Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2013

      I never rate anything but these are delicious! I let the dough refrigerate for two hours and it rolled out perfectly! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Help! I can't stop eating these cookies! I only use RecipeZaar (always have) and searched high and low for a s.c. recipe to add M&Ms to (like the ones you buy at the bakery). These are soooo good! The only alteration I made was I only had 2 sticks/cups of butter so I did 1/4 cup of smartblend margarine. Delicious, and easy ingredients you always have on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2014

      I agree with Chef#1375887...I can't stop eating these delicious cookies. I made these for a homeschool project for my pre-K sweetie and only needed one cookie for the project and now I have to eat the rest! YIKES! Great recipe and will surely use again! Thanks for sharing Hurley! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      These are Delicious!! They live up to their name very soft and chewy! I did melt my butter and used baking soda instead of baking powder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      I've made these numerous times already & am annoyed with myself for not having reviewed them sooner.... These are the the greatest. DH loves them & requests them often. Thank you, HuRLeY, for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Delish! Chewy, and lightly crispy around the edges. A great basic sugar cookie recipe. And I usually have everything to make these. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Delicious! I followed your recipe to a t "T" and they were a perfect combo of crispy and chewy. Made them for friends and they raved. Like another reviewer I can't stop eating them!! Maybe I made them smaller, but I got like 35 cookies, which is good news!! Thanks so much, I'll make these again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I didn't try using these for cut-out cookies, just regular round ones. When they first came out of the oven, I was disappointed. They were crispy and not at all chewy as advertised. But then the next day, they were perfect, so it just took some time for them to set, I guess. Most cookies are the opposite, they're only soft for the first day and then if left out, they get worse. These were awesome-stayed soft and chewy for several days uncovered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      These are so awesome! Even my husband who never eats sweets (especially cookies) loved them. Definitely not a recipe for cutting out shapes though - just big and soft and chewy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      Ok, I had a love hate relationship with this recipe and thought it was worthy of a review. First of all let me start by saying, the cookie itself tasted amazing- really sweet! The texture ended being chewy and tough. I tried to get the baking times right in 4 different batches but to no avail. If you want a cut-out recipe this is NOT THE ONE! My snowflakes looked like flowers when they were done. I think these need to stay round like a sugar cookie. I'm on to my next cut-out recipe, I am hopeful I'll find the perfect cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      These are, hands down, the best cookies we have EVER made. Real butter is a must! We rolled the first batch is Christmas sugar, the second batch went it a cinnamon-sugar mixture (both before baking) and the third batch got iced after baking (Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens). I also baked mine for 11 minutes and they were slightly crispy around the edges with a soft, chewy middle as advertised. Thanks for posting our new favorite cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Yum!! Soft and chewy, just like it says. I cut back on the sugar (about 1 1/2 cups, heaped) and it was still sweet enough without icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Wonderful! I spread them in a jelly roll pan and baked them like brownies (don't know exact time, maybe 20+ min??). I did NOT grease the pan (it was non-stick). They turned out PERFECT. It's a keeper. Kids love 'em. Used sprinkles mixed in the batter and colored sugar on top. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This recipe is delicious!! My little brother couldn't stop eating the dough, and the cookies were disappearing faster than I could make the. I used it to make dog bone shaped cookies, which didn't work. It is not for cut outs, unless they are thin. If you're making drop cookies or really simple shapes it probably works really well. I topped with cinnamon and sugar & royal icing. So gooood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      These are great!!! Very delicious!!! I recommend you eat them fast because they could get hard, or just put them in the microwave once your hungry for more. Overall they are awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe. My hubby is not a big sugar cookie fan but he ate 4 of these. They have a great flavor without being overly sweet. The edges are perfectly buttery crispy and the center is just the perfect consistency of softness. I especially love how you don't have to roll and cut. I think you could if you wanted to, the dough firms up nicely in the fridge. This is the easiest sugar cookie recipe I have ever done and I would HIGHLY recommend it.***update. Although these rolled well after chilled, they did not hold their shape very well. Our Jewish stars looked more like flowers :) If you're looking for precise rolled shapes, this is probably not the recipe you want to go with

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      the final outcome was pretty good. but the cookies took way too much babysitting, checked them after 9 min. & the middle was still very undercooked, while the edges were turning golden. i constantly took them out of the oven & patted the middle down to get them perfect. + had to add more flour to cookie mixture...this was just ok but not the best. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      Well i think these were great i just over cookd by accident because i looked and lookes and they seemed uncooked to me, but they were still good, i put four stars because y sister says somehting was missing: she says she likes them more fluffy, but one part of the batch was perfectly baked, not overcooked. So i think it was good i'll definatley make them again. About the fluffy thing i think that was on me, either way they are very good! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      These were exactly like I was looking for. I tried many sugar cookie recipes last Christmas season and couldn't find a REAL chewy one. I hate sugar cookies that need to be chilled, and come out of the oven like little ceramic tiles. These came out chewy--not soft, definitely not cakey, but chewy. DO NOT press these, or they will get ridiculously thin as they spread out in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Great recipe! Soft and buttery. I added food coloring to the dough (orange for harvest). I didn't need to refrigerate it--just made balls and dipped a glass in sugar to flatten them. My last batch I didn't flatten, so they were smaller but thicker and I liked those best, though the flatter ones would be easier to decorate. I skipped the colored sugar. These are not cake-like as Lofthouse brand cookies, but besides that, they're the closest I've come to the great taste and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.5
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    43%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 65.4 mg
    21%
    Sodium 247.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    107%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes