Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft & Chewy Vanilla Butter Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft & Chewy Vanilla Butter Cookies

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2009

      Yummy! Used real butter (no shortening) and extra vanilla (cuz I LOVE vanilla) instead of butter flavoring. Didn't read the part about refrigerating the dough until after they were in the oven (oops!) but it made no difference. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Yumm! I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter, increased the vanilla to 1.5 and did not use the butter flavoring and they were still awesome. Thx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Absolutely Wonderful! My husband is litterally addicted to these cookies. I made my first batch with the butter flavored crisco and they were good, but when I switched the crisco for real butter the cookies were lightyears better. I will continue to use the recipe, Thanks KC_Cooker :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Omg... these are amazing cookies! I did not have the butter flavor extract but, I added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla. I am so happy I decided to make a double batch as these will disappear quickly in our house. Thanks for a wonderful cookie recipe :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      A local bakery in my town makes the best sugar cookies and I have been trying to duplicate them. I found out that they use a butter cookie recipe. My search stops with this recipe. I just need to add a buttercream icing to these to duplicate those cookies. These are wonderful cookies. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Can't get any better than these cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      I made these yesterday with just a few substitutions. I used 1/2 cup butter flavored crisco and 1/2 cup of butter. I didn't use butter extract. I also added pecan pieces, my husband has to have nuts in his cookies. I also rolled my cookies into balls then in sugar. Absolutely wonderful, light and soft. Thanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Excellent soft chewy butter cookie. I changed the recipe I used real cabot butter and I didn't use butter flavored extract, because I used real butter. I bake and cook with real butter all the time,because the flavor is better when you use real butter. I will continue to make this recipe. Thanks for sharing KC Cooker.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      WOW! These are so AWESOME! So easy and come out fabulous! I added sugar on top of some and left some plain. The sugar wasn't really needed; they are the perfect balance of sweet, buttery, soft plus crisp outside. I made mine with a 1 1/2 inch scoop and they took 10 minutes. Thanks so much for posting this...it's so much better than the frozen cookie dough I was using.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      Yum! These were great cookies. We really enjoyed them, my kids especially. It's their new favorite cookie. I didn't have butter extract so I used almond instead. I'll try butter flavoring next time, and maybe sprinkle the tops with a bit of sugar before baking. We love soft cookies like this. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Just brought the first batch of these cookies out of the oven and they are EXACTLY what I was hoping for. The only thing I did different from the recipe was to substitute lemon flavoring for the butter flavoring because my husband and I LOVE LEMON! This recipe was easy to put together and the dough is super easy to work with. I'm sooooo happy right now and can't wait to share them with family and friends!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I didn't rate because I didn't follow the recipe. I substituted butter for the Crisco and the cookies turned out like a softer version of a Danish butter cookie (like the ones you get in a tin at Christmas). They tasted good, but were not what I was expecting or wanting. After a quick Internet search it seems like this is what should be expected if using butter in place of Crisco, so I thought I'd post this for others as baking ignorant as me. Made this way, the seem more like a cookie suitable for icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Best Butter Cookie Recipe I have ever used I made it for the family and everyone gave it two thumbs up TASTY YUMMY COOKIES!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      what a wonderful flavor! these are great basic cookies. I like that you can halve the recipe easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      These cookies were perfect! They came out beautifully! I didn't add any butter flavoring, but I did chop up about 12 Oreo cookies and added them to the batter for a little extra kick. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      lovely outstanding it's the best

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      we really appreciated these cookies, they are chewy as stated! easy recipe, thank you! Marella

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      I did not really like these, for some reason these cookies tasted like baking soda, and were rather cakey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft & Chewy Vanilla Butter Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1028 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 126.5
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    43%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 13.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 72.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes