39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I never rate anything but these are delicious! I let the dough refrigerate for two hours and it rolled out perfectly! Thanks so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cburto23 December 24, 2013

Help! I can't stop eating these cookies! I only use RecipeZaar (always have) and searched high and low for a s.c. recipe to add M&Ms to (like the ones you buy at the bakery). These are soooo good! The only alteration I made was I only had 2 sticks/cups of butter so I did 1/4 cup of smartblend margarine. Delicious, and easy ingredients you always have on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dshbq6 January 14, 2010

I agree with Chef#1375887...I can't stop eating these delicious cookies. I made these for a homeschool project for my pre-K sweetie and only needed one cookie for the project and now I have to eat the rest! YIKES! Great recipe and will surely use again! Thanks for sharing Hurley! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArleneWhit November 27, 2014

These are Delicious!! They live up to their name very soft and chewy! I did melt my butter and used baking soda instead of baking powder!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 02, 2013

I've made these numerous times already & am annoyed with myself for not having reviewed them sooner.... These are the the greatest. DH loves them & requests them often. Thank you, HuRLeY, for such a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myxtl September 30, 2012

Delish! Chewy, and lightly crispy around the edges. A great basic sugar cookie recipe. And I usually have everything to make these. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp July 16, 2010

Delicious! I followed your recipe to a t "T" and they were a perfect combo of crispy and chewy. Made them for friends and they raved. Like another reviewer I can't stop eating them!! Maybe I made them smaller, but I got like 35 cookies, which is good news!! Thanks so much, I'll make these again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue May 20, 2010

I didn't try using these for cut-out cookies, just regular round ones. When they first came out of the oven, I was disappointed. They were crispy and not at all chewy as advertised. But then the next day, they were perfect, so it just took some time for them to set, I guess. Most cookies are the opposite, they're only soft for the first day and then if left out, they get worse. These were awesome-stayed soft and chewy for several days uncovered.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angel.e.bolka December 23, 2009

These are so awesome! Even my husband who never eats sweets (especially cookies) loved them. Definitely not a recipe for cutting out shapes though - just big and soft and chewy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn W. December 20, 2009

Ok, I had a love hate relationship with this recipe and thought it was worthy of a review. First of all let me start by saying, the cookie itself tasted amazing- really sweet! The texture ended being chewy and tough. I tried to get the baking times right in 4 different batches but to no avail. If you want a cut-out recipe this is NOT THE ONE! My snowflakes looked like flowers when they were done. I think these need to stay round like a sugar cookie. I'm on to my next cut-out recipe, I am hopeful I'll find the perfect cookie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Time4tea December 10, 2009
Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies