Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft as a Baby's Butt Salt Scrub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft as a Baby's Butt Salt Scrub

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2008

      i just made this and tried it on my hands. wow, i love this stuff! i used regular baby oil since thats what i had on hand and added a tiny bit of almond and vanilla extract. it smells great! i really wanted to make this now so i could see how it holds up long term, so i could make it for xmas gifts. i will repost after it has had time to set for a while and let you know if it all starts to dissolve or not. ok, i am back to say that it has been a month and a half and this scrub is as good today as it was when i first made it. i was afraid it would break down or something but it has held up wonderfully. and the smell it made by using a little almond and vanilla extract is wondeful. it smells like cookies. thanks for this recipe, i have already made more for xmas gifts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2003

      I used this and enjoyed it very much. I followed the recipe as is and I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2003

      I LOVE this. I doubled the recipe, and put it in a jar in my shower...now I have it whenever I want it! It makes my skin so soft and smells so nice. Thanks so much for a wonderful INEXPENSIVE treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2003

      Very nice. I added some scented oil as well to give it more of a fragrance. I used it as a hand scrub/moisturizer as well as in the shower.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2013

      I found this recipemonths ago and finally got around to trying it.i doubled the recipe, so I would have plenty to share with friends that want to try it. It seemed too chunky to use in the shower, so I ran it through the food processor as some of the previous reviews suggested. I love the way it makes my skin feel, and a little of this goes a long way. I'm still a bit concerned about washing oatmeal and oils down my shower drain, so I'm very conservative when I use it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2012

      BEAUTIFUL! I've tried a few recipes on this site, salt and sugar scrubs, and this is the one! I will never use anything else and my over-40 skin has never looked or felt better! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! The only thing I changed was to use safflower oil vs. baby oil as petrolatum/petroleum byproducts are seriously bad for you and so why would I smooth that on my skin and negate all the benefits of being hydrated. Please, do the research and toss the baby oil. LOVE!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This is wonderful! I made a 1/4 of the recipe and it made enough for two uses for me. Instead of the vitamin E ( I didn't have any) I used lavander scented massage oil which was very nice. I found that the salt gave me plenty of exfoliation and the oils left my skin nice ans smooth! Thanks for posting this :) made for the I recommend tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      I processed the oats in the food processor to make them slightly finer. Not a powder, but just a little more milled. I only had baby oil gel, so I just used enouh to make it come together like a crumble for a pie. It is definitely moisturizing, but I don't feel that it is abrasive enough to exfoliate much. Since my skin has trouble exfoliating I really need that. I may try adding in some extra dry ingredients to see if I can get it to exfoliate a little better. My skin does feel nice, though, so if all I can get it to do is moisturize, I'll just have to use a scrub first. It's a great base recipe, I just need to tweak it to make it work for me. Thanks for the great suggestion!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was so much fun! I didn't have any baby oil, so I used some cooking oil for the time being (will make again with baby oil!) but it's amazing and lot's of fun! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      My skin has never felt softer after using this scrub! I used lavender scented baby oil and the smell was wonderful. I usually need some kind of body butter after I get out of the shower due to dry skin, but not when I use this!! I will definetly be giving this away for Christmas presents!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      It was difficult to determine 3 or 4 stars. 4 stars because the ingredients were much easier to find and less expensive than other scrubs posted on Zaar. 3 stars because although it made my skin softer, it was a bit too oily (maybe I added too much). One suggestion is to grind the oats to a powder type texture so the ingredients mix better. Sent some to my MIL to get her opinion and the jury is still out. Thanks for posting an easy recipe. Prissy :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      oooooh!! I love this!! My skin feels wonderful - soft as a baby's butt :) I liked it so much, I made another batch and gave it to my girlfriend. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      We love this! Have just made it for the third time (I apologize for not reviewing sooner). Our skin is so dry in the winter, this body scrub is more effective than any lotion we've found. It will definately be going in christmas/birthday gift baskets!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I used sweet almond oil and a little olive oil instead of the baby oil (I prefer natural ingredients as opposed to petroleum). I forgot to add the baking soda...but it turned out just great with the rest of the ingredients. I'm packing it up in a glass jar and giving as a gift. I'll mix up a batch for myself next time. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      I love this!! I started out with a half batch and will be making it by the full batch from now on. I had no trouble with it going rancid. (which is why I made half a batch , that spooked me a bit) It gives you very soft smooth skin and that feeling LASTS for hours. I really like this recipe, thanks so much for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      It is January here in the Great White North and both my husband & I have been experiencing very dry, itchy skin. I made up a batch of this salt scrub and ....bye, bye itch...bye, bye dryness. The salt and other ingredients provided a mild exfoliation and the baby oil left skin lightly scented and soft like velvet. I have used numerous creams, lotions and bath oils and none have given me this terrific result. I would say to make sure that you use a good bath mat to guard against slipping in the tub/shower. You are not going to believe how good this scrub makes your skin feel....It is also very economical to use....Thanks Pets "R" us for a great recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      I've never used salt scrubs before because they are always expensive, or they have too many ingredients in them such as food coloring which I don't much care for. Do you really need blue salt scrub after all? For this recipe, the ingredients were readily available at home without having to run out to the store for specialty items. I ground the oats to an almost flour like consistency and was tempted to add some essential oil but the baby oil has a nice scent to it. I think next time though I'll add some almond extract! Luckily the baby oil was enriched with Vitamin E and aloe vera. Works wonders on calloused soles of the feet, too! Try this on your back. Ahhhh!!! CG

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      this stuff ROCKS! I doubled the recipe, and add some peppermint oil. ONE NOTE: use a glass or metal bowl, and a metal spoon if you add any fragrant oils! I don't think the peppermint scent is ever going to come out of my wodden spoon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      I whipped the whole thing up in the food processor (if you do this, really give the machine a good clean afterwards!) I made two batches, the first one with some drops of honeysuckle oil and the second with some musk oil. I've bought some pretty jars and plan to make up a few batches as gifts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      My 8 year-old stepdaughter made this for a mother's day gift for her mother. She had a great time making the recipe and we tried it out on our hands before putting it in the gift basket. We were both impressed with how smooth our hands were. Thanks so much for the great gift idea...and I'll be making some for myself soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft as a Baby's Butt Salt Scrub

    Serving Size: 1 (567 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1425.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1106
    77%
    Total Fat 122.9 g
    189%
    Saturated Fat 20.4 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 128746.8 mg
    5364%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.9 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.2 g
    33%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes