11 Reviews

I have had this recipe saved to make for the holidays for the good part of 2 years, solely due to the great picture by averybird. I made these to give out as holiday treats for our mailman and our neighbors on each side. I made them exactly as directed, crushing animal crackers for the wafer crumbs, and using a 9x9 pan for the mixture. I'm not sure if I kept them in the refrigerator too long to chill, but they came out very dense, almost fudge-like (they got a little better at room temperature), and they were SO sweet (it could be just me, I don't eat as many sweet things as I used to). They are very pretty, and thank you for posting them, but I haven't heard a thing back about them. I'm not sure they are our thing... Thanks anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 15, 2011

We are in the middle of a snowstorm here, and hence these little bars seemed apropos! Plus they look fabulous! The frosting was a bit too sweet for my taste, but I like a thick layer of frosting to give the 'snowdrift' effect. Next time I will cut back on the powdered sugar. A great addition to my 2008 Christmas gift trays along with Pepperidge Farm Sausalito Cookies and World's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird December 27, 2008

I baked up a storm yesterday and these were the last of the bunch, so good and so easy to make! I used colored marshmallows and they look so pretty! I think my diet is in serious trouble!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking for boys!!! December 12, 2008

These little treats are simply divine. I made them as part of a sweet tray for a catering job and they got rave reviews from all. They were a hit! Thanks for posting Gerry! Made for Aussie Swap :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Leslie~ December 09, 2008

I feel so bad! I made these for Christmas and forgot to review! These were the most popular thing on my holiday trays, in fact I have just reminded myself of how good they are and it IS snowing so i think I better go make some Snowdrift Bars! Very easy to make and just a treat to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ January 21, 2008

These are fabulous! I made 1 and 1/2 times the recipe and used an 8x11 pan. We had these on Christmas day and everyone loved them. They get better each day so you may want to make them a couple days before serving...if you can wait that long:) Thanks Gerry for these wonderful bars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis December 31, 2007

This was a wonderful and easy recipe to make! We love these and am sure to make them again. I doubled the recipes and made in a 9x13 pan and it worked great. Gerry suggested I make 1 1/2 recipes of frosting to cover and it was the perfect amount.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 December 20, 2007

Hooo, this is sweet!! Almost too sweet for me, but SO good! And so nice and easy, too. I think I may have whipped the icing a little too much, too -- it's quite light and fluffy -- but very yummy nonetheless!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Swan Valley Tammi October 03, 2006

Don't wait for Christmas to make these fantastic bars...these little gems will impress your guests any time of the year. The vanilla wafer crumbs makes a perfect crust that compliments the coconut....great flavors. This is easy to make too. Thanks for sharing ANOTHER great recipe, Gerry999.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot March 07, 2006

Made these today so Santa could have some with a glass of milk when he stops in. They are so good I already ate two squares just while cutting them in the pan. I used a 7 x 11 brownie pan, and made half the frosting recipe, made the frosting too soft so next time I will make firmer, so that it will be the same firmness as the bars. The bar itself is slightly chewy, ( could have been the cooking time for the sugar egg mixture) but this is how I will always do them. A great bar, and now I just ate another, Santa has nothing on me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy December 24, 2005
Snowdrift Bars