30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins were delightful without all the guilt. I used a cup of whole wheat and 1/2 all purpose. This makes a lot of cinnamon/sugar topping. I used a little less than a tsp. per muffin and stored the rest for other uses. I did not have a problem with the topping falling off or the muffins being dry. I got exactly 12 regular sized muffins and baked them for 12 minutes. I let the batter and topping sit after they were in the muffin tin for about 10 minutes to soften the oats and to give the topping a chance to get into the batter. These are a new favorite. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divalicious *808* October 06, 2008

Great recipe! Quick and easy to make, tasty and nutritious. I used Egg Beaters and half and half whole wheat pastry flour and all purpose flour and it worked fine. Next time I will try applesauce instead of butter since I didn't find the flavor especially buttery. Mine were just a touch dry but I expect it's because I baked them a minute or two too long. Next time I will add some more vanilla and some cinnamon into the batter, but this is a very good recipe as it stands. No way it could make 24 muffins, though. I barely had enough batter for 12 standard size (smallish, even) muffins. Would be great as mini-muffins though. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Digigirl May 08, 2008

These were delicious!!! They are so high and fluffy. I will make them again and try to put some blueberries in. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meme* May 31, 2013

Tasty. My kids don't generally care for the texture of oatmeal in muffins, so I pulsed the oatmeal in my Blendtec a few times before adding it. I subbed the cup of milk for plain yogurt simply because I had some I needed to use up. I did end up adding about a 1/4 cup milk also. In the end the texture was very good. We all enjoyed them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjhoth January 29, 2013

Yummy! A keeper of a recipe for sure. I used a combo of white flour, 7-grain flour, and oatmeal, and cannot stop eating them. With my muffin tin, I got 15 muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K-Sue September 07, 2011

Delicious! These muffins are tasty, nutritious and filling. I was happy with the calorie count of 104 per muffin, but it is really 208 calories per muffin since the recipe is supposed to make 24 muffins with this amount of batter. I used splenda to make mine and it worked out well. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jean2u May 28, 2011

Very good! I mixed everything but the baking powder and let it sit for ten minutes so the oats could soak, then I added the baking powder and mixed. Made 12 regular-sized, fluffy muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hmg236 April 19, 2011

This is a very tasty muffin unfortunately because of dietary restrictions I will not be able to eat it again. I am on a chronic gall bladder diet. Unfortunately I neglected to put in the butter, at first so had to fish out my muffins from the oven and add butter. Making it tough because of the over mixing. This is no fault of recipe so I give it no stars, so I will not hurt the ratings. I do have other muffins that are not as temperamental and would allow extra mixing. I let muffins sit 10 minutes in pan to enable me to get out with all of toppings intact. Since others regretted not putting all of topping on I put as much as could on muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady July 21, 2010

These were pretty tasty right out of the oven, but just got gummy once they were room temperature and I really thought I had been careful not to over mix. Also I felt like there was a lot of topping and didn't use much - I think next time I will try and put as much topping on as possible. (And i for sure will make these again to see if the texture was my error!) :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P January 13, 2009

These muffins are awesome. I made them exactly as the recipe stated and they were wonderful. Even my husband who does not like oatmeal (or anything healthy) loved them. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucky11 July 22, 2008
Snickerdoodle Muffins