Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Soba Soup With Spinach and Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Soba Soup With Spinach and Tofu

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2013

      I am nott leaving a star rating on this because it isn't a poor rating due to the recipe. This is more of just a friendly warning or suggestion to other cooks wanting to make this even though they can't find all the ingredients. We couldn't find Dashi so after reading other reviews I decided to make it using stock. I went with low sodium chicken because of the sodium content in the soy sauce. To anyone else out there considering doing this, DON"T I wasn't happy with the flavor of this at all, nor was anyone else in the family. Just one of those things, sometimes you can make substitutions with great success and other times.......well not so much. Next time we go somewhere near an Asian Market, I will be sure to pick up some dashi. I can't wait to try this as written. It sounds so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This is absolutely delicious!! We could not find any instant dashi powder, so I made my own dashi stock. Part of that process included using shiitake mushrooms, so I just added those to the soup. I had a miso paste, wasn't sure if I should use red or yellow. I used red. My husband couldn't get enough! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      We did not have any carrots, dashi stock and a scarse amount of miso soup powder but it turned out really great anyways! I used 2 vegetable stock cubes and also added 3 red sliced chilies for some heat and a few slivers of fresh ginger which I think really added just the right amount of kick. Can't wait to have it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      This soup is delicious, filling, easy, wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      used mirin instead of sugar and my dashi was in powder form so did not have to strain it. Used dried miso soup packets. Next time i will add dried shitake mushrooms (soak them separately first and slice) and miso paste, a splash of sake would be good too. Put jar of chili flakes on table as they do in Japan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Y-U-M! This is super yummy. Used frozen spinach as that's all I had. I also threw in some fresh mushrooms. I drained the tofu really well first and used the stock I had on hand since I couldn't find dashi stock. I put everything in the crock pot minus the noodles and simmered on high for 3 1/2 to 4 hours. Poured over noodles and served. Great leftovers, too! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I made this the other night for supper and we all enjoyed this. I was leary about finding all the ingredients for this but decieded to check out our local asian food market. I found it all and then some....lol. We liked the flavor of this soup. I am thinking of making this for one of my soups on Christmas Eve, for something different. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      Yum, yum, yum, yum. A fabulous soup recipe! I made this exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing! My children and I ate the entire pot for dinner!! Thanks, Sharon, for a delish of a recipe that will be a mainstay at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I don't know why but I had my doubts as I was making this, smelling how strong the soy sauce is... but boy oh boy is this ever delicious! I too don't have and couldn't find Dashi at my grocer so I used a box of Vegetable broth (which is about 4 cups) added another 4 cups of water (I was concerned about the salt content) and then followed everything else exact except added a handful of shitake mushrooms and used green onion instead of scallions. I'm confused though why the recipe would say to add Miso if desired, it's a must, it's what makes the soup so good!! Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      This is very good miso soup. I used veggie broth instead of dashi broth and it came out just fine. I agree with previous posters, this soup really needs the miso. Thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Very quick and very healthy too~ I will be making this pretty often from now on :) Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      This was an excellent soup which was ridiculously easy to make. We will definitely be making this one again. I added some shitake mushrooms and I used 14 ounces of tofu because that was the size of the package and whenever I have left over tofu it tends to go to waste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Yumm, this turned out fantastic and it is so easy to make. I am going to make this again and again, especially for quick lunches. We also did not have dashi stock, so just used veggie stock. I also added some fresh shitake mushrooms. Thanks for another great one, Sharon 123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      A very tasty soup, devoured by three of us in one sitting as a main meal. I used fresh soba noodles, 2 tablespoons red miso, a mixture of spinach and mizuna leaves and added some dried shiitake mushrooms. Next time I may use a low salt soy sauce. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2006

      Am also unfamiliar with dashi stock so I used vegetable broth. Perhaps for that reason this soup came out a bit salty (I also included miso), but otherwise very good, and very low in fat. On top of that I used a lite tofu but it was low enough in calories with regular. I would even suggest adding a teaspoon or so of sesame oil for taste. It's a very pretty soup too - photo to follow this review.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      This was very good. I didn't have dashi (unfamiliar) but I used homemade veggie broth and added dulse flakes. I didn't use miso and I used chives instead of scallions. I think mushrooms would make a nice addition. Healthy and good! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      Interesting using ingredients which I haven't used before. What surprised me is how much my ds loved this soup -- he had three bowlfuls!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      Mmm, this was goooood! It was also extremely quick and easy to put together too, and surprisingly filling. I omitted the scallions (none on-hand) and added 2 sliced mushrooms with the spinach and tofu. We also added shredded daikon on top at the table. I forgot the miso at first, but then realized and added it. It really adds an amazing depth to the flavors and I would not recommend leaving it out... not that the soup was bad without it, it was just so much better with! Great flavors and colors- really a beautiful dish with the brown broth, tan buckwheat noodles, orange carrots, green spinach and white tofu. Thank you so much for posting- I will definitely be making this again! We served this as a main dish with Sue L's Japanese Pickled Daikon and Carrot Salad (#29119) on the side. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      i substituted shrimp for tofu- and i did add some miso,this was an excellent starter to our asian themed dinner- and so quick and easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      This is TOTAL comfort food! I made this for lunch on a cold, rainy day and it really hit the spot. I did add the miso and I'm glad of it because it really adds to this soup. Thanks Sharon, I've been looking for a soup like this and I'll for sure be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Soba Soup With Spinach and Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (449 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.2
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    10%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2004.2 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant dashi stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes