Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Snickerdoodle Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Snickerdoodle Scones

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2010

      This turned out to be one big, bad snickerdoodle. Instead of scoring the dough before baking, I placed the entire disk in a preheated 10" cast iron pan, baked it then sliced into 8 pieces. Much easier. Substituted whole milk plain yogurt for sour cream. For the topping, I used raw sugar because the crystals are larger and prettier. Reviewed for the Oma Challenge for Germany/Benelux for the ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Yummy! I added a powdered sugar glaze right out of the oven and they soaked it up, making them even more moist. Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      My favorite scone ever and I'll be making these again and again. They were delicious with butter and especially with a drizzle of honey. I love that scones are super easy anyway, but the sour cream baking soda mixture made them lighter and just a delight! Made for ZWT 6 by a fellow Looney Spooner! Thanks Charmie!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      These turned out great! I followed suggestions and added vanilla and used fat free plain yogurt I'd just made instead of sour cream. The dough wasn't as dry as I'm used to. I also added fresh raspberries because I had them and that was originally what I was looking for (a raspberry scone recipe). I decided this combination sounded great, and it was. I didn't dust with cinnamon and sugar, just with turbinado sugar and the sweetness of the scone with the tart raspberries was perfect! I baked in a cast iron pan at 400 for 20 minutes and they came out perfect. Cut into 12 for 200 calories each.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Very good. They came out bigger than I anticipated and I think mine needed to be separated more than just a little so they baked more evenly. But oh my very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      My family thought these scones were very good. The flavor is nice and the recipe is easy to follow. They didn't quite remind me of snickerdoodles as I couldn't quite make out the cream of tartar in the final product. I really liked the effect of the cinnamon/sugar mixture on top. It hardened a bit and had a lovely flavor. Also, I used parchment paper to bake them on, but I would not recommend that. The bottoms don't crisp up. The taste is still lovely, but you don't get the right texture. We still really liked them though and I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      OMG, these are delish! I love scones and I love snickerdoodles. I never thought to roll 'em into one!! This will be revisited for sure!! Thanks!! **Made for ZWT8 2012**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Great scone recipe, if you like snookerdoodle cookies, you will love these scones!! I made the recipe just as it is written and my DS's girlfriend and I had them hot out of the oven, yummy!!! I cooked them in a cast iron skillet and they came out perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      These scones are amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with delicious, moist, perfectly sweet scones. I used them hot out of the oven for strawberry shortcake and it was phenonmenal! They were also amazing the next day. This recipe is a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I can't judge this since I rarely eat sugary foods. My Dh liked this, though both of my DS's said it wasn't sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Wonderful recipe! My wife can't stop eating these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      We really really liked these. I used Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream and realized after I had everything mixed up that I was out of eggs. I just added a splash of milk instead and they still came out wonderfully. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      Tasty, although pretty bland. I wouldn't use them as a substitute for snickerdoodle cookies, though. I liked the method of pulling out the dough so the sides aren't touching prior to cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      O.M.G. these are totally food-gasm worthy!! I was seriously jonesing for snickerdoodles but didn't have enough butter to attempt making a batch, plus I kinda suck at making cookies! Scones though, I've gotten pretty good at and decided to give these a shot and was glad I did. I used a nice big mixing bowl for the dry ingredients to cut in the butter tablespoon-by-tablespoon but I recommend using a medium bowl bowl for the sour cream-- that baking soda bubbles quick and you need room to whip in the eggs and cinnamon, the bowl I used was too small. The only things I did different was that I used plain low-fat yogurt instead of sour cream and added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the batter in the egg/yogurt mixture. I spread the mixture throughout a greased 9.5" Pyrex pan and found the dough too sticky to divide up so I just scored it into 8 pieces with a knife so it broke apart after it cooled. Dusted with homemade cinnamon pearl sugar. Rose beautifully and so cinnamon-y and buttery, a total keeper-- I think I'll make these every time I crave snickerdoodles instead of cookies for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      They were great! I love them just a little soft. I drizzled just a tiny bit of honey on mine but the hubby completely preffered them just like they were! Thanks for a good one. UPDATE: If you haven't made these yet, and you are reading reviews to see if you want to.. you are missing out if you don't! These are a winner everytime, and just heavenly with a cup of coffee on a saturday or sunday morning..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      These are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Very tasty! Buttery and delicious, the kids inhaled these for breakfast. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      These are moist and delicious! The cinnamon sugar crust is so good. Thank you Charmie! Made for Swizzle Chicks and ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Quick and easy to make, and delicious, what could be better! Very tender. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Well you have charmed me...these are really nice scones. The only slight ingredient change was I used non-fat yogurt in place of the sour cream but everything else remained the same. I too waited till the scones came out of the oven to score them and cut into wedges. Worked out perfectly! Made for ZWT6 Oma Baking Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Snickerdoodle Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.5
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    45%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 61.2 mg
    20%
    Sodium 391.9 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.1 g
    52%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites