11 Reviews

I am very bad at eating veggies but this soup turned out great. I sauteed the onion, pepper and carrots in some butter before I threw everything else in with the broth. Made a ton because all the guys were over. It was perfect with biscuits. I topped with sour cream, crumbled bacon, and extra shredded cheddar. Next time I might use a leek or two instead of the onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyRatri December 01, 2010

THis is one great soup! It doesn't taste like a healthy vegi soup but it sure is! I made it in my crockpot...just threw all the vegi's in in the morning and pureed and added cream and cheese when I got home at night. Super easy and super yummy! Thanks so much Emmy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender December 04, 2009

We loved this soup! I made it without the cream, and served garnished with grated cheddar. The only thing was that we weren't crazy about the turmeric. I think next time I'll either use a full curry powder, or replace it with some garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Kozy October 18, 2009

We loved this. I didn't even put in milk or half&half. I might try adding some mustard powder next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toni_shera September 19, 2009

This IS a great and easy recipe! The first time I made it I tasted before the dairy and was convinced it was best without! The second time I made without we vowed to never go back. Love the other ideas here. We used the whole t. of tumeric, too, and got three different yellow squashes in there. SUPER tasty - I think we might not ever again live w/o it! Thanks! Going to check out the veg chili now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DadCooksItAll July 19, 2008

Delicious! My 3 year old gobbled up 2 bowls, my husband and I loved it and my picky 7 year old ate his whole bowl (but only rated it 2.5). I added a sweet potato that needed to be used up, used regular cheddar and skim milk and added about a teaspoon of garlic. We used a whole t. of tumeric. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann2boys December 18, 2007

I served this last night for dinner with biscuits. My family really enjoyed the taste, but I also added in some extra things. I sautéed the potato, onion, & carrot in some butter before adding the chicken stock. I also added corn & white kidney beans to the soup. For cheese I used a combination of cheddar, romano, & mozzarella. It came out very good. This is a great recipe because it's so versatile!! Thanks Emmy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama_Jennie July 28, 2007

Oh Emmy, YUM! This stuff is wonderful and was a big hit. I added a little bit of worchestershire (which I cannot spell) but otherwise stuck to the recipe. I have added this to my "better than 5" cookbook. I used Sussan's suggestion and made this in my slow cooker. Thank you for this great lower fat cheese soup recipe! I am so excited to get to have cheese soup again! Reviewed for ZWT3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AshK July 08, 2007

I added everything except the yellow bell pepper. We are building a workshop. This recipe sustained us for 3 days at lunch time. I did add another cup of chicken bouillon and a little more half and half. My husband would give it 5 stars. I just wasn't sure about the texture. Thanks for posting. Toni in Colorado

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado July 08, 2007

Great recipe, we really loved it. I doubled the recipe and froze half without the cream and cheese ready for another meal sometime. Like Sussan I cooked in the crockpot. Thanks for sharing Emmy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 07, 2007
Sneak in the Veggies Cheddar Cheese Soup.