Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sofrito sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sofrito sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2003

      A very interesting blend of flavors, definitely a must on any Mexican buffet. I tried this with steak and salad, but I believe it would be better with chicken. I couldn't find the annatto seeds (achiote), but did find a product called SazonGoya Con Culantro Y Achiote (Coriander & Annatto) in the ethnic foods section of my grocery store. I used one packet of this in place of the annato seeds, garlic and coriander called for in the recipe (the ingredients indicated there was also garlic in the mix).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This has amazing flavor (with a touch of salt) and is just the right combination. The only thing I was confused about was the annatto seeds...are they supposed to be whole or didn't my blender do the job properly? We ended up just picking them out since they were like rocks in the sauce. Nevertheless, DH enjoyed this with rice and later mixed with veggies in a burrito. Thanks Sharon!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Made this to put in Chili#271383 by Chef#418179#418179. I made only half a batch as I needed only that much. Should have made more and like others froze it in ice cube trays to use later. Very good and will use in other dishes. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Wow great recipe, thanks for posting it. Great flavor, will be used again and again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Made this as it was an ingredient needed to make Easy Pasta Sauce for PAC. Added a little salt to perk it up a bit and froze the remainder in the ice cube tray. This would also work well as a salsa dip for nacho chips! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Wonderful flavor and even more wonderful concept - freezing so it is recipe ready!!!!! I have cooked beside Cubans and Venezuelans and they use this in so many of their dishes - this will make those flavors readily available when I'm cooking after work or will be great to throw in with my eggs in the morning. BTW - I got about 8 small sofrito-cubes out of this and put them into a baggy in the freezer when they had hardened. A winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      wow. this was so good in my usual rice and beans recipe. i froze half in ice cube trays. thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      Turned out great, I recommend this recipe! I had to use paprika in place of the annatto seeds and it was great. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sofrito sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.8
     
    Calories from Fat 186
    72%
    Total Fat 20.7 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 243.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    annatto seeds

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites