13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, these are so good. I didn't change a thing. They were slightly sweet and salty, a great combo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise G. July 19, 2014

Wow! I made this for Zaar stars and it is a very pleasant surprise. So easy but so tasty and very pretty too. I served it with a spicy chicken and couscous and it was perfect. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan September 28, 2011

I had an all cold lunch for friends and this was one of the dishes. It was excellent served cold. I did it the day before (as with most of the meal) and just pulled it out of the fridge and served it. I thought it was just great!! Will bedoing the same thing again I'm sure. Thanks Rita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo August 09, 2008

Easy and decicious. So good that there was only about 5 pea pods left over when when my DH and I were finished. I didn't have fresh ginger on hand so used ginger paste. Next time I'm going to wait a little longer to toss in the onion as some were burned by the time the peas were tender. It was still yummy. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggienut April 03, 2008

Delicious. :) I was looking for a way to make sugar snap peas that I'd bought fresh pre-packaged (already stringed), and I had some onions already and though carrots would be good with them, so I did a search and found this recipe. My bf said 'the veggies are yummy!' and I definitely agree. I tweaked the recipe a bit, thouigh. I'm not sure if I used 6 ounces of red onion or not, but my bag of sugar snaps was 8oz and I used most of the bag. slicing at an angle as stated. I also decided to add a large handful of crinkle-cut frozen carrots at the same time as the sugar snaps and this was really good. I just added a dash of ground ginger, as I never have fresh, and I was too lazy to mince more fresh garlic (I'd just minced 4 cloves earlier), so used 1/2 tsp of jarred minced garlic. I used several dashes of low-sodium soy sauce and just estimated the sugar. I also used a bit of olive oil Pam along with the oil, didn't really notice if I used the full tbsp of oil or not lol. But this was great and my bf and I both had 2 large servings which I served with Teriyaki Chicken and white rice. Thank you Rita! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage August 10, 2007

So simple, so delicious. I made this for the vegetarian low-fat challenge and reduced the oil to 1 teaspoon. Sprikled a little water to keep things moist. This is a definite keeper! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni June 18, 2006

A quick and easy side with the perfect amount of crunch. I did add additional garlic because I am a garlic lover. It went very well with Tangy Pork Chops Tangy Pork Chops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 12, 2006

This was a very good side dish. I used Teriyaki sauce in place of soy sauce cause I didn't have any on hand. It was still very good. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. September 26, 2005

These were very good and they went gread with our ribs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoraMarie September 13, 2005

10 Stars~! They were very very good!! I followed the recipe (grated ginger and garlic) but added just a couple of pinches of red chili flakes and a couple of mushrooms. DH loved them...which is unusual!! Thank YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP September 13, 2005
Snap Peas and Red Onions