12 Reviews

Great outcome! Had leftover bread to use. I used a food processor and blended bread with some parsley which I needed for a recipe. (Hence why the photo may be a little green.) Then I made more using just bread without parsley, which I have used to freeze. Thanks Deb......Nobody could go wrong with this one

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 09, 2010

This is one of those basic core recipes that I use all the time. This method produces perfect soft and dry bread crumbs. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 18, 2010

Who knew making bread crumbs homemade was THIS easy???? Wow! I made the dry crumb option, and I used the heavenly garlic bread from our local italian joint - pure heaven! Thanks so much for sharing this, Deb! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen March 01, 2010

So easy to make! I used the ends of whole wheat bread and used a food processor and pulsed to desired size. I doubled the recipe and it was done in no time! I didn't dry them because I made buttered bread crumbs with it. Thanks! Made for Vegetarian Swap-Feb. 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 11, 2010

I made this during the Stocking tag game in Holiday, and thought I'd posted a review....my photo is here, just not the review. This is a great way to use leftover bread and save some money! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 16, 2010

I bake all of our family's bread,and as it has no preservatives,tends to go stale within a day or two..and I have been using it to make breadcrumbs like this for years. This is a fantastic way of using up leftover bread,which has a multitude of uses (burgers,meatloaf,breading for chicken or fish..the list goes on!). I freeze my crumbs in ziplock bags,and just get out what I need (it comes to room temperature fairly quickly). Easily flavoured with parmesan,lemon zest or herbs to add a new twist. Also,it's easy to dry them out too. This has saved many a meal time,not to mention a few pounds over the years!! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo December 17, 2009

Great method! I won't need to run out to buy breadcrumbs when I'm out. I haven't tried the dried breadcrumb method yet but plan to soon. I'll also be using these crumbs to make Buttered Breadcrumbs. Made for PRMR Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 12, 2009

5 stars for the new technique! I used the blender method- much neater than scraping the crumbs from stale bread. Thanks for posting Deb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud December 11, 2009

Thank you for this! I always have a lot of leftover bread and was drying it on a tray but wasn't happy about it. Now I have not one but two solutions. I'll never buy breadcrumbs again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia November 25, 2009

Like the other reviewers have said, this is a simple recipe as well as being easy on your budget. I used 2 sandwich buns which yielded 1 cup. I also plan to use the dried breadcrumb option. Thanks for sharing. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 04, 2009
Soft Bread Crumbs