Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sofia Loren's Pasta Sauce With Onions and Pancetta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sofia Loren's Pasta Sauce With Onions and Pancetta

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2009

      Fast and simple to prepare, wonderful for a midweek supper when you dont want to spend time in the kitchen. I used bacon, pancetta not being freely available here, and I had to use dried basil (so sorry) because my basil leaves weren't looking too healthy. We loved the bite of the red pepper flakes, and found this to be an excellent tomato sauce. Served over spaghetti. Thanks, Salesgirl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Wow! Made using 4 oz of pancetta (chopped), 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (next time I'll use the full 1/2 tsp) & fire roasted tomatoes. I forgot to add the shaved parm/reggie I had intended to use, before I took the photos. I also added a little extra fresh basil, torn on top with the cheese & the flavor was amazing. We are a whole family of pasta lovers & DH commented that this was the best pasta recipe he can remember in recent years. I loved how simple & quick it was. Using ingredients that are almost always on hand, except the pancetta, which I bought special for this. But I know bacon would be just as great & will try it soon as well. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Salesgirl! :) Made & enjoyed for Zaar Chef Alphabet Tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Yum! Better than expected. I used two onions, 3 TBSP olive oil, 2 TBSP butter, 6 slices of bacon with fat trimmed off and chopped, and 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, and one 14,5 oz can of diced tomatoes as I didn't want to open up 2 cans to make a pound. It was still very, very delicious and a surprisingly rich, restaurant-quality taste. Even better the next day! Thanks Salesgirl! This is a new favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This is really good. Made mine with bacon, onions, and rosemary and it tasted like the red sauce on Ledo's Pizza here on the east coast. Left out the red pepper flakes for the kids. The (diced) onions disappeared in the final product which is nice if you have onion haters in the group.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      I have been very remiss in not rating this a looong time before now. But, it truly doesn't appear that this recipe needs any more top ratings anyway :-)<br/>However......and nonetheless......this is a terrific recipe. Fast and Delicious and we have enjoyed the results many times over. The only change I've made is to cut back on the amount of onion and red peppers, but, other than that....I follow the recipe as it is written. Definitely a 5 Star recipe. Thanks so much for posting Salesgirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      This was a wonderful pasta recipe that is very reminiscent of bucatini all'amatriciana. I went a little heavy on the pancetta (using about 6 oz. diced). This is so easy to make and yet delivers a ton of flavor. Highly recommended! Made for Fall PAC 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Loved it! We absolutely loved it although I didn't have the exact ingredients and had to improvise. I used lemon-infused olive oil and an Italian chili pepper mix (chili pepper, garlic, salt, parsley, and chervil) instead of plain olive oil and red pepper flakes. We had it with bow tie pasta. I am definitely making this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      How can a pasta dish that is so easy to make taste this good!! Used bacon and made as posted using basil fresh from the garden. Made for a great evening meal - definitely company quality and one I can't wait to serve to family and friends. Served with green salad and garlic toast - another Pasta recipe that will be seeing to repeats at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      This is 6 star from a pasta lover, Different but excellent. Used bacon and diced tomates. Will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      WoooHoo love this. Fast, Easy, DELISH. Only thing I did was leave out red pepper flakes (can't eat hot" but the rest was A-OK Making it again to bring to a group mtg. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Great, unexpected flavor from so few ingredients! Rather than pancetta, I opted for bacon and cut back on the olive oil somewhat. I used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes that were hanging out in the pantry & 2 of the frozen basil cubes from last summer's harvest. ( Herbal Ice Cubes ) Such an easy recipe for such a wonderful dish! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sofia Loren's Pasta Sauce With Onions and Pancetta

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.2
     
    Calories from Fat 237
    83%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 10.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes