17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I changed a few things, so take my review for what it is. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 of a cup and upped the spices to 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tsp allspice, 1 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp ginger. And I used an extra egg and oil instead of the melted margarine. Then I poured 1/2 the batter in the pan and added a layer of skor bits before adding the second half of the batter. I also used cane sugar for the topping to give it a bit more of a rustic feel.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kapihopela December 02, 2009

This coffee cake was just what I wanted... It was delicious... Now I did make a few changes 1) I used sugar substitute (trivia) ... Texture in the cake was still light and fluffy. 2) for the topping I used brown sugar mixture on top ... Brown sugar and trivia.... This cake is light and fluffy and perfect for tea and coffee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alleyezontai July 29, 2013

This is a tasty treat, simple and comforting. Good emergency dinner dessert or breakfast coffeecake. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B April 13, 2013

For how fast and easy this is I was nervous but WOW. Came out really yummy. Kiddies loved it. When they say lots of sugar sprinkled on top it DEFINITELY makes the cake!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krichmond_86 November 16, 2012

I was really excited about this, but it just didn't turn out all that great in my opinion. There is way too much cinnamon in the batter, and I didn't think it tasted anything like a Snickerdoodle cookie. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bug'sMom June 23, 2010

Nice and easy, holds up well in the fridge over a few days.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephaniePB March 26, 2010

My FACS students made this wonderful coffee cake this week in class. I was looking for a recipe that would help them with measuring and give them practice mixing wet and dry ingredients. This cake fit the bill and was very tasty! Thanks for sharing this great recipe, tinkerday! Edit to add: I don't know what I was thinking with my stars...this is a 5 star recipe!!! :) I've made this 3 times in the past week and have had many requests for the recipe. This is a winner! (Make sure you use quite a bit of sugar on top. It makes an awesome and tasty crust.) :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 November 25, 2008

Excellent! This is so easy it's embarrassing. Zaney1 is right, the crispy sugar crust on top makes it. And when there's a bit of cinnamon mixed into that sugar, zowee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear July 31, 2008

This is TOO easy to taste this good. Seriously. It takes approximately six milliseconds to make, smells amazing in the oven, and tastes like heaven. What's better?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 July 16, 2008

Sooooo yummy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtysinger May 21, 2008
Snickerdoodle Coffee Cake