so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Very good, but I prefer Hazelnuts to almonds. Thanks for posting...My favorite is Ina Gartner's recipe which uses sweetened condensed milk. Both are yummy in thier own way:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      These are the best Coconut Macaroons I have ever made! LOVE them.. love that they are soft and chewy and pretty close to perfection. I made a batch yesterday and they are almost gone. Thanks for the amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2013

      My husband really enjoyed these. They are soft & chewy. I used vanilla instead of almond extract. Otherwise followed recipe then drizzled with melted chocolate. Yummy & looked great. I got 24 cookies from this recipe so mine were a bit bigger. Such an easy recipe, definitely will make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      These were easy and good. I would cut back on the sugar as I think they were overly sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      I didn't have any almonds, so I made them without & they were still very good! Great cookies - I'll definitely make them again and will make sure I have almonds when I do! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      Put little mini chocolate eggs in and made them birds nests for easter. This is the 4th time I have made these and they are great. Not too sweet, moist and chewy. I do leave them in a few min. more just to get a little toasting on top but keep an eye on them because you don't want them to get to dry. Always get a lot of compliments on them and they are a QUICK cookie. This time I did them with my 3 year old. Perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      made these today for christmas cookie trays...followed exactly except i used dry roasted slivered almonds..i also used both the vanilla & almond extract..i let them get a little brown on top but the insides were nice and moist and chewy...excellent cookie...will make often!! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Delicious! Exactly what I was craving! Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      These are perfectly perfect!!!!! I've made a lot of coconut macaroons in my day - searching for just the right texture... just the right recipe. Well, happily, my search is over! These are what I've been looking for. My fellow coconut loving family have all demanded I keep bringing THIS recipe - no other will do now!!! They are soft and a bit chewy - perfect flavor - pure delight!!! I don't really care for almond extract though - so I used the recipe exactly, except that I used vanilla instead. The almonds in this are wonderful though!!! I dipped just the bottoms in melted Ghiradelli (sp?) semi sweet chocolate. Perfection!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Coconut Macaroons

    Serving Size: 1 (688 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.0
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    52%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 53.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites