12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

DD and I made these on a snow day from school. We used dried blueberries for the eyes and mouth, which looked more like lumps of coal than chocolate chips. Being a chocolate lover I would have prefered the mini chips but didn't have any on hand, and they turned out super cute!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 01, 2010

delicious and soooo easy to make! we had a blast decorating these also -- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DC Dish December 21, 2009

What a fun idea! My 3 & 7 year old sons loved decorating these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaGun December 07, 2009

I basically used the frosting recipe, which was quick and easy and worked out nice for us. I did add a smidgen more milk. I used the cookie dough from Mom's Sugar Cookies and was not able to find red hots or candy corns at the two stores I went to. So we used gum grops for noses, skinny pieces of Twizzlers cherry licorice for smiles and chocolate chips for eyes. Cute idea. My daughter enjoyed decorating these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif December 18, 2008

Very cute. I used canned frosting and a variety of candies. My 3 year old loved making these. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls January 10, 2008

These are super cute! My kidlets and I made these for neighbors gifts, and they we're super cute! We used choco chips and candy corn as descirbed and red lace licorice for the mouth. The kids loved making them, the neighbors loved recieving them. A huge hit all around. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacieB CO December 22, 2007

I didn't use this recipe mostly because I did not have shortening, but the concept of the candy corn nose & mini chocolate chip mouth was wonderful!! I used Blue M&M mini's for the eyes. They turned out so cute! I love the idea thanks so much! Made them for my son's 2nd grade class they were a huge hit! Thanks again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Proud Veteran's wife December 20, 2007

Wonderful recipe. I made them with my 3 year-old. She had so much fun making the faces.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a.whiting December 15, 2007

THANK YOU KC!!!! I was cookie "mom" for my grandson's class and a children's Holiday Party at work. Over the last week I have made 10 dozen of these wonderful snowmen. I used the refrigerated cookie dough, but rolled it into 1-inch balls and then pressed them down with a sugared glass. They baked up nice and round and were a good size. I just used store bought white frosting (not vanilla), mini choc chips for the eyes, candy corn noses (my grandson gave the cookies he at nose job; he doesn't like candy corn, lol)! For the mouth I used mini M&Ms. I thought the kids would like them better than red hots. This is going to be a go-to, really easy, last minute holiday cookie recipe. Thanks again KC. Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl December 18, 2006

I thought these were so cute, I just had to make them, the only problem I had were my boys including DH came home from Scouts and ate all of them before I could even frost them!!! LOL So I will be making another batch super soon! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula December 22, 2005
Snowman Sugar Cookies With Frosting