Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2003

      The spice rub on this pork is excellent.....the pork is succulent and tender. The sauce is not bad, but I like my BBQ sauce sweet, spicy and smoky. The sweetness was pretty dead on the money (I added about 2 tbsp brown sugar). I added about 2 TBSP black pepper, 1 TBSP ground Coriander, a pinch of cayenne, and about 2 TBSP of Liquid Smoke. I also rubbed liquid smoke into the meat before cooking. When I make this again, and believe me I will, I will probably substitute dark brown sugar for the turbinado. I guess the brown sugar is sweeter and smaller grained so it works into the meat more.....but that is me, I have a sweet tooth! Thank you for such a heavenly recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2003

      We absolutely loved this! I prepared it exactly as stated, even with the turbinado sugar, which I had never heard of before. The sauce is awesome! I made it with Mean's China Moon Double Chicken Stock. And then I also made the Pig Pickin Sauce. They are very different from each other. They are both terrific with this. They only enhance the pork though, because the pork is excellent on it's own, too. The stock and the pork take time to make, but none of it is difficult. If you're thinking about trying this, you should! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      Wow! This was awesome Mean! I was having my family over for dinner and I wanted to make something out of this world, so I opted for your pulled pork. I always worry when I make a recipe for the first time, especially when having company over, but it turned out perfect. The meat just fell apart. Unfortunately, I did something wrong with the sauce, so it looked very unappetizing when it was finally done. (After all the rave reviews, I guess I'll just have to keep doing it 'til I get it right!) I plan on making this often. It was so easy and absolutley scrumptious! Thanks for a great new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      AMAZING! we had a 4 pound pork butt and leeannr's time estimate was right on...but to be sure you should check the internal temperature. i followed the recipe exactly except i didn't make the sauce...just used the rub only. every bite was full of flavor and the pork wass succulent and juicy. we slathered ours with barbecue sauce and ate them on cheap white buns and we all were in heaven (5 out of 6 family memebers loved it and the one that didn't...well that child hates everything so he doesn't count LOL). not a scrap left so i guess i will have to make it again soon. a keeper! thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Great recipe but I made two big mistakes making this that I'd like to share so other beginner cooks like me won't fall prey! 1. I've never made a rub and I had a 3.5 lb butt...that I covered with the entire rub...yep, slathered it on, let it sit, slathered another layer on...and then gooped the rest on right before popping it in the oven for good measure. This was a bad idea. This put too much salt onto the roast. But, other than having a very salty crust, the pulled pork was Very Excellent in 9 hours at 250 in the oven. 2. I've never made BBQ sauce - or reduced a sauce like this - so I had No Idea it would take 3 hours! I started the sauce about an hour before I thought the roast would be done, and planned to keep it covered when it finished! So, beginner chefs, take note: Rub your roast with the mixture once and leave it be! AND allow 3 hours to reduce the BBQ sauce :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      The rub is fantastic. I just pulled the roast out of the oven and I can't keep away from it! The rub makes it spicy without being overwhelmingly hot. I'm not making the bbq sauce this time, but I'll use this rub over and over. Oh, and I took the roast out of the oven after 8 hours. The roast is around 6 lbs and only reached 168 degrees, but pork is fully cooked at 165. It would probably have been overcooked had I left it in to reach 195. Oh, I need to go make a sandwich :) Thanks for this one! (I just have to update to say this roast is the best thing I've ever made! Also, because I pulled it out of the oven at a lower temperature than called for, it doesn't pull apart but is perfect for slicing. The only bad part is that it's almost gone now.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Words fail me. I was stunned that I had produced such a masterpiece. My husband adores BBQ and I made this recipe in hopes of "knocking his socks off". It had the desired effect and then some! Thanks so much for this recipe - I felt like a Master Chef for the day. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      Okay, I'll put in my 2 cents worth. If nothing else it will get this recipe back on the most recently reviewed list where more people may find it because the more people that find this, the better the meat that exists in the world will taste. I made the rub exactly as written and I will never change a thing about it. I rubbed it on 2 shoulder portions - one that was 2 1/2 pounds and one that was 3 1/2 pounds. I let them rest in and out of the fridge as directed and cooked them at 250 for 9 hours - perfect. As I type I have a 10 pound brisket that I cut up (to get more surface area for more rub taste) cooking the same way. I tried the molasses BBQ sauce but I was not thrilled, but I'm sure this is just personal preference rather than a flawed recipe. Absolutely some of the best meat I have ever tasted. My wife and I ate the meat with no sauce the second time we had this. Brilliant recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      AMAZING!! I tried this dish for the first time when I had some friends over. It smelled so good that while I was pulling the meat into chunks to serve it, my friends were hanging over my shoulder picking pieces out of the pan. One of them even asked for some of the leftovers to take home.

      This is already in my recipe book as a favorite. So easy and inexpensive to make, and so incredibly yummy! The spice rub gives it an awesome kick and keeps the meat wonderfully moist while it's roasting. Mmmmm . . .

      UPDATE: For those who either have trouble finding or can't manage the extra expense of turbinado sugar, I have made this recipe several times with brown sugar and can't tell the difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      I followed this recipe exactly as written -rare for me - except I cut it in half because I had a three lb picnic roast. I threw the roast in the crockpot on two balls of foil in the morning so it wouldn't sit in it's own grease and turned it on low. I came home at lunch, stuck a fork in it, cleaned the fork in my mouth (like a good cook) and went uh-oh. After work we all got home and I told my husband the rub was incredibly spicy and if the pork was bad we could go out. I started to pull it and I couldn't keep him from picking it. It was FAR from bad. In fact the planned leftovers were eaten for dinner on Kings Hawaiian rolls, cole slaw and bbq sauce and my husband and son sat around the house after dinner like they had just got up from the Thanksgiving table. It was excellent. I went grocery shopping tonite and bought two more picnic roasts so I can do this again - twice. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Oh My Goodness !!! This was absolutely delicious pork, so tender and juicy. I cooked it for 10 hours on low in the crockpot. I had bought a 3 1/2 lb. pork butt and reduced the rub in half and there was plenty of rub. I didn't make the sauce to go with this recipe because the person that joined us for lunch was allergic to some things in that sauce so I had made the Pig Pickin Sauce instead. Personally I would of preferred the sauce that was part of this recipe but they liked it. This made for a terrific lunch and I served it with homemade coleslaw and my home made baked beans. Wonderful !!! Thanks so much for adopting this recipe and sharing Bekah...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Best pulled pork ever!!! Just used brown sugar instead of turbinado. Be sure to use the "Pig Picken Sauce" also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Okay...here goes! Rating #249. Why is it neccessary you ask? Obviously everybody already knows this is an awesome recipe....but let me tell you something: I...who can barely cook....actually followed this receipe TO THE LETTER and all of a sudden I am a HEROINE! People are looking at me like I am a BarBQue Goddess! I try and act humble....but I have impressed even myself!!!!!! And other than getting up at the crack of dawn so I could let this sit for two hours before putting it in the oven....it was a simple recipe to follow! This is better than anything we can buy here in South Carolina....perhaps I should open a restaurant! But maybe I'm getting ahead of myself a bit.......!!!!! THANK YOU MEAN CHEF! I owe you big time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      What, no option for 26 stars?!?!?! Thats what this deserves! As always, followed Meanie's recipe to the letter and was blown away!!! My BF, DS and I ate all afternoon during superbowl (OK, I started picking at 9am :-) This will get made again and again and again!! Love you Meanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      I didn't make the sauce but the rub was excellent! I made the full amount but didn't need all of it to cover my 3.5lb butt. I shredded the meat and combined the remaining rub mixture and bbq sauce into my slow cooker set on Low for about an hour. I couldn't believe the response I got from this, after only a few bites, requests came in to make this again ASAP...looks like the oven will be on all summer long, thanks a lottttttttttt Meanie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

    • on March 06, 2011

      I've been meaning to rate this for awhile now as I have tried it quite a few times. It is a great recipe, but I still feel like something is missing. I made it the first time to the letter, and the second time, adjusted to use less black pepper. While the pork does come out really well, I finally figured out what I am missing. The smokey flavor. Since I don't have a smoker, I was wondering how I could go about infusing it into the pork. Liquid Smoke maybe?? Overall, I will keep trying. It's a good rub, just needs that smoke flavor for me to feel like it is authentic BBQ place pulled pork.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I have made this over five times or so for party's and it is always a hit if you want people to remeber your food make this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Very good. My first time using a rub. I cooked mine until the internal temperature was 195. I didn't want it to dry out, so took it out then. Next time I would leave it a little longer as parts of it were falling apart tender, but others were not so tender. Used Pig Pickin sauce, but my husband liked it with some Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce added on the sandwich. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Absolutley delicious. I have a very low tolerance for heat, so I will take down the chili powder next time. I followed the lead of another review and used the crock pot, on low for about 8 hrs. My husband said this has a sort of dark flavor. I thought that was a good description. That and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    13%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1882.6 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork butt

    turbinado sugar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites