Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "soft As Wonder" White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "soft As Wonder" White Bread

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2012

      This is my new go-to bread recipe. It is amazing. I do not have a bread machine so for me, the "dough" setting is mixing everything in my kitchen aid for about 10mins set on 4 with a dough hook and then allowing the bread to rise for about an hour. After my "dough" cycle has finished, I continued with the recipe as written and could not be happier. My family ate this bread up so fast, I had to make it again the next day.
      *hint* it makes a huge delicious difference if you do brush it with butter as soon as it comes out of the oven. I highly recommend this recipe to the beginner and seasoned baker alike. Just remember the most important ingredient is patience.
      If you are looking for a soft fluffy bread, this is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      This is a 10* recipe in our eyes! WOW! fantastic bread. My hubby is on cloud 9, he had 4 slices as soon as it came out of the oven today. I had forgotten to add the sugar but I don't think it harmed the flavor at all. I also used 2% milk instead of the powdered milk and I used bread flour that I use for baking bread.As soon as it came out of the oven, I brushed some melted butter over the entire loaf. This is most certainly a favorite in our house from now on! Thanks so much for sharing this marvelous bread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      I wanted to make a soft white loaf which I could tweak by adding some wholemeal flour so I figured that this was a good recipe to try. I followed the recipe but used 2 1/2 cups bread flour and 1/2 cup stone-ground wholemeal flour. I also substituted brown sugar instead of white, used full-fat milk instead of powder and butter instead of margarine. Well, the bread rose beautifully, baked perfectly and was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend this recipe for a brown loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      My new favorite bread recipe. Easy and foolproof. The taste is wonderful. I did proof the yeast first as I don't trust it from past experience, but everything turned out great. We ate most of the loaf with lots of butter. Later I made my 81 year old mother a grilled cheese sandwich that turned out perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This bread always comes out wonderful. I followed Jenna's directions for using the Kitchenaid instead of the bread machine and it was light and fluffy and yummy. Of course I had help from my trusty kitchen companion that you can see in my photos. This bread is fluffy and soft. Way better than Wonder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Seriously, best recipe I've ever used! I even stopped buying bread at the store, I make a double batch and refrigerate one and bake one so I only make dough every other day and have fresh bread every day! I tweak it slightly differently each time and always comes out awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      my kids gave it s 5 star! They said its the best one I've made so far. Did everything in my bread machine. The bread is quite soft and tasty. thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Even though today is Friday the 13th.,2012, I sure didn't have any bad luck when I made this bread.:) Instead of AP flour,bread flour was used.I did have to add about 1/4 to 1/3 cup of extra flour to get the dough into ball form. Instead of letting the dough rise for only 40 minutes, it was left to rise for a total of 1 hour.The bread was baked @350 degrees for 25 minutes,and turned out perfect.Since I didn't have enough willpower to let it cool off, I had a couple of slices with margarine and it was PERFECT !!!. Thank you so much for posting and, "Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      This is a family favorite. I make it on the dough cycle and then remove from the bread maker, place the dough in a loaf pan, let it rise, and then bake it in the oven. The boys don't like me buying bread anymore.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This bread is fantastic. Depending on how much you let it rise, it can be dense, or fluffy (I like denser bread, while my friend likes fluffy bread), but still tastes amazing. I eat slices of the bread plain, that's how good it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      This recipe is definitely a keeper! I made 1 batch with buns to test it out and they were so good that the same day made it again but doubled the recipe to make cinnamon buns with half and a loaf of bread with the other half! That was yesterday and today I have half the loaf of bread, half of the cinnamon buns and half of the buns left! This is such a delicious recipe we can't help ourselves from going back for seconds and thirds! My tastebuds thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Thanks so much for the "perfect" white bread recipe! I use this recipe daily for our sandwiches, rolls, toast...pretty much for everything and it comes out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      Great bread, great texture. It was very easy to do. The only thing I changed was to use butter instead of margarine. Thanks bailey :) Made for Holiday tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      great i baked it till internal temp was 190 it was light & fluffy-- been making bread for 30+ yr this is the best loaf yet!!! i kneeded it in the bread maker - then took it out & let it final rise in my bread pan & baked it in my oven-- remember 190 internal degrees

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I have tested the recipe and it turned out surprisingly very soft. I love it and will try again with raisin and walnuts Thanks for the recipe JOSEPHINE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I made this the other day and it turned out perfect. Soft with a nice light brown crust. My kids really liked the tasted also. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Great tasting and looking bread. I used unsalted butter instead of margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Very good. As soft as described. Thank you bailey46. I've been looking this type of bread and finally found one. Don't have to use bread improvemnet to have this soft texture. Really like it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I have been using a different recipe for the past yr and while I like it its just not soft enough for me so when I saw this I had to try it. we LOVE it!!!! this will definitly be our standard recipe from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Slices and taste great. I have been wanting a soft bread crust. Didn't change a thing. Recipe wonderful just the way it is. I would give 10 stars if possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "soft As Wonder" White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    21%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites