29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i just made this and tried it on my hands. wow, i love this stuff! i used regular baby oil since thats what i had on hand and added a tiny bit of almond and vanilla extract. it smells great! i really wanted to make this now so i could see how it holds up long term, so i could make it for xmas gifts. i will repost after it has had time to set for a while and let you know if it all starts to dissolve or not. ok, i am back to say that it has been a month and a half and this scrub is as good today as it was when i first made it. i was afraid it would break down or something but it has held up wonderfully. and the smell it made by using a little almond and vanilla extract is wondeful. it smells like cookies. thanks for this recipe, i have already made more for xmas gifts.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cali~jenn December 09, 2008

I used this and enjoyed it very much. I followed the recipe as is and I will make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahMarie April 28, 2003

I LOVE this. I doubled the recipe, and put it in a jar in my shower...now I have it whenever I want it! It makes my skin so soft and smells so nice. Thanks so much for a wonderful INEXPENSIVE treat!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie May 10, 2003

Very nice. I added some scented oil as well to give it more of a fragrance. I used it as a hand scrub/moisturizer as well as in the shower.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke April 16, 2003

I found this recipemonths ago and finally got around to trying it.i doubled the recipe, so I would have plenty to share with friends that want to try it. It seemed too chunky to use in the shower, so I ran it through the food processor as some of the previous reviews suggested. I love the way it makes my skin feel, and a little of this goes a long way. I'm still a bit concerned about washing oatmeal and oils down my shower drain, so I'm very conservative when I use it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjones009 September 27, 2013

BEAUTIFUL! I've tried a few recipes on this site, salt and sugar scrubs, and this is the one! I will never use anything else and my over-40 skin has never looked or felt better! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! The only thing I changed was to use safflower oil vs. baby oil as petrolatum/petroleum byproducts are seriously bad for you and so why would I smooth that on my skin and negate all the benefits of being hydrated. Please, do the research and toss the baby oil. LOVE!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 December 27, 2012

This is wonderful! I made a 1/4 of the recipe and it made enough for two uses for me. Instead of the vitamin E ( I didn't have any) I used lavander scented massage oil which was very nice. I found that the salt gave me plenty of exfoliation and the oils left my skin nice ans smooth! Thanks for posting this :) made for the I recommend tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean March 31, 2009

I processed the oats in the food processor to make them slightly finer. Not a powder, but just a little more milled. I only had baby oil gel, so I just used enouh to make it come together like a crumble for a pie. It is definitely moisturizing, but I don't feel that it is abrasive enough to exfoliate much. Since my skin has trouble exfoliating I really need that. I may try adding in some extra dry ingredients to see if I can get it to exfoliate a little better. My skin does feel nice, though, so if all I can get it to do is moisturize, I'll just have to use a scrub first. It's a great base recipe, I just need to tweak it to make it work for me. Thanks for the great suggestion!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reeces Pieces November 16, 2008

This was so much fun! I didn't have any baby oil, so I used some cooking oil for the time being (will make again with baby oil!) but it's amazing and lot's of fun! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayla in Texas November 06, 2008

My skin has never felt softer after using this scrub! I used lavender scented baby oil and the smell was wonderful. I usually need some kind of body butter after I get out of the shower due to dry skin, but not when I use this!! I will definetly be giving this away for Christmas presents!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keebler832 August 11, 2008
Soft as a Baby's Butt Salt Scrub