63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm not a fan of crisp sugar cookies, I'm not a big fan of sugar cookies period, but I have been using this as my standard Sugar Cookie recipe. I don't recall seeing anyone else having this problem, but even after being refrigerated for a full 24 hours, my dough was very sticky! This was surprising since it has 4 cups of flour, so I assumed there was just too much liquid. I've made a few of my own adjustments and have been pretty happy with my version. I use more butter, less shortening, sugar and brown sugar, just 1 egg and 1 egg yolk, and only 4 T. of sour cream. I also do vanilla and almond extract, but if I have fresh lemons, I will throw in a teaspoon of juice as well. Mine bake up perfectly in about 12 minutes, and I top them with a Fresh Strawberry Glaze.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine junkie June 20, 2010

Ok basic sugar cookie but nothing special. The flavor is all right, but mine spread into huge flat disks and were crisp. I baked them for 10-12 minutes. When I tried baking some for a shorter time, they ended up doughy. I even added 1/2 cup of extra flour to compensate for the altitude here. I wasn't impressed with this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WillsMommy November 04, 2009

these were okay. I followed the directions exactly (ommitting the lemon for more vanilla) and they came out very cakey. Not chewy at all. They also seemed a little bland, which I was suprised me because the ingredients seemed so promising. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but with everyone elses good reviews perhaps I will try them again sometime.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzy Love August 31, 2008

Pretty simple recipe, so I dont really think I made any mistakes.... I just was not pleased with these cookies. The first batch I baked for 7 minutes and they were too doughy. The second batch i baked for about 9 and they came out not at all chewy or soft, they were more caky. I will say that I didnt frost these cookies...so maybe they just needed some icing to be as good as most of the other reviewers have said they were.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandee Christine September 19, 2007

I love this sugar cookie recipe! My father loves sugar cookies and I have been looking for that perfect sugar cookie. The only changes I made were that I didn't dust the tops with sugar, used just a few drops of lemon essential oil, and I only used butter. Don't be afraid of the lemon, it is such a great addition, and adds such a great twist on the original sugar cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BunnyLovingCook August 26, 2014

best sugar cookies ever! love the recipe it worked great! i altered the recipe to make it vegan because my mom is, and they ended up just as good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiderwoman444 May 09, 2014

Can less than 1 star? I followed this recipe exactly as written, double checking myself to make sure I hadn't miscalculated. Once in the oven, the cookies, quite literally, melted. It turned into a thin sheet cookie, since it was basically cookie soup on the sheet while baking. This also meant that the edges burned, while trying to get the center cooked. I've used recipes on this site many times, never found one so unlike its reviews. Thumbs down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiebaker82 September 09, 2012

These are chewy & delicious cookies! The only thing I changed was using a little less lemon, & a little more vanilla. I refrigerated the dough overnight, & they baked up perfectly the next day. I have found these kind of cookies turn out best on the AirBake cookie pans. Thank you for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herb607 December 09, 2010

These are SO good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I substituted almond for vanilla. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessicagoering June 17, 2010

Great soft and chewy sugar cookies. I had no problems with these. Made exactly to recipe. I will admit the lemon through me a bit. Everyone liked them, but I kept thinking "is the lemon to weird? is it just me? they're for Christmas, it's just wrong" lol! So next time I think I'll use 1 tsp almond in it's stead, or make 1/2 and 1/2 since they went over so well as they were. Best sugar cookie recipe I have yet to try and is a definate keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma February 13, 2010
Soft, Chewy Sugar Cookies