Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Socca (Provencal Savory Chickpea Pancake) - Gluten-Free Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Socca (Provencal Savory Chickpea Pancake) - Gluten-Free

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2010

      Excellent and easy. Preheating the skillet and letting the batter sit for 30 minutes are key points in this recipe....they were missing from the previous socca recipe I tried. I've made it several times, and have halved the recipe and made it in a smaller skillet for 2 people. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      10 Stars for me, this is my favourite new thing to make....especially now that I'm "officially" on the gluten free trail. I didn't want to heat up the oven for just this recipe, so I tried making it stovetop in my well seasoned cast iron pan ... and provided you leave it alone, and just cover loosely, it works. I even managed to flip it and got both sides nice and crispy that way. I'm sure I'll be relying on this one for all sorts of uses - this time I just had it plain, and took some as a snack for school - fantastic!! The onions in it are my favourite part...definitely don't omit those!! Thanks for the intro to such a fab recipe, i'll be checking out more of Mark Bittman's recipes now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      One word - AWESOME! I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe. I like chickpeas and I like rosemary but wasn't sure what they would be like together. This stuff is so good I could eat the entire thing right out of the oven! Crispy on the outside, soft inside. I will definitely be making this again. I served with olive tapenade and feta cheese. SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      this is very good with the tapenade!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      The cook time or prep time should include the time that the batter rests, or there should be a warning in the description. But, yay for chickpeas! This is the kind of thing you can make easily with on-hand materials (if you keep besan on hand) and odds and ends left in the fridge, which is excellent.Before broiling, I topped ours with feta, kalamata olives, and lots and lots of cherry tomatoes, cut in half. I left it under the broiler for several minutes, until the cheese started to melt. (Next time I'll do it longer, until the cheese starts to brown.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This is great! Cheap, easy, gluten/sugar/yeast free, has protein! Couldn't get any better. Thanks for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      We ate socca when we spent time in southern Francee -- it was a large, thin bland crepe seasoned heavily with black pepper. I had made it with another recipe once before and got that same result. Tried this recipe because I can't find my old one and this is very good, and so different. We liked the substantial thickness and chewy texture. The onions add a lot, even just a spoonful. We added freshly ground pepper to the batter, too, and that was really flavorful. This one's a keeper for both the taste and the low glycemic score.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      Fantastic recipe - I wanted to try this after having it in a restaurant - this recipe came out even better! I only had coarse chickpea flour and the result was lovely and rustic, and I used herbs de Provence as I had no rosemary. Scattered it with roast cherry tomatoes, and arugula leaves - c'est bon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      It's incredibly disturbing that something this easy and tasty exists and I never knew about it before. For once I can thank my lucky stars I went gluten free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Socca is quickly becoming one of my new favorite foods. This recipe turned out great and I will definitely make it again and again. Letting the batter sit for 30 minutes and adding the onions make this recipe stand out from the rest. Tonight I topped it with leftover home-made pesto, caramelized onions and roasted walnuts. It was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Awesome. We topped them like pizza with spinach and feta and tomato and they were incredible. The rosemary is essential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

    • on November 11, 2009

      I just made this for lunch. It is so good I want to just keep eating even though I am full. It's easy, cheap, and full of protein and fiber. What more could I want? I just finished eating and am constructing a list of people to email the recipe to - I know so many people you would love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Wow!!! These are soooo good. This was my first experience making and taisting a gluten, dairy, and (a bonus) yeast free recipe, and I ,and my family, was very impressed.Two of my boys have developed alergies. I've made it a total of three times and it is going into the family favorite cook book, which now is undergoing an overhaul . Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Wow! This was tasty. Much better than I expected. I used green onions and about a tsp of dried rosemary in mine. I didn't use the broiler but next time I would because the crispy edges are fantastic. I only baked it for 12 mins and would go longer next time. Good on it's own and very tasty with toppings especially anything spicy. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I'm eating this right now, topped with a layer of goat cheese (Cypress Grove Fromage Blanc) and halved red cherry and yellow pear tomatoes from the garden. Paired with a glass of Alsace pinot blanc, this is pure heaven! Assuming that you have the ingredients on hand, it's amazingly quick and easy to make. I substituted 5 green onions for the regular onion, to good effect. Other than that, I followed the instructions to the letter. Cut into cherry tomato-sized pieces and stuck through with a toothpick, this would be a outstanding appetizer for a wine and cheese party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2007

      I also opted for the pan method and left the onions out. I am addicted. I roasted some eggplant and cherry tomatoes and then carmelized the onions seperately and used this as a topping. Then, I thought, "These would taste good with some hot pepper jelly," so I bought some and I was right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      Yummy! I was pressed for time so I only let batter rest for 10 mins before cooking it on the stove, in a non stick frying pan and 1 tsp of oil. I was amazed at how these fluffed up even though there is no raising agent in this recipe! I was a bit unclear on how to do the onions. The ingredient list says sliced but then the method says they should be creamy? Also not clear on what kind of pepper to use. Should that be black pepper, red pepper flakes or...? I tend to cook with little or no salt where possible so for me they were a tad too salty. I will adjust the salt accordingly next time I make these. Finally, I plan to double this recipe. I only got 6 five to six inches round pancakes. That's far to little for something this yummy. They lend themselves to such a variety of toppings:-) Hmm wonder if they can be frozen? A sure hit, breakfast, lunch dinner even cut up small as appetizers. A sure winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This is the yummiest thing ever, even better than the local socca previously sold at Socca Oven in Berkeley. Love the onion and rosemary addition- I couldn't have it without it now! I top it with hummus, olives, or whatever I have on hand. YUM YUM YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      These are GRRReat! I made several batches--had them with your wonderful tapenade, with carmelized onions, with tomatoes and fresh mozzarella -- loved them every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Socca (Provencal Savory Chickpea Pancake) - Gluten-Free

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.0
     
    Calories from Fat 210
    56%
    Total Fat 23.4 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 616.1 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.6 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites