49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband is an avid oatmeal cookie fan. I have tried many recipes over the past 40 years of marriage and although he ate most of them - he commented highly on this one. It is very good. I made a double batch and instead of adding 2 pkgs of vanilla instant pudding, I used one vanilla and one butterscotch. It gave it more of a maple flavoring. VERY GOOD!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allie September 10, 2001

Tom, my man - I have several things to say: (1) Your recipe has some shortcomings - (a) you don't say how long to bake them (b) you don't say how thick they should be (c) you don't list a gas oven temperature (2) You must have been making some TINY cookies to get 60 of them out of these ingredients! (3) They were overlapping one another when they were done - you should state how far apart they should be while in the oven. I was not aware that they would expand. Despite all of that, and with some pure guesswork on my part, they tasted wonderful. I would have given you 5 stars, but you made me do too much thinking and guessing, so I kept a couple of the stars for myself!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leonard Cohen March 05, 2002

Very good recipe this is the first time I have ever made oatmeal rasin cookies and everyone loved them they continued to stay soft and chewy my sister loves oatmeal rasin cookies and she said this was the best that she ever tasted.....thanks

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresa December 31, 2001

Very good cookies....Didn't last long...

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom C. February 22, 2002

Great recipe.. I made this recipe along with the soft batch chocolate chip recipe.. Both are wonderful.. They are very esay to make and do not call for any special ingredients.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybug II February 22, 2002

So easy and so rich tasting cookie

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Lambie July 11, 2001

I made these cookies for my dad who lives 2000 miles away and when he got them the entire family wanted tehm and they didn't leave many for him. These are very good. And I'm not much of an oatmeal cookie fan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Spoon December 29, 2002

I have made this recipe for years, it was on a box of instant pudding many years ago. I use the french vanilla instant pudding, and I soak the raisins in hot water for about 10 minutes, then let them drain in a colander, I also add a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. This is the favorite cookie in my family. Make small cookies, add more raisins if you like to. They go fast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SueZmann December 17, 2002

I love these cookies. I use dried cranberries or dried cherries instead of raisins. Sometimes I even add white chocolate chips. What a special treat. My family loves them

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean Moriah December 13, 2014

These were very soft,moist,& light...all in one.The only soft raisin oatmeal I will use again! To try and make a some what healthier cookie I used 1 egg & 1/2 a cup of cinn applesauce for the second egg called for.I added 1 tbsp ground cinn & because my mom always boiled her raisins before adding them to cookies I did the same.I used a french vanilla pudding mix & all I can say is yum!You have to try this one if you want a soft oatmeal cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefWantABe April 28, 2013
Soft Batch Oatmeal Raisin Cookies