Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Snow Ice Cream (1950s Method) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Snow Ice Cream (1950s Method)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2010

      This was a lot of fun...and easy to make. I added some coconut flavoring and cinnamon. Also used evaporated milk. I don't have memories like yours but I'm hoping my girls will now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Wonderful recipe! Wonderful story!!! My mom would make snow cream when I was little but I grew up in TEXAS so it was very rare for us to get snow! Not sure how she made it but I made your recipe today and it was YUMMY! We had friends over to play in the snow and they loved it too! I live in Tennessee now and we get snow several times a year so I'll make this every time! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Feb 10 2010 In lancaster, PA trying this with record snowfall happy sloveling !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      I grew up in the Midwest in the 80's and this was how my mom showed us to make snow ice cream...raw eggs and all!!! She learned it from her mother in the 50's and I'm happy that she passed it on to me. Thanks for posting such a nostalgic recipe that I'm looking forward to reliving as the weather gets colder. I don't know how "fresh" the snow is with all this Boston polution, but what the heck...I'm already risking salmonella, might as well go all out :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Love love love it...mostly for the memories it brought back for me as a child growing up in Snowy Northern Idaho. I made this for a group of friends and it was perfect loved giving it to my kids to carry the tradition this will be a yearly event!! Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Being on the west coast of Australis cannot see the chance of making this but oh I just loved the story behind the recipe and I would have to say I disagree about the egg bit, I know for sure in Australia it is not a problem. Thank you for a delightful read.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      Oh my, did you bring back great memories, I too grew up eating this. Thanks for reminding me of great times growing up, and for reminding me that I too can make memories with my grandkids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This is some real old-fashioned goodness! Loved it! Made it with Nor'Easter snow right here in Maine! Made it with the egg, too! Wouldn't have it any other way. Thanks, Adrienne! Made for Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      Sorry for your loss. Can't make the recipe, but love the story behind it. 5 stars for that, you should consider a writing career. Lovely read, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Snow Ice Cream (1950s Method)

    Serving Size: 1 (1232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.5
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    24%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 80.6 mg
    26%
    Sodium 283.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 50.0 g
    200%
    Protein 9.5 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites