21 Reviews

I am nott leaving a star rating on this because it isn't a poor rating due to the recipe. This is more of just a friendly warning or suggestion to other cooks wanting to make this even though they can't find all the ingredients. We couldn't find Dashi so after reading other reviews I decided to make it using stock. I went with low sodium chicken because of the sodium content in the soy sauce. To anyone else out there considering doing this, DON"T I wasn't happy with the flavor of this at all, nor was anyone else in the family. Just one of those things, sometimes you can make substitutions with great success and other times.......well not so much. Next time we go somewhere near an Asian Market, I will be sure to pick up some dashi. I can't wait to try this as written. It sounds so good.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom January 03, 2013

This is absolutely delicious!! We could not find any instant dashi powder, so I made my own dashi stock. Part of that process included using shiitake mushrooms, so I just added those to the soup. I had a miso paste, wasn't sure if I should use red or yellow. I used red. My husband couldn't get enough! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamalita62 January 09, 2011

We did not have any carrots, dashi stock and a scarse amount of miso soup powder but it turned out really great anyways! I used 2 vegetable stock cubes and also added 3 red sliced chilies for some heat and a few slivers of fresh ginger which I think really added just the right amount of kick. Can't wait to have it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redhaute June 15, 2010

This soup is delicious, filling, easy, wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hadair4 April 02, 2010

used mirin instead of sugar and my dashi was in powder form so did not have to strain it. Used dried miso soup packets. Next time i will add dried shitake mushrooms (soak them separately first and slice) and miso paste, a splash of sake would be good too. Put jar of chili flakes on table as they do in Japan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi March 17, 2010

Y-U-M! This is super yummy. Used frozen spinach as that's all I had. I also threw in some fresh mushrooms. I drained the tofu really well first and used the stock I had on hand since I couldn't find dashi stock. I put everything in the crock pot minus the noodles and simmered on high for 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Poured over noodles and served. Great leftovers, too! Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea March 10, 2010

I made this the other night for supper and we all enjoyed this. I was leary about finding all the ingredients for this but decieded to check out our local asian food market. I found it all and then some....lol. We liked the flavor of this soup. I am thinking of making this for one of my soups on Christmas Eve, for something different. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 23, 2009

Yum, yum, yum, yum. A fabulous soup recipe! I made this exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! My children and I ate the entire pot for dinner!! Thanks, Sharon, for a delish of a recipe that will be a mainstay at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prayztwice April 24, 2009

I don't know why but I had my doubts as I was making this, smelling how strong the soy sauce is... but boy oh boy is this ever delicious! I too don't have and couldn't find Dashi at my grocer so I used a box of Vegetable broth (which is about 4 cups) added another 4 cups of water (I was concerned about the salt content) and then followed everything else exact except added a handful of shitake mushrooms and used green onion instead of scallions. I'm confused though why the recipe would say to add Miso if desired, it's a must, it's what makes the soup so good!! Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel#608 September 24, 2008

This is very good miso soup. I used veggie broth instead of dashi broth and it came out just fine. I agree with previous posters, this soup really needs the miso. Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefsgk November 10, 2007
Soba Soup With Spinach and Tofu