9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a lot of fun...and easy to make. I added some coconut flavoring and cinnamon. Also used evaporated milk. I don't have memories like yours but I'm hoping my girls will now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 January 03, 2010

Wonderful recipe! Wonderful story!!! My mom would make snow cream when I was little but I grew up in TEXAS so it was very rare for us to get snow! Not sure how she made it but I made your recipe today and it was YUMMY! We had friends over to play in the snow and they loved it too! I live in Tennessee now and we get snow several times a year so I'll make this every time! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger 77 January 10, 2011

Feb 10 2010 In lancaster, PA trying this with record snowfall happy sloveling !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gspeters17 February 10, 2010

I grew up in the Midwest in the 80's and this was how my mom showed us to make snow ice cream...raw eggs and all!!! She learned it from her mother in the 50's and I'm happy that she passed it on to me. Thanks for posting such a nostalgic recipe that I'm looking forward to reliving as the weather gets colder. I don't know how "fresh" the snow is with all this Boston polution, but what the heck...I'm already risking salmonella, might as well go all out :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kolleen1021 October 28, 2009

Love love love it...mostly for the memories it brought back for me as a child growing up in Snowy Northern Idaho. I made this for a group of friends and it was perfect loved giving it to my kids to carry the tradition this will be a yearly event!! Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belly Dancin Mama March 14, 2009

Being on the west coast of Australis cannot see the chance of making this but oh I just loved the story behind the recipe and I would have to say I disagree about the egg bit, I know for sure in Australia it is not a problem. Thank you for a delightful read.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 08, 2009

Oh my, did you bring back great memories, I too grew up eating this. Thanks for reminding me of great times growing up, and for reminding me that I too can make memories with my grandkids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle March 08, 2009

This is some real old-fashioned goodness! Loved it! Made it with Nor'Easter snow right here in Maine! Made it with the egg, too! Wouldn't have it any other way. Thanks, Adrienne! Made for Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 07, 2009

Sorry for your loss. Can't make the recipe, but love the story behind it. 5 stars for that, you should consider a writing career. Lovely read, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolacunningham June 25, 2007
Snow Ice Cream (1950s Method)