54 Reviews

I sent these to my grand daughter in VA and they loved them and requested the recipe!!! Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halloweenbaby February 18, 2010

Excellent cookies! I followed tips left by other reviewers - 1. I used miniature Reese's cups 2. I put the Reese's in the freezer ahead of time 3. I baked at 325 degrees for 16 minutes. I didn't have 2-3 hours to wait for the dough to chill in the refridgerator, so I put it in the freezer for 30 minutes instead. They turned out perfect and were a big hit with my family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilshowers404 January 24, 2010

These cookies came out really good. I got more than 24 cookies and used at least 2 T. of cookie dough for each cookie. I think 1 T. would be tough to cover the Snicker miniature. I noticed one reviewer said 3 1/2 c. of flour was too much -- just to let people know, I used the full 3 1/2 c. and had no problem at all. Most all the cookies were nice and smooth. A couple I must not have secured the candy bar good enough because some of carmel leaked out a little -- but not so much as to ruin the cookie. I saw were someone used other candy bars -- a thought I had as well. She said it changed the cookie a little. I was wondering about using the little Reese's peanut butter cups in them. I made these cookies as part of my Christmas cookie assortment and am glad I included them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie December 10, 2007

I made these for the cookie-thon. I have a little tip--don't buy your snickers bars too early, they seem to escape from the bag, and end up in children's mouths. No problem though, we had some dough left snickerless, and it still made a good soft chewy cookie. Easy and delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol December 09, 2002

Great idea and super fun to make. I drizzled some melted chocolate on them. I didn't use any white sugar but still found them to be a little too sweet for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen May 13, 2015

I cheat-use Pillsbury Simply peanut butter dough. I've never made good peanut butter cookies. Use as little dough as possible & prefer the minis or "bites" rather than fun size candy. I think I get 2.5 cookies from one pre-cut circle of dough. It works OK with Tollhouse dough, too, if you add extra flour. Good use of leftover Halloween candy, and they sure are popular at gatherings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quieta T. October 30, 2014

I have made these over and over with rave reviews. I have made some minor changes to the recipe. I definitely use 1 cup of butter. I like to add a little extra vanilla. I put 1.5 teaspoons instead of just one. I have tried lots of different candies, but my favorite is Rolos. The caramel in them melts perfectly. I didn't like how the 3 musketeers or milky way melted however. When forming the dough around the snickers I find that if you make them just smaller than a ping pong ball they are the perfect size. I keep the oven at 300 and bake for the full 20 minutes. The lower temperature allows the candy bar to melt perfectly inside. Don't worry if a little sneaks out. They still taste great. I also melt some milk chocolate chips and drizzle them over them cookies when they are cool. Good Luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanguin December 12, 2011

I've been making this recipe for years. Originally they were called Santa Surprise Cookies but that has not stopped my family & friends from requesting them year-round! :) After Halloween every year, my kids pick out all the tiny candy bars & bag them up and hand them over with the request that they be made into cookies. I don't happen to be a peanut butter cookie lover, but I will enjoy a couple of these. Milky Way and Snickers are my favorites, but my boys like the peanut butter cups. But it doesn't matter what surprise you get on the inside, these are ALWAYS the favorite cookies on any table. Thanks for posting this recipe, angelcakes! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 02, 2011

Definitely going to try these soon! I sure hope I don't need to give this one a bad review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mean Bean January 26, 2011

Delicious! A big hit with the kids at my son's preschool (and I thoroughly enjoyed the few I snuck for myself!). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Beaver January 25, 2011
Snicker Surprise Peanut Butter Cookies