Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft Buttermilk Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft Buttermilk Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2009

      Very soft and with a taste similar to shortbread, but not nearly as much work! The icing made far more than we needed and I made about a third of a batch. Were great without the icing too (and with my morning coffee). Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2013

      Really easy to follow instructions. It was a very good cookie. I didn't feel like making icing so I used chocolate chips instead. My husband loved them. They are a bit on the sweet side with them so I do believe I will subtract about 1/2 cup of sugar otherwise they are wonderful cakey cookies. I am not great at making cookies and these are a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

    • on December 23, 2012

      Very good cookies, soft and a good density. I made 1/3 recipe for the frosting and it was plenty. We decorated these for Christmas. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      Nice flavor and texture, but not quite sweet enough. I think I'll try adding more sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      These cookies were really good and, like others said, not too sweet. They are very soft. They remind me of these Italian cookies that I make for Christmas every year except I put almond and anise extract in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      I find this a very simple and delicious cookie.My son requested I not add frosting so instead I addedchocholate chips. Either way its good.For someone who is looking for a soft, cake like cookie that is not very sweet than this is the right recipe for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Made as directed, without walnuts in the frosting. The family loved these! Absolutely delicious. Soft cookie with just the right amount of frosting. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      My ulta picky hubby proclaimed that these are better than Lofthouse Cookies!!! That is high praise, indeed. Very easy to mix up and bake. I have added this recipe to my favorites collection. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      I doubled the recipe and it was real easy to make. My family just loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Easy to make. Served to a young person with braces. They were appreciative! The taste reminded me of the packaged Nilla biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

      I made these to celebrate my daughter's 6th grade graduation. These are very quick to mix up. They were slightly difficult to tell when they were done, since they browned quicker than I expected. Despite this, they were still so tender, due to the buttermilk.(These have a special tea cake texture and are unlike traditional crispy sugar cookies.) You can appreciate the texture better after they totally cool. The tops of the cookies looked slightly "biscuit-like" even though I used a cookie scoop and flattened the tops. I tinted my frosting pink and boy are they delicious with the frosting (Don't skip!). My husband loved them and said they were dangerous to have around, they were so good. My kids are going to love these! Thanks for posting, KC Cooker! Roxygirl in Colo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft Buttermilk Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 135.0
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    25%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 14.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 87.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 17.1 g
    68%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites