20 Reviews

Excellent and easy. Preheating the skillet and letting the batter sit for 30 minutes are key points in this recipe....they were missing from the previous socca recipe I tried. I've made it several times, and have halved the recipe and made it in a smaller skillet for 2 people. Thanks for posting it.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
limeleaf November 06, 2010

10 Stars for me, this is my favourite new thing to make....especially now that I'm "officially" on the gluten free trail. I didn't want to heat up the oven for just this recipe, so I tried making it stovetop in my well seasoned cast iron pan ... and provided you leave it alone, and just cover loosely, it works. I even managed to flip it and got both sides nice and crispy that way. I'm sure I'll be relying on this one for all sorts of uses - this time I just had it plain, and took some as a snack for school - fantastic!! The onions in it are my favourite part...definitely don't omit those!! Thanks for the intro to such a fab recipe, i'll be checking out more of Mark Bittman's recipes now.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner June 27, 2011

One word - AWESOME! I wasn't sure what to expect with this recipe. I like chickpeas and I like rosemary but wasn't sure what they would be like together. This stuff is so good I could eat the entire thing right out of the oven! Crispy on the outside, soft inside. I will definitely be making this again. I served with olive tapenade and feta cheese. SO GOOD!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds November 24, 2009

this is very good with the tapenade!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katherinea June 20, 2010

The cook time or prep time should include the time that the batter rests, or there should be a warning in the description. But, yay for chickpeas! This is the kind of thing you can make easily with on-hand materials (if you keep besan on hand) and odds and ends left in the fridge, which is excellent.Before broiling, I topped ours with feta, kalamata olives, and lots and lots of cherry tomatoes, cut in half. I left it under the broiler for several minutes, until the cheese started to melt. (Next time I'll do it longer, until the cheese starts to brown.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Podkayne June 09, 2010

This is great! Cheap, easy, gluten/sugar/yeast free, has protein! Couldn't get any better. Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D Rusak September 03, 2009

We ate socca when we spent time in southern Francee -- it was a large, thin bland crepe seasoned heavily with black pepper. I had made it with another recipe once before and got that same result. Tried this recipe because I can't find my old one and this is very good, and so different. We liked the substantial thickness and chewy texture. The onions add a lot, even just a spoonful. We added freshly ground pepper to the batter, too, and that was really flavorful. This one's a keeper for both the taste and the low glycemic score.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffernutter March 14, 2008

Fantastic recipe - I wanted to try this after having it in a restaurant - this recipe came out even better! I only had coarse chickpea flour and the result was lovely and rustic, and I used herbs de Provence as I had no rosemary. Scattered it with roast cherry tomatoes, and arugula leaves - c'est bon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shake'n'Cake April 19, 2013

It's incredibly disturbing that something this easy and tasty exists and I never knew about it before. For once I can thank my lucky stars I went gluten free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenlikesfood December 14, 2011

Socca is quickly becoming one of my new favorite foods. This recipe turned out great and I will definitely make it again and again. Letting the batter sit for 30 minutes and adding the onions make this recipe stand out from the rest. Tonight I topped it with leftover home-made pesto, caramelized onions and roasted walnuts. It was fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker June 20, 2011
Socca (Provencal Savory Chickpea Pancake) - Gluten-Free