Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Chewy Molasses Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Chewy Molasses Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2012

      These cookies were simply amazing. Perfect in every way. I would like to note though, that instead of using 3/4 cup of shortening, I used 6 tbsp of shortening and 6 tbsp of lard.

      Anyhow, thank you! I'll definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      These cookies are great. I took some to an office pot-luck lunch and everyone on staff raved about them. I chilled the dough overnight before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Great cookies. I think I would add a 1/4 cup more molasses next time and decrease the white sugar. I made them for Thanksgiving - the kitchen was warm from all the holiday cooking and the cookies spread quite a bit in the oven so next time I think I will chill the dough before baking. Also I didn't need the full 1/2 cup of sugar for rolling the cookies - start with a 1/4 cup and add as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      very good-a keeper recipe for sure, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Yummy! Just what I was looking for with no changes to the recipe. Used cookie scoop to form balls - still rolled in sugar. Perhaps next time I might roll them in a heavier sugar - like a sugar crystal instead of plain white.... but not necessary!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      These were yummy! Chewy inside and crisp around the edges. I didn't even bother to roll them in sugar. I used my cookie scoop (every baker needs one) and sprinkled sugar on top before I baked them. This is the perfect Xmas cookie. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Reduced the sugar by a third (still used full amount of molasses) and it was still pretty sweet! Had to be very careful as to the time in the oven. The cookies flattened nicely and you can barely lift them off the baking paper as they were still soft while hot. Mine took about 12 minutes in a 175 degrees C oven. Love the crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside texture and subtly spicy taste. Thanks, FarahC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      Exactly what I was looking for. They turned out a little thinner than I had thought, but the taste and texture were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Very nice soft molasses cookie! Lots of flavor. An easy batter to make, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is the best cookie ever! The second time I made this and every time after I changed it to suit my dietary needs. I quadruple this recipe! I changed the recipe to reduce the amount of gluten and increase the amount of protein by adding 2 1/2 cups of Buckwheat flour and 2 1/2 cups of oatmeal flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour. I use freshly grated ginger cloves and cinnamon the last time I made and it was even better. I also just use Demera sugar and no white sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2006

      I just tried this recipe yesterday. I was looking for this exact cookie, and actually found what I had been craving! a crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside, molasses cookie! These are absolutely fabulous! The taste was spicy yet not over bearing, they were a snap to make and with my cookie scoop, I made a double batch from start to finish in about an hour and a half, with half an hour of that time refigerating the dough. I made no changes to this recipe and can't imagine doing so at this point. These are the best molassess cookies I have had in years. They will certainly be included in my Christmas cookie exchange!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      I made these as part of my Christmas Cookie Tray. They are very soft and chewy. My kitchen smelled so good from the spices, while baking! I will make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Chewy Molasses Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.7
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    38%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 160.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes