11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for my in-laws, who like cookies for Christmas presents. They are somewhat picky about their sugar cookies, and don't like the shortbread type. I also don't like to roll out and cut cookies with cutters. These really fit the bill! Thank you! Add to review 2012: I realized I was probably making them too thin because they were crispy instead of soft, so I made them thicker, like the recipe called for. Made all the difference in the world! They are still the best tasting sugar cookies I have ever made, crispy or not--sweet and buttery.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4theFamily January 03, 2013

I made these for Christmas and used colored sugars to roll them in. They were not only pretty but also pretty yummy! Thanks for the super sugar cookie recipe it is now added to my must-have list for chistmas cookie baking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old widow January 23, 2011

mmmmmmm is all i can say

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Liz September 19, 2009

I made this from Cook's Illustrated yesterday and looked to see if it had been posted to 'zaar. I followed the directions carefully but I am having some spreading. The flavor and texture are excellent. I rolled all of the dough in balls and froze the ones I wasn't immediately going to eat. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaJuneBug June 11, 2009

yum., but i actually did think they were quite sweet....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WonderMima December 08, 2008

Good buttery soft cookie and very quick and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mskelly66 September 07, 2007

This recipe was what i have been looking for in a long time. i am glad to have found this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B.Brown September 03, 2007

Loved these cookies! They come out very nicely, and I added frosting and sprinkles to some of them. They were delicious! The cookies were gone within 10 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Califlorican February 21, 2007

The cookies tasted good, but were completely flat and ugly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieMayes December 11, 2006

This is the recipe I was looking for. The cookie comes out soft and chewy. Just like the mall cookies. I used regular all purpose flour. Thanks for posting this recipe. I have made hundreds of different recipes and this was by far the easiest and best tasting of all the sugar cookies I have made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
grizzlygut October 07, 2006
Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies