242 Reviews

My daughter made these at Christmas using chocolate pudding & mint chips. They were really awesome. Stayed soft & moist. So many possibilities.. thinking of coconut pudding with coconut,pecans & white chocolate chips. The butterscotch pudding, butterscotch chips & adding some oatmeal like another reviewer suggested is tempting too! Great recipe & has been my go-to chocolate chip recipe for a long time. Thanks Carol. Now I need a recipe for self control :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper January 04, 2012

This is a long over due review. These cookies are fantastic! I made these at Christmas. Everyone LOVED them, especially my hubby so I made them again for him on Valentine's. He decided to be generous and took them to work. By lunchtime his cohorts had him calling for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly using milk choc.chips. The second time I prepared the dough a week early, wrapped it up in saran wrap, sealed it in tupperware, tucked it in the fridge and then let it sit out just a bit before spooning on to sheets and baking. They turned out great! Very handy when you have little ones to tend to. Thanks for a truly delicious, chewy cookie recipe! UPDATE: I accidentally grabbed banana cream pudding instead of vanilla. My husband exclaimed 'I think we're onto something here'! They turned out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juleskees December 20, 2011

12/11 Made them again -- forgot the salt - but they are still my go-to chip cookies !

12/10 Glad I found this !! The pudding mix certainly adds a boost to the "chewy" nature, which I have missed ! I,too, added 1 tsp salt and it was perfect. I also used 1/2 bitter-sweet bits, because I had them. Made 6 doz. perfect-sized cookies. Thanks for posting, Dawn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 10, 2011

Loved this recipe, I've used it before but this time I used banana pudding and they came out amazing!!! Banana nut cookies!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandybear82 October 18, 2011

This was an easy recipe that turned out well for this kitchen novice. My wife won't eat cookies with nuts, so I left them out so we could share. They didn't have the flavor of Toll House cookies, but the texture was perfect. I can't wait to try this recipe using the chocolate pudding mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rookie cook October 12, 2011

Fantastic cookies. Years ago I had cookies similar to this and when I asked for the recipe I remember they had pudding mix in them. Well I lost the recipe and found this one. I am so happy I filtered through many chocolate cookie recipes to get it. I only used 1/2 cup chocolate chips due to personal preference, These cookies come out soft not crunchy. I have also used instant pistachio pudding mix and it also comes out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMOR DE PUGS July 24, 2011

The flavor of these cookies is delicious! Very soft and chewy. I feel they are "cake-like cookies" (at least mine came out that way?)...made exactly as directed but had to use French Vanilla pudding because that's what we had. Loved them and will use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 June 17, 2011

An amazing cookie! Made these for the first time around Christmas. My son and his wife liked them so much they took them all home with them. They said it would be the right thing to do since my boyfriend had the baker here with him.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiKi Girl June 07, 2011

Fantastic! We like our cookies a little crunchy, so I cooked them 11-12 minutes. Also used semi-sweet chips. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sekake April 15, 2011

Dawn, Thank you, thank you, thank you! I've tried so many Chocolate Chip Cookie recipes and now will look no further - this is it! I too added a pinch of salt, but it seems the vanilla pudding definately does the difference. I'm thinking about using this dough for my white chocolate chip and macademia nuts cookies too. Yum! Again THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy Trap April 09, 2011
Soft Batch Chocolate Chip Cookies