11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fast and simple to prepare, wonderful for a midweek supper when you dont want to spend time in the kitchen. I used bacon, pancetta not being freely available here, and I had to use dried basil (so sorry) because my basil leaves weren't looking too healthy. We loved the bite of the red pepper flakes, and found this to be an excellent tomato sauce. Served over spaghetti. Thanks, Salesgirl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 25, 2009

Wow! Made using 4 oz of pancetta (chopped), 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (next time I'll use the full 1/2 tsp) & fire roasted tomatoes. I forgot to add the shaved parm/reggie I had intended to use, before I took the photos. I also added a little extra fresh basil, torn on top with the cheese & the flavor was amazing. We are a whole family of pasta lovers & DH commented that this was the best pasta recipe he can remember in recent years. I loved how simple & quick it was. Using ingredients that are almost always on hand, except the pancetta, which I bought special for this. But I know bacon would be just as great & will try it soon as well. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Salesgirl! :) Made & enjoyed for Zaar Chef Alphabet Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** June 17, 2009

Yum! Better than expected. I used two onions, 3 TBSP olive oil, 2 TBSP butter, 6 slices of bacon with fat trimmed off and chopped, and 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, and one 14,5 oz can of diced tomatoes as I didn't want to open up 2 cans to make a pound. It was still very, very delicious and a surprisingly rich, restaurant-quality taste. Even better the next day! Thanks Salesgirl! This is a new favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosas Preciosas April 11, 2009

This is really good. Made mine with bacon, onions, and rosemary and it tasted like the red sauce on Ledo's Pizza here on the east coast. Left out the red pepper flakes for the kids. The (diced) onions disappeared in the final product which is nice if you have onion haters in the group.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 January 24, 2009

I have been very remiss in not rating this a looong time before now. But, it truly doesn't appear that this recipe needs any more top ratings anyway :-)<br/>However......and nonetheless......this is a terrific recipe. Fast and Delicious and we have enjoyed the results many times over. The only change I've made is to cut back on the amount of onion and red peppers, but, other than that....I follow the recipe as it is written. Definitely a 5 Star recipe. Thanks so much for posting Salesgirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvadacook March 28, 2013

This was a wonderful pasta recipe that is very reminiscent of bucatini all'amatriciana. I went a little heavy on the pancetta (using about 6 oz. diced). This is so easy to make and yet delivers a ton of flavor. Highly recommended! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! November 07, 2012

Loved it! We absolutely loved it although I didn't have the exact ingredients and had to improvise. I used lemon-infused olive oil and an Italian chili pepper mix (chili pepper, garlic, salt, parsley, and chervil) instead of plain olive oil and red pepper flakes. We had it with bow tie pasta. I am definitely making this dish again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Magician July 12, 2009

How can a pasta dish that is so easy to make taste this good!! Used bacon and made as posted using basil fresh from the garden. Made for a great evening meal - definitely company quality and one I can't wait to serve to family and friends. Served with green salad and garlic toast - another Pasta recipe that will be seeing to repeats at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 05, 2008

This is 6 star from a pasta lover, Different but excellent. Used bacon and diced tomates. Will make again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ed&Theresa May 05, 2007

WoooHoo love this. Fast, Easy, DELISH. Only thing I did was leave out red pepper flakes (can't eat hot" but the rest was A-OK Making it again to bring to a group mtg. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MISSIB April 29, 2007
Sofia Loren's Pasta Sauce With Onions and Pancetta