493 Reviews

Fantastic! Quick and easy! If you roll into balls, press them down slightly because they puff up but not out. This makes about 2 very large trays of cookies. I used a full cup of butter (no shortening) and no almond extract (didn't have any).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel January 11, 2012

Don't know what all of the hoopla is about, I was not particularly impressed with these cookies. For one thing, the "One 4-oz" Instant pudding package" would be two small packages, as one package has only 1.7 oz. Or was it supposed to be for one 4 serving-size? In either case, the cookies were not soft and chewy, but turned hard rather fast once they cooled down. There are way to many other really great recipes out there and I really do not like wasting products. I will most likely not make them again.Sorry.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefette2u October 18, 2011

I´ ve made these so many times. I always use double chocolate fudge pudding mix, semi sweet chocolate chips, 1 cup of butter and skip the shortening. I got them off a different website and they`re called Award Winning Chocolate Chip Cookies. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sylviaspisic December 22, 2010

Made a batch as written except used 1 cup of each chocolate and mint chips. They turned out so well that I am now making another batch but with chocolate pudding, 1 cup each of chocolate and peanut butter chips. Thanks for the great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bjd4 May 03, 2010

Easily the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever made. My wife *hates* anything with almond flavouring in it, but didn't even notice it in this recipe. The texture and flavours all come together nicely. Made these with all butter (no shortening) and baked on parchment paper. Slightly crispy and brown on the bottom (ie perfect) and chewy in the middle (again, perfect). Update - I made another batch, this time half shortening as in the recipe and it definitely changes the taste (for the worse). Switching to 4 stars, but definitely 5 stars if you use all-butter instead of shortening. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near February 15, 2010

These are absolutely phenomenal. Especially right out of the oven! Just a note to those of you that don't like almond extract (like me), I did leave it in, and you can't taste it. I think it just rounds out the flavors. I also used bread flour instead of regular flour and about 3 cups of chocolate chips (which I make a mix of dark, milk, and semi-sweet). Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cortneytreat February 18, 2011

These cookies are awesome! They are very soft, just the way I like them. The pudding really adds something, in my opinion. I didn't have almond extract so I put in two teaspoons of vanilla and I also added one teaspoon of salt. This will definitely be my new go-to recipe for chocolate cookies. Thank you, Peach!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carwashgirl February 10, 2011

Very good cookie! Although I really like them, I think I'll tweak the recipe if I make them again. I have a HUGE sweet tooth, but even these seemed a bit sweet to me. I think I'd cut back a bit on the white sugar and maybe add a little salt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
midwestmom June 20, 2010

OMG these are amazing. I cannot keep a batch for more than 24 hours as they get eaten up and I have to make more. I am on my 4th batch of these in 2 weeks and today I am making a double batch in hopes that they make it through the weekend! :) These are fab. I use all butter and play with the pudding flavors. My fav cookies are with white choc chips, reccess piecies, and slivered almonds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilona #2 May 02, 2010

I'm not sure what went wrong. Followed recipe EXACTLY and these cookies are crunchy not soft, like any other cookie.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeathandHail December 21, 2007
Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies