285 Reviews

This is fabulous (but you already knew that). Before I was hospitalized a year ago, one of my favourite restaurants was Hogs on The Hill near the University of Maryland campus. And one of their locally famous specialties was pulled pork – I could not get enough of the stuff, and often ordered extra to bring home and freeze. Of course, my low-salt diet put the brakes on my visiting that fine establishment. I had my local butcher call me when he got a fresh pig, and he cut me a huge pork butt from it. As soon as I got it home, I thought I heard it still oinking, so I took my wee butcher knife and stabbed it all over, just to make sure that it was dead. As I was rubbing it with your spice mixture (duplicated faithfully except for salt substitution) I poked some of the mix deep into the wounds that I had inflicted. Then, after overnight resting and subsequent re-rubbing, I slow-roasted it at 250°F for close to 9 hours. The beast was so tender that it almost “pulled” itself and fell into chunks as I was trying to lift it out of the roasting pan. The outside was almost charred, and yet it was glistening moist and had me nibbling on the burned bits as I was completing the “pulling” process. Your sauce was amazing. Because I had a large cut of meat to begin with, I had to make a second batch of sauce in order to have enough to be able to serve additional sauce. Even prior to making your sauce recipe, I have found myself using dates more and more in other savoury sauces – they really add oomph to it. My wife, who previously disliked most pork dishes, wanted me to make a point of awarding your recipe a whole bunch of frequent flier miles. She took pulled pork sandwiches to work for lunch 3 days in a row.

74 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® September 20, 2002

Since we don't eat pork I made Pulled Cow. It's really the rub and sauce that are the stars of this show! I used a dark brown sugar instead of the turbinado sugar, and double the quantity of minced dates. Heaven! I served this with mashed potatoes and my kids were practically licking their plates clean! My BH had 2 1/2 helpings and had to be rolled from the table. I think this would work well with almost any kind of meat. Thanks, Mean Chef, this has already started to make the rounds in my community!

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj May 07, 2002

Absolutely awesome! So tender, so juicy, so delicious! The sauce is a little sweet and very tasty - the pork is indescribable. Everyone raved over this! I think I love you, MEANCHEF!

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue May 25, 2002

Fantastic method and a great rub. With just the two of us it's hard to justify cooking a whole Boston Butt, so I did a 2 lb loil roast with the same method. I brined the meat in 1/2 cup of salt, 1 cup of sugar and 1 qt of cold water for 2 hrs, let the rub sit on for 4 hrs. I didn't bring it up to room temperature before putting it in the oven. It cooked for 4.5 hrs to an internal temperature of 198 degrees. It was fall-apart tender with tons of flavor! Thanks MC for a terrific recipe.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steve_G October 14, 2002

A rave for this one! I join the others in rating this just great. I used the recipe exactly….except for two things. My market had thick sliced port butt on sale and since it was half the price of their whole butt I opted to use that. I was somewhat concerned about the amount of spice, since I had so much more surface to rub. But, not to fear, it was wonderful. My thick chops were wonderful even before the pulling and the saucing. Also, I forgot to buy a tomato and didn’t want to open the extra large can I had, so I put in a squeeze of tomato paste from a tube I keep in the fridge for just such emergencies.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaR August 23, 2002

Fabulous, as promised! I didn't change a thing. The meat is oh-so-tender & the sauce is absolutely out of this world! DH suggested making up the sauce to use as BBQ for ribs, chicken, whatever - which, YES, I plan to do in the future. I served the meat on warm tortillas with sides of shredded lettuce and chopped onion, so each could make their own to their liking. Thanks, MC! - 5 stars!!!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee May 06, 2002

Absolutely fantastic! I've made this 3 times now, and it is a stunner every time. It is also the easiest thing in the world to cook and get right. Everyone who eats it wants the recipe. An interesting thing happened with one of them which I will relay in case it helps anyone. My friend insists that anything can be put into a crockpot and taste just as good. So she did hers in a crockpot and invited me to dinner. First of all, it seemed to take a much longer time. After 9 hours it had only reached about 160* F and was definitely nowhere near ready to "pull". So she put the heat up and finished it in a hurry. When the meat emerged it had a strange, slimy, yellowy coating, not at all appetising to look at. The taste was just ok, but missing was the wonderful crust that develops slowly with the juice coming out of the pork in dry heat. Back to the real thing: it makes fabulous sandwiches the next day, especially with the pigpickin' sauce drizzled over them. It also makes a great sandwich put under the broiler with some havarti cheese and jalepenos on top. Great, great recipe.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jangomango November 11, 2002

Wonderful recipe! The only change I made was to use green onions instead of shallots (couldn't find any). I made the Molasses Barbecue Sauce and the Pig Pickin Sauce to accompany the pork. Half liked the Molasses, the other half the Pig Picking Sauce. I guess I'll have to make both sauces every time I make this recipe. I served this with barbecued beans and coleslaw.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess October 20, 2002

Well...I am a believer. I'm Scandanavian and don't tolerate a lot of spices, so the paprika, pepper and cayanne were a stretch for me, but I hung in there am am so glad I did. I pulled the pork, then diced it and the spiced dispersed nicely with the sauce for a lovely flavor. I served it with garlic potatoes and froze half of the dinner for a later, no brainer dinner when we are in a hurry. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe. I love slow cooking, especially on a rainy day. This is definitey a 5 star recipe...a rare honor.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie August 25, 2002

WOW!!! Like everyone says, this was incredable, what a success!! Everyone that came now has the recipe. Followed everything exactly, but had to use regular brown sugar in the rub, it was wonderful anyway! In the fantastic sauce I had to use onions instead of shallots, couldn't get any decent shallots. It took about 8 1/2 hours and came apart so easily. As everyone in the thread said to use CWB, we found the cheepest possible and still can't figure why cheap white buns?? Although admittedly, they were perfect, don't know why! I made 3 different sauces, to see which we liked best and without doubt, your molasses bbq sauce was outstanding! (a bit sweet for me, but I was outnumbered!)Thanks Mean Chef for turning my thoughts about pulled pork around, dry heat is definately it and the rub is still tingling. The flavours were fantastic! There was some meat left over so I did it up in wraps and froze them, looking forward to some great lunches!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 20, 2002
So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now