Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now

    Average Rating:

    285 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 285

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This is fabulous (but you already knew that). Before I was hospitalized a year ago, one of my favourite restaurants was Hogs on The Hill near the University of Maryland campus. And one of their locally famous specialties was pulled pork – I could not get enough of the stuff, and often ordered extra to bring home and freeze. Of course, my low-salt diet put the brakes on my visiting that fine establishment. I had my local butcher call me when he got a fresh pig, and he cut me a huge pork butt from it. As soon as I got it home, I thought I heard it still oinking, so I took my wee butcher knife and stabbed it all over, just to make sure that it was dead. As I was rubbing it with your spice mixture (duplicated faithfully except for salt substitution) I poked some of the mix deep into the wounds that I had inflicted. Then, after overnight resting and subsequent re-rubbing, I slow-roasted it at 250°F for close to 9 hours. The beast was so tender that it almost “pulled” itself and fell into chunks as I was trying to lift it out of the roasting pan. The outside was almost charred, and yet it was glistening moist and had me nibbling on the burned bits as I was completing the “pulling” process. Your sauce was amazing. Because I had a large cut of meat to begin with, I had to make a second batch of sauce in order to have enough to be able to serve additional sauce. Even prior to making your sauce recipe, I have found myself using dates more and more in other savoury sauces – they really add oomph to it. My wife, who previously disliked most pork dishes, wanted me to make a point of awarding your recipe a whole bunch of frequent flier miles. She took pulled pork sandwiches to work for lunch 3 days in a row.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2002

      Since we don't eat pork I made Pulled Cow. It's really the rub and sauce that are the stars of this show! I used a dark brown sugar instead of the turbinado sugar, and double the quantity of minced dates. Heaven! I served this with mashed potatoes and my kids were practically licking their plates clean! My BH had 2 1/2 helpings and had to be rolled from the table. I think this would work well with almost any kind of meat. Thanks, Mean Chef, this has already started to make the rounds in my community!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      Absolutely awesome! So tender, so juicy, so delicious! The sauce is a little sweet and very tasty - the pork is indescribable. Everyone raved over this! I think I love you, MEANCHEF!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      Fantastic method and a great rub. With just the two of us it's hard to justify cooking a whole Boston Butt, so I did a 2 lb loil roast with the same method. I brined the meat in 1/2 cup of salt, 1 cup of sugar and 1 qt of cold water for 2 hrs, let the rub sit on for 4 hrs. I didn't bring it up to room temperature before putting it in the oven. It cooked for 4.5 hrs to an internal temperature of 198 degrees. It was fall-apart tender with tons of flavor! Thanks MC for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      A rave for this one! I join the others in rating this just great. I used the recipe exactly….except for two things. My market had thick sliced port butt on sale and since it was half the price of their whole butt I opted to use that. I was somewhat concerned about the amount of spice, since I had so much more surface to rub. But, not to fear, it was wonderful. My thick chops were wonderful even before the pulling and the saucing. Also, I forgot to buy a tomato and didn’t want to open the extra large can I had, so I put in a squeeze of tomato paste from a tube I keep in the fridge for just such emergencies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      Fabulous, as promised! I didn't change a thing. The meat is oh-so-tender & the sauce is absolutely out of this world! DH suggested making up the sauce to use as BBQ for ribs, chicken, whatever - which, YES, I plan to do in the future. I served the meat on warm tortillas with sides of shredded lettuce and chopped onion, so each could make their own to their liking. Thanks, MC! - 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Absolutely fantastic! I've made this 3 times now, and it is a stunner every time. It is also the easiest thing in the world to cook and get right. Everyone who eats it wants the recipe. An interesting thing happened with one of them which I will relay in case it helps anyone. My friend insists that anything can be put into a crockpot and taste just as good. So she did hers in a crockpot and invited me to dinner. First of all, it seemed to take a much longer time. After 9 hours it had only reached about 160* F and was definitely nowhere near ready to "pull". So she put the heat up and finished it in a hurry. When the meat emerged it had a strange, slimy, yellowy coating, not at all appetising to look at. The taste was just ok, but missing was the wonderful crust that develops slowly with the juice coming out of the pork in dry heat. Back to the real thing: it makes fabulous sandwiches the next day, especially with the pigpickin' sauce drizzled over them. It also makes a great sandwich put under the broiler with some havarti cheese and jalepenos on top. Great, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Wonderful recipe! The only change I made was to use green onions instead of shallots (couldn't find any). I made the Molasses Barbecue Sauce and the Pig Pickin Sauce to accompany the pork. Half liked the Molasses, the other half the Pig Picking Sauce. I guess I'll have to make both sauces every time I make this recipe. I served this with barbecued beans and coleslaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Well...I am a believer. I'm Scandanavian and don't tolerate a lot of spices, so the paprika, pepper and cayanne were a stretch for me, but I hung in there am am so glad I did. I pulled the pork, then diced it and the spiced dispersed nicely with the sauce for a lovely flavor. I served it with garlic potatoes and froze half of the dinner for a later, no brainer dinner when we are in a hurry. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe. I love slow cooking, especially on a rainy day. This is definitey a 5 star recipe...a rare honor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      WOW!!! Like everyone says, this was incredable, what a success!! Everyone that came now has the recipe. Followed everything exactly, but had to use regular brown sugar in the rub, it was wonderful anyway! In the fantastic sauce I had to use onions instead of shallots, couldn't get any decent shallots. It took about 8 1/2 hours and came apart so easily. As everyone in the thread said to use CWB, we found the cheepest possible and still can't figure why cheap white buns?? Although admittedly, they were perfect, don't know why! I made 3 different sauces, to see which we liked best and without doubt, your molasses bbq sauce was outstanding! (a bit sweet for me, but I was outnumbered!)Thanks Mean Chef for turning my thoughts about pulled pork around, dry heat is definately it and the rub is still tingling. The flavours were fantastic! There was some meat left over so I did it up in wraps and froze them, looking forward to some great lunches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      This was my first time to cook a pork butt, but they were on sale so I bought 3. My DH and DS fancy themselves pulled pork connoisseurs. My 16 year old said to his father, (whispering) "This is either going to be either really good or really bad." When those two tasted the results, they declared that it was better than Corky's of Memphis(their personal Mecca of bar-b-q joints.) This is a fantastic recipe. So easy. The aroma coming from the oven was mouth watering. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will be serving it for the next family get together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This is just amazing pulled pork. And amazingly easy! I was a bit nervous, as it was my first time making this. But it couldn't have been any easier! The most work was chopping the few things for the sauce. And that was a cinch. My husband was begging me to try this, so I went straight to your recipe, Mean. I have orders to put it in regular rotation here. We were thinking the meat without the sauce(which is delicious, and the aroma it gives off while simmering is making me drool all over again) would make a great filling for enchiladas, with a good mole sauce. Again, this is very easy to make, even for a beginner. The ingredients are common and easy to find, and the oven does all the work. Just pop the pork in the oven,and leave it alone. Our pork butt was 3-4 pounds, and after 5 hours at 250°, registered 200° on the meat thermometer. Pulled apart very easily! Served on cheap white buns with cole slaw and Pepsi. Heaven! Thanks Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      I am making this awesome dish for the 3rd time & I can't wait for it to be finished cooking. I had never cooked pork butt before and had no idea how much the pork butt called for in the recipe should weigh. My butcher (who does not sell pork butt) suggested I use a 3 pound pork shoulder. It was tasty, pulled apart with ease but was quite overdone since it had cooked for the recommended cooking time. But I was not to be discouraged! My 2nd attempt was a much larger trussed shoulder (about 5 pounds) and the results were much more tender and juicy yet the crust was just perfect when pulled apart and mixed into the soft meat. The taste was amazing. It was hard to stop nibbling as I was stacking the meat on the buns. The sauce was fantastic and I will try the pig pickin sauce also this time around. I raved so much about this recipe that my friend in Whistler, B.C. cooked it ... she thought she had died and gone to heaven. Since her dh does not eat pork, she tried the rub on a chicken and swears it was the best roast chicken she's ever had. I will also try this rub on a big brisket for all my friends who don't eat pork. This rub just rocks! Thanks Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Getting up at 6 in the morning, on a Saturday, goes against everything I believe in, but it was well worth it for this recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter, and served on buns, topped with coleslaw. This was the first time I made pulled pork, and it was delicious, but next time I will trim more fat off while pulling, as I found a bit too much gristle in my sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Refer to Mean Chef's "Pig-Pickin Sauce" to douse this pork in for SHEER EASTERN NC BBQ BLISS. Thanks so much for the recipes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      This is amazing! We all loved it and believe me it will be the only way I cook pork for sandwiches from now on. The rub is excellent, the sauce is great. I served it with my Garlic Potatoes and coleslaw. Absolutely fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      It doesn't get better than this... and that's no lie...I am in hog heaven... Thanks to Mean Chef for the most killer recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Fabulous! Can't add more as all the prior reviewers stole my words.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      Although I have made pulled pork many times before, I am always looking for a new way to season it...and this rub was fantastic. The pork was tender, juicy, and had a nice sweet/spicy taste combination (I added a bit more cayenne than the recipe calls for). The Pig Pickin Sauce is my favorite, so I used it this time. Maybe I'll try the Molasses Sauce next time. Hey, just because our politics don't rub together doesn't mean we can't enjoy a good pork rub. And this one is definately good. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I made a few chages to make this work more for what I was aiming for, and it was absolutly perfect. I used the same proceedure for packing the meat in bags and sitting overnight, but instead cooked in a crock pot for ~8.5 hours on low and added 1 cup of filtered water. The texture and consistancy was perfect served just as itself, or coupled with a piece of fresh bread or bun is also quite good. Thanks! -mariner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for So It's Bekah's Pulled Pork Now

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    13%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1882.6 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pork butt

    turbinado sugar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes