17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are my DD's favorite cookie. They make the house smell so wonderful! Thanks for posting it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl September 23, 2002

Wonderful! Made a rainy day brighter! DS loved helping in the kitchen. We added green sugar sprinkles to the coating for a touch of color.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerr(ie)bear February 11, 2003

Thank you for sharing this recipe! I am on a never-ending quest to send my dh homemade cookies every week~ and i believe that these cookies are another success! The only change I made was to add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the dough also (I love cinnamon!) They are simple to make, yet tasty! Thanks so much for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach February 09, 2003

A classic cookie that we just love. A note of caution about the ingredients. If you use self-rising flour you need to omit the cream of tarter, baking soda and salt. Only add if using all-purpose flour. I use a dark cookie pan versus the aluminum since we love cookies with a crisp outside and chewy inside. These came out perfect baking 8 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catpurrson August 06, 2009

This Snickerdoodle recipe is a keeper! The cookies turned out delicious and they were quick to make. I did substitute butter for margarine and added a touch of cinnamon to the mix. I will definitely be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Serendipity December 15, 2008

This is a great recipe. These are soft and chewy and so easy to make! I tried another recipe with many more reviews and definitely preferred this one to the other.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickenweenie77 December 09, 2008

My husband has been begging me to make Snickerdoodles for the past month! There is a recipe on Zaar that we love, but I decided to branch out and try a new one. These were fantastic!! The cookie is crisp and soft at the same time. They aren't a real cakey cookie and they aren't a hard biscuit type cookie... they are right in the middle, which is how we love them! You may want to spray your pan first because my cookies stuck a bit. 8 minutes was perfect for our oven. I added a tablespoon of cinnamon because my husband loves that flavor. We will be making these again! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish June 11, 2005

These are ny husband's favorite cookies from when he was a kid, he is so happy with this recipe. They are so good that I make them for my husband and daughters at least once a week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ricmasa February 19, 2004

One of my favorite cookies. I used all purpose flour because of the baking soda, cream of tartar and salt in the recipe. I also increased the sugar to 3 tablespoons in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. I also like the fact that this recipe uses all butter instead of shortening. I also added 1 tsp vanilla.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby December 13, 2009

No one had any idea what I made, but they kept eating them! I have been eating them all week long! I didn't use self rising flour, but they still came out perfect. Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanaLyn December 26, 2008
Snickerdoodles