61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out to be one big, bad snickerdoodle. Instead of scoring the dough before baking, I placed the entire disk in a preheated 10" cast iron pan, baked it then sliced into 8 pieces. Much easier. Substituted whole milk plain yogurt for sour cream. For the topping, I used raw sugar because the crystals are larger and prettier. Reviewed for the Oma Challenge for Germany/Benelux for the ZWT.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL May 20, 2010

Yummy! I added a powdered sugar glaze right out of the oven and they soaked it up, making them even more moist. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thirddayrocks1 June 01, 2010

My favorite scone ever and I'll be making these again and again. They were delicious with butter and especially with a drizzle of honey. I love that scones are super easy anyway, but the sour cream baking soda mixture made them lighter and just a delight! Made for ZWT 6 by a fellow Looney Spooner! Thanks Charmie!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ma Field May 31, 2010

These turned out great! I followed suggestions and added vanilla and used fat free plain yogurt I'd just made instead of sour cream. The dough wasn't as dry as I'm used to. I also added fresh raspberries because I had them and that was originally what I was looking for (a raspberry scone recipe). I decided this combination sounded great, and it was. I didn't dust with cinnamon and sugar, just with turbinado sugar and the sweetness of the scone with the tart raspberries was perfect! I baked in a cast iron pan at 400 for 20 minutes and they came out perfect. Cut into 12 for 200 calories each.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTeechur July 09, 2014

Very good. They came out bigger than I anticipated and I think mine needed to be separated more than just a little so they baked more evenly. But oh my very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 22, 2013

My family thought these scones were very good. The flavor is nice and the recipe is easy to follow. They didn't quite remind me of snickerdoodles as I couldn't quite make out the cream of tartar in the final product. I really liked the effect of the cinnamon/sugar mixture on top. It hardened a bit and had a lovely flavor. Also, I used parchment paper to bake them on, but I would not recommend that. The bottoms don't crisp up. The taste is still lovely, but you don't get the right texture. We still really liked them though and I'll be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle January 25, 2013

OMG, these are delish! I love scones and I love snickerdoodles. I never thought to roll 'em into one!! This will be revisited for sure!! Thanks!! **Made for ZWT8 2012**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva August 22, 2012

Great scone recipe, if you like snookerdoodle cookies, you will love these scones!! I made the recipe just as it is written and my DS's girlfriend and I had them hot out of the oven, yummy!!! I cooked them in a cast iron skillet and they came out perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 15, 2012

These scones are amazing! I followed the recipe to the letter and ended up with delicious, moist, perfectly sweet scones. I used them hot out of the oven for strawberry shortcake and it was phenonmenal! They were also amazing the next day. This recipe is a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katieai June 09, 2012

I can't judge this since I rarely eat sugary foods. My Dh liked this, though both of my DS's said it wasn't sweet enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat February 20, 2012
Snickerdoodle Scones