53 Reviews

I made these with my kitchenaid mixer and made sure I went by the recipe and they came out so delicous! I added a little more cinnamon and sugar but these were great! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CupcakeGenM January 12, 2015

Nice! My first attempt at biscotti, and I thought it was easy! I made half the recipe, made 2 rolls each 4 inches long. Baked the first time for 25min. Cooled only until it wasn't too hot to touch. Sliced and baked the recommended 10min 10min. The biscotti is good but so hard it's difficult to bite. Next time I will try reducing the second baking time.
Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn March 13, 2013

I made these for an Election Day bake sale and they sold out! I dipped one side of the cookies in melted chocolate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domesticgothess February 03, 2013

This is an excellent biscotti. It seems very sweet to me, and I think the next time I will use 3/4 cup sugar and if that still seems so sweet then the time after that will try with half a cup. Like some other reviewers, I added cinnamon to the dough, about a teaspoon. No problem kneading that dough into submission! The first 30 minutes baking at 350 degrees was without incident. However, the first pan of the slices at 325, the second round of baking after turning the slices burned after about 4 minutes. The second pan of them I turned the temp down to 300 and watched them rather closely. Ten minutes, turn, 9 minutes and done. It could just be that my oven runs hot but others might want to keep a close eye on them once the slices are turned. I will definitely make these again and since I lost half my recipe to burning them next time it will probably be soon! Thanks for such a nice, tasty, nut-free biscotti recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EQJunkie December 13, 2012

Very good. The dough was very crumbly and hard to work with, as someone else mentioned. It baked up nicely though, and was tasty. I wish the cinnamon topping would stay on better, but there was enough left to make it work fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F November 05, 2012

These are the BEST biscotti I've ever made, so I'm giving this recipe a full five stars. Thank you so much CookbookCarrie. I will be making this recipe many, many times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley C. June 28, 2012

I used my mixer with the dough hook. I didn't find the dough dry at all and I double checked the amounts of everything. I was also out of parchment paper so I used cooking spray and they did stick a bit, but I was able to ease the logs off the cookie sheet with minor casualties. This was my first time making biscotti and I thought they turned out great! I can't keep my kids out of them though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarAddict7 June 07, 2012

These are quite delicious! I found it easiest to use my hands to mix up the dough after an initial stir with a spoon. I had quite a bit of the cinnamon sugar fall off after baking, so maybe next time I will press it in to the dough a bit before baking. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc March 20, 2012

Loved them! Good with a mug of hot tea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swimmer175 November 16, 2008
Snickerdoodle Biscotti